Switch Theme:

Template weapons  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Krazed Killa Kan




Homestead, FL

Im just curious as tiny titan made a comment earlier and I wanted to know the actual rule. he says that you can only take casualties from the models UNDER the template. Specifically in the flamer template.

Does that mean if my poor ork boyz get flamed by sisters but the templates only reach 4 models but he has 5 flamers and hits 20 times and wounds 18 times does that mean that I suffer 18 casualties or only the 4 models that the flamers can hit?

Furthermore when suffering wounds from blast templates I have the same question, of course the issue with both of these questions is that your still supposed to take casualties from the front so....

I come in peace. I didn't bring artillery. But I'm pleading with you, with tears in my eyes: If you mess with me, I'll kill you all

Marine General James Mattis, to Iraqi tribal leaders 
   
Made in gb
Tough Tyrant Guard





SHE-FI-ELD

Two things at play here, template hits and range.

The templates hits are just that - however many the templates 'hit' formulate the hit pool, which you then roll to wound on.
Roll your wounds!

Now, on wound allocation you follow the normal process for shooting attacks - what you do have to consider is the range of the weapon. This should be thought of as completely separate to which ones the templates physically 'hit' but they can indeed only allocate wounds up to the range of the template. So any model from the opposing unit who a template weapon from any model in your unit could not hit is out of range.

Out of Range
If none of the firing models are in range of a particular model in the target
unit, then Wounds cannot be allocated to it. Note that, when determining if a
model is out of range, always use the firing weapon’s maximum range

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/02/20 13:22:18


It's my codex and I'll cry If I want to.

Tactical objectives are fantastic 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

You can't allocate wounds beyond the range of the weapon.

That's about 8-9" for a template? So it's not just models under the template that are removed (still closest first), you just can't kill anyone outside of flames range.

Blasts are a bit odd, as scattering blasts that scatter outside max range can still allocate wounds.
   
Made in us
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps




Phoenix, AZ, USA

Doesn't the Sisters' bolter range increase the distance wounds can be allocated to the unit, or was that just a 6th Ed thing?

SJ

“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
 
   
Made in gb
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Englandia

 jeffersonian000 wrote:
Doesn't the Sisters' bolter range increase the distance wounds can be allocated to the unit, or was that just a 6th Ed thing?

SJ


6th ed.

Remember, it's one weapon type resolved at a time now.
Your choice on order.

If I sound like I'm being a condescending butthole, I'm not. Read my reply as neutrally as possible, please and thank you. 
   
Made in us
Krazed Killa Kan




Homestead, FL

Now heres a secondary question in regards to wound allocation, you just said that models that can not be hit can not be wounded, how does that rule apply to close combat with models who are unengaged in the close combat, if 20 wounds are caused and unsaved but only 5 are close enough to take them, do those wounds overflow into the guys to far away to be targetted?

I come in peace. I didn't bring artillery. But I'm pleading with you, with tears in my eyes: If you mess with me, I'll kill you all

Marine General James Mattis, to Iraqi tribal leaders 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Out of Range is for shooting only.
CC wounds have (essentially) unlimited range.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Englandia

 Ghazkuul wrote:
Now heres a secondary question in regards to wound allocation, you just said that models that can not be hit can not be wounded, how does that rule apply to close combat with models who are unengaged in the close combat, if 20 wounds are caused and unsaved but only 5 are close enough to take them, do those wounds overflow into the guys to far away to be targetted?


Yup!
Only engaged models may strike, but all models that are part of the combat can be hit.
Obvious exception being challenges, but they bleed in/out when appropriate.

If I sound like I'm being a condescending butthole, I'm not. Read my reply as neutrally as possible, please and thank you. 
   
Made in us
Omnipotent Necron Overlord






I understand how the flamers are fired together and can only cause wounds to models in range of the flamer. However, lets say only 1 flamer can reach a particular model out of range of all the other flamers, does that flamer have to roll it's wound separate in order to kill that single model?

If we fail to anticipate the unforeseen or expect the unexpected in a universe of infinite possibilities, we may find ourselves at the mercy of anyone or anything that cannot be programmed, categorized or easily referenced.
- Fox Mulder 
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






 Xenomancers wrote:
I understand how the flamers are fired together and can only cause wounds to models in range of the flamer. However, lets say only 1 flamer can reach a particular model out of range of all the other flamers, does that flamer have to roll it's wound separate in order to kill that single model?
No, in the same way you don't separate out a hit caused by Boltguns if only one Bolter is in range of a specific model - it's a single wound pool for that weapon name.
   
Made in us
Omnipotent Necron Overlord






 Quanar wrote:
 Xenomancers wrote:
I understand how the flamers are fired together and can only cause wounds to models in range of the flamer. However, lets say only 1 flamer can reach a particular model out of range of all the other flamers, does that flamer have to roll it's wound separate in order to kill that single model?
No, in the same way you don't separate out a hit caused by Boltguns if only one Bolter is in range of a specific model - it's a single wound pool for that weapon name.

Thank you for clarification.
   
Made in us
Krazed Killa Kan




Homestead, FL

damn double standards in assault :-P

I come in peace. I didn't bring artillery. But I'm pleading with you, with tears in my eyes: If you mess with me, I'll kill you all

Marine General James Mattis, to Iraqi tribal leaders 
   
Made in gb
Lead-Footed Trukkboy Driver





 Tiny_Titan wrote:
 Ghazkuul wrote:
 Tiny_Titan wrote:
you could do, but be careful he doesnt shoot them up with his marines!

it doesnt look like he would be able to deal with your looted wagon with boomgun though because its range 24" and his melta on plague marines isnt long range enough to deal with that. but yes, burnas are alright, but remember you only kill whats under the template and no further, so its risky business. personally id go with the looted wagon


Titan where is the rule that says you only burn whats under the template?


so on page 173 it says that any models under the template are hit. thats fine, then we have a wound pool. say the enemy has 10 models, i can hit 5 of them and i hit some of them multiple times. say i get 20 hits and 15 wounds. now on page 35 in shooting under out of range, it says that only models within range can have wounds allocated to it. so even though i did 15 wounds, say my oponent only saves 5, so there are enough wounds to kill 10 models, but only 5 were within range of the template. therefore, i only kill the 5 models that were hit.

it may be explained more clearly somewhere else in the book, but im 98% sure it works like this now (hence me not using burners any more)

someone help me out if i have missed something else?





 Frozocrone wrote:
Tiny_Titan you're spot on there.

It's just worth noting that although you cover the maximum number of troops possible with a flamer, if a model is found to be within range were you to move the template then it can be wounded.

(E.g. let's use your example, and say a unit of Burnas are surrounded by a unit of 10 models. You hit five of them to score maximum hits possible, but if the remaining five models are found to be within 8" range of the unit, they can be wounded).

Anyhoo the list's look fine. Not my cup of tea for fast lists (all about dem Warbikers) but for 500 points should be good.


hope this helps

from here: http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/636610.page

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/20 19:27:27


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: