The interwebs has boggled my mind once again. I come to you, my fellow Dakkaites, with a query.
Firstly, the rulebook states the following in the Challenges section:
For the duration of the challenge, these two models are considered to be in base contact with each other and, when rolling To Hit and To Wound, they always use the Weapon Skill and Toughness of their opponent. When allocating Wounds caused by either of these two models, they must be allocated to their opponent first. These Wounds cannot be reallocated by the Look Out, Sir rule.
Note the bold section saying these wounds cannot be reallocated by the Look Out, Sir rule.
In the Shield of Baal: Leviathan supplement, there is a formation for Tyranids called Skyrant Swarm. This formation has the following special rule:
Monstrous Flock: The Hive Tyrant and Gargoyles in this Formation are a single unit. The Hive Tyrant can use the Look Out, Sir rule to attempt to re-allocate any Wounds that it suffers onto a Gargoyle model from the unit, and will pass Look Out, Sir rolls on a 2+. The Hive Tyrant cannot leave the unit during the battle, and can only use the Gliding flight mode. The combined unit counts as 3 units for Victory Points purposes if it is completely destroyed.
...and now we see the bold section here stating that it can reallocate ANY wounds it suffers...
I don't want this to become a circular argument, but I must ask... what do you think? How would you play it?
Personally, I think that because you can't use the
LOS rule in Challenges, the Monstrous Flock rule referencing
LOS! doesn't apply. However the inclusion of the word 'any', may (and does...) sew a bit of confusion. I don't play Tyranids, but I can't think that in any universe, having 20 ablative wounds on a 2+ in a challenge is fair by any stretch of the imagination.
So Dakka... what do you think?