Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/23 15:55:53
Subject: Can you attach a Character to a formation that is treated as one unit?
|
 |
Numberless Necron Warrior
Bremen
|
Question above
|
9,500pts |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/23 16:01:30
Subject: Can you attach a Character to a formation that is treated as one unit?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Chicago, Illinois
|
Yeah that doesn't make sense. Like what are you asking if a formation unit can be joined by a IC , the answer is yes.
Can you join a IC to a formation unit that says no other models may join? No.
|
If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/23 16:05:51
Subject: Can you attach a Character to a formation that is treated as one unit?
|
 |
Foolproof Falcon Pilot
|
"a formation that is treated as one unit" sounds like the green tide. Perhaps he's asking if he's allowed to attach independent characters to the green tide? The answer to this would be "Yes, so long as the independent character comes from another detachment" I imagine he wants to add Grotsnik to the greentide for fearless and FnP
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/23 16:07:37
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/23 16:09:37
Subject: Can you attach a Character to a formation that is treated as one unit?
|
 |
Krazed Killa Kan
|
Unless the formation says no characters can join - absolutely you can. ICs can join any unit, and a formation that joins as a unit is still a unit.
If this is indeed a query about green tide, grotsnik isn't very good for a tide. Give the required warboss a big bosspole for fearless, attach another warboss with da lucky stick, and a normal painboy.
Grotsnik's like 200 points - the big bosspole + painboy is 70 for the same effect.
Grotsnik also gives rampage, but the odds of a green tide being able to utilize rampage is low, at best.
|
"Hope is the first step on the road to disappointment." Words to live by. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/23 16:19:11
Subject: Can you attach a Character to a formation that is treated as one unit?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
depends on the formation.
the necron one that is 2 crypteks and a c'tan for example cannot have other characters with the IC rule join it. As is called out in its rule 'conclave'
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/23 16:25:35
Subject: Can you attach a Character to a formation that is treated as one unit?
|
 |
Foolproof Falcon Pilot
|
little bit of misinformation there from Krump Grotsnik is 160 Warboss with big bosspole is 80 painboy is 50 Krump's right though, since the warboss is mandatory in the formation it makes the warboss painboy combo cheaper and better.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/23 16:25:45
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/23 17:33:38
Subject: Can you attach a Character to a formation that is treated as one unit?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
The Council of Waaagh! Formation is specific in that no other IC's can join it.
So as above, depends on the Formation in question.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/23 18:52:28
Subject: Can you attach a Character to a formation that is treated as one unit?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
As long as the formation does not forbid it, nor the IC rules forbid it, you can join.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/23 20:52:57
Subject: Re:Can you attach a Character to a formation that is treated as one unit?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I think its important to point out that an IC can only join a unit in a formation, not the formation itself. The benefits of being in the formation may apply to models in that formation, and thus would not effect the IC. This all assumes of course the formation has at least one unit the IC can join and does not have have any rule prohibiting such action.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/23 22:25:43
Subject: Can you attach a Character to a formation that is treated as one unit?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Chicago, Illinois
|
That's not exactly true there are some rules that would carry over to the independent character like Preferred Enemy, Fearless, etc..
As well as stuff like " This unit may run and charge".
|
If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/23 22:28:48
Subject: Can you attach a Character to a formation that is treated as one unit?
|
 |
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity
|
blaktoof wrote:depends on the formation.
the necron one that is 2 crypteks and a c'tan for example cannot have other characters with the IC rule join it. As is called out in its rule 'conclave'
Aren't C'tan Shards MCs anyways? ICs can never join units containing MCs.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/23 23:27:12
Subject: Can you attach a Character to a formation that is treated as one unit?
|
 |
Archmagos Veneratus Extremis
On the Internet
|
Kriswall wrote:blaktoof wrote:depends on the formation.
the necron one that is 2 crypteks and a c'tan for example cannot have other characters with the IC rule join it. As is called out in its rule 'conclave'
Aren't C'tan Shards MCs anyways? ICs can never join units containing MCs.
There is a case of an IC MC being able to join others though (seriously, that Member of the 8 thing is dumb).
|
|
 |
 |
|