Switch Theme:

Huron Blackheart questions  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in at
Slashing Veteran Sword Bretheren






Okay so first of all, Huron's WL trait is that I can nominate D3 "infantry units" to infiltrate. Now the thing is, Huron himself is an infantry unit, and the squad he is joined to is one as well. In order for them both to be able to infiltrate, I must roll at least a 4+ on the D3, right? Because if I just nominate Huron, then his squad won't have it and then we have the same scenario as Captain Shrike (who has infiltrate) trying to infiltrate with a unit that doesnt have it -> he cant.

So if I want to infiltrate with an IC + his squad I need to treat them as giving infiltrate to 2 units, right?


Second question: Regarding his psychic powers, it specifically states that he may not swap them for the primaris in the discipline he rolls. However, 7th ed says if you make just 1 roll on any table, you automatically get the primaris as well. So does Huron end up having 2 psychic powers or just 1?

2000 l 2000 l 2000 l 1500 l 1000 l 1000 l Blood Ravens (using Ravenguard CT) 1500 l 1500 l
Eldar tactica l Black Templars tactica l Tau tactica l Astra Militarum codex summary l 7th ed summary l Tutorial: Hinged Land Raider doors (easy!) l My blog: High Gothic Musings
 Ravenous D wrote:
40K is like a beloved grandparent that is slowly falling into dementia and the rest of the family is in denial about how bad it is.
squidhills wrote:
GW is scared of girls. Why do you think they have so much trouble sculpting attractive female models? Because girls have cooties and the staff at GW don't like looking at them for too long because it makes them feel funny in their naughty place.
 
   
Made in lu
Rampaging Khorne Dreadnought






The first sentence of infiltrate is: Units that contain at least one model with this special rule. So no, you only need huron or the squad to have the rule.

And as for the psychic power. I guess it does, I would play him with the primaris included, though I suppose that wasn't the intent when they wrote the rules back in 6th.
So it's up to you and your group I guess.

I Imagine it's similar with perils. He technically keeps the powers and you could choose to lose one of the previous powers and later regain it.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2015/04/12 17:41:43


 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Roknar wrote:
The first sentence of infiltrate is: Units that contain at least one model with this special rule. So no, you only need huron or the squad to have the rule
Not true at all, as Huron can only join the unit by deploying in coherency with it, or joining in reserve.

There's also an FAQ clarifying this.

Yes, you need to give both Huron and the unit Infiltrate.
   
Made in lu
Rampaging Khorne Dreadnought






Ah I didn't know about the errata. In that case you're right, they both need it.
And for completeness, you want to be looking at page 166.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/04/12 17:31:44


 
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

Huron gains Psychic Focus and therefore the primaris power for whatever discipline he rolls for in his first turn. If you then end up rolling on a different discipline in any subsequent turn however Psychic Focus is lost (Psychic Focus is lost if a power from another discipline is gained during the battle).
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: