Switch Theme:

Can Enfeeble be stacked?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in be
Flashy Flashgitz




Antwerp

Hey Dakka!

I have a quick question. I had a game a while ago against a force of Nurgle Chaos Daemons. My opponent rolled on Biomancy and got Enfeeble multiple times, which allowed him to make my Green Tide completely useless. Now, I had forgotten all about this battle until recently, when Maledictions came up in a discussion with a few friends.

Long story short, I'm wondering if Enfeeble can actually be stacked. With Blessings it's specified that the same blessing can't be stacked on the unit over and over again, but different blessings are fine. The wording under Malediction in the rulebook (pg. 27) also mentions different maledictions, but I don't know if this means different powers, or simply the same power from a different source?

Help me out with this! I'm not looking for vengeance against my opponent, but I would like to know how badly this actually counters that list of mine.

Thanks in advance!

Krush, stomp, kill! 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






No, the only permission to stack the effects is from different powers. Two different instances of the same power is not two different powers.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Eye of Terror

This again already - really ?

:(

My blog... http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com

Facebook...
https://m.facebook.com/Terminus6Est/

DT:60+S++++G++++M+++B+++I+++Pw40k89/d#++D+++A++++/eWD150R++++T(T)DM+++ 
   
Made in us
Krazed Killa Kan




Homestead, FL

I agree with Gietzen, you can not stack the same debuff on the same unit.

I come in peace. I didn't bring artillery. But I'm pleading with you, with tears in my eyes: If you mess with me, I'll kill you all

Marine General James Mattis, to Iraqi tribal leaders 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 DJGietzen wrote:
No, the only permission to stack the effects is from different powers. Two different instances of the same power is not two different powers.

Unless mistaken, permission comes from multiple modifiers, which we undoubtedly have, and the requirement in the psychic powers section to resolve the power. Show denial.

To OP: strict rules, it applies.
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

nosferatu1001 wrote:
Unless mistaken, permission comes from multiple modifiers, which we undoubtedly have, and the requirement in the psychic powers section to resolve the power. Show denial.

To OP: strict rules, it applies.


Agree with this.

Compare the wording for Blessings:

"The benefit of any one particular blessing can only be gained once per unit per turn, but benefits from different blessings are cumulative."

With the wording for Maledictions:

"Note that bonuses and penalties from different maledictions are always cumulative..."

There is no restriction against the same Maledictions stacking as there is for Blessings. If they had intended it to be otherwise it would have been written so.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






 Mr. Shine wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
Unless mistaken, permission comes from multiple modifiers, which we undoubtedly have, and the requirement in the psychic powers section to resolve the power. Show denial.

To OP: strict rules, it applies.


Agree with this.

Compare the wording for Blessings:

"The benefit of any one particular blessing can only be gained once per unit per turn, but benefits from different blessings are cumulative."

With the wording for Maledictions:

"Note that bonuses and penalties from different maledictions are always cumulative..."

There is no restriction against the same Maledictions stacking as there is for Blessings. If they had intended it to be otherwise it would have been written so.


Wow. I wasn't aware of the difference in wording. I always assumed that maledictions were bound by the same limitations that blessings were. Now I have to go read my rulebook a little more closely to make sure I understand it correctly.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Stack 10 or 20 Enfeebles, the result is still the same. While a unit is Enfeebled, it suffers -1 S/T.

   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






Fragile wrote:
Stack 10 or 20 Enfeebles, the result is still the same. While a unit is Enfeebled, it suffers -1 S/T.


Out of curiosity, what is it about the wording of enfeeble that makes it not cumulative?
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






 NightHowler wrote:
Fragile wrote:
Stack 10 or 20 Enfeebles, the result is still the same. While a unit is Enfeebled, it suffers -1 S/T.


Out of curiosity, what is it about the wording of enfeeble that makes it not cumulative?


Nothing. If you treat two different instances of enfeeble as two different powers the effects will be cumulative as the unit will be under the effects of two different powers.

Now, I still don't see permission for effects from the one particular malediction (or psychic power in general) to be cumulative. The multiple modifiers section of the rule does not grant this permission. It only informs us what to do if we have multiple modifiers. With out permission for the second casting of enfeeble to effect the unit, we only have the one modifier to contend with.

The line in the blessings is actually what solidifies my opinion. With out that line what constitutes a 'differnt power' would be vague. The fact that the game distinguishes between multiple manifestations of one particular power and different powers tells me that a different power is not just a different manifestation.

Did they intend for the effects one particular malediction to be able to be gained more then once per turn? Perhaps, but that's not written down anywhere nor made clear enough to me through context.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 DJGietzen wrote:
Nothing. If you treat two different instances of enfeeble as two different powers the effects will be cumulative as the unit will be under the effects of two different powers.

Now, I still don't see permission for effects from the one particular malediction (or psychic power in general) to be cumulative. The multiple modifiers section of the rule does not grant this permission. It only informs us what to do if we have multiple modifiers. With out permission for the second casting of enfeeble to effect the unit, we only have the one modifier to contend with.

The line in the blessings is actually what solidifies my opinion. With out that line what constitutes a 'differnt power' would be vague. The fact that the game distinguishes between multiple manifestations of one particular power and different powers tells me that a different power is not just a different manifestation.

Did they intend for the effects one particular malediction to be able to be gained more then once per turn? Perhaps, but that's not written down anywhere nor made clear enough to me through context.
(Emphasis mine)

as for the underlined text above:

Except we do have permission to cast enfeeble on a unit that has an enfeeble already in effect. So there is your permission to cast two enfeeble powers.

Now, for them not to stack you would need to find something denying this permission.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




DJ - we have permission. We are told to resolve it. We can resolve -1T, and have rules on how to apply multiple modifiers

Youre cart before horse again. General permission is proven and utterly clear. Find denial of this permission, or accept that this is true.
   
Made in au
Unrelenting Rubric Terminator of Tzeentch





If 2 psychers in same the unit can't cast the same power twice, then why should you resolve the same power twice as if it were different?

Sorceror 1 casts Enfeeble from Unit 1 onto Unit A
Sorceror 2 may not cast Enfeeble from unit 1 onto Unit A (or any other unit) because it's the same power. We have established that Enfeeble is the same malediction regardless of being manifested from a different caster.

Sorceror 3 Casts Enfeeble from Unit 2 onto Unit A.

It's still the same malediction, just from a different source, so why should this now be treated as a different malediction? Given that it's the same malediction, it should not stack.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/04/15 11:07:41


 Peregrine wrote:
What, you don't like rolling dice to see how many dice you roll? Why are you such an anti-dice bigot?
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






@Drasius, they are not suggesting the 2nd enfeeble is a different power. What they are suggesting is that there is no requirement for a specific permission for two instances of the same power to stack because the framework for resoving psychic powers inharently allows multiple instanes of the same piwer to stack. For them not to stack you would need specific denail. Blessings have such a denail but maledictions do not.

The part that throws me is the bit about how unless stated otherwise different powers stack. To me that infers a normal state where the same powers do not stack but thats me inerting something into the rules. Nos and reaper are correct. Removing that statement dosnt change the rules. It holds no real value other then to be the basis of faulty reasoning on my part.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Reasoning based off implication is not inherently faulty - its just here that is all it can be.

The psyker rules are a mess in general, so when it comes to how I play it Im fairly relaxed either way - its never a power I use, for a start
   
Made in au
Unrelenting Rubric Terminator of Tzeentch





 DJGietzen wrote:
@Drasius, they are not suggesting the 2nd enfeeble is a different power. What they are suggesting is that there is no requirement for a specific permission for two instances of the same power to stack because the framework for resoving psychic powers inharently allows multiple instanes of the same piwer to stack. For them not to stack you would need specific denail. Blessings have such a denail but maledictions do not.

The part that throws me is the bit about how unless stated otherwise different powers stack. To me that infers a normal state where the same powers do not stack but thats me inerting something into the rules. Nos and reaper are correct. Removing that statement dosnt change the rules. It holds no real value other then to be the basis of faulty reasoning on my part.


Ah, I see. My bad.

I think our group will still be ruling that it doesn't stack, however. There would be no reason for the "different" part of "Note that bonuses and penalties from different maledictions are always cumulative..." line if you could stack the same malediction. Still, I can see how if you were a RAW junkie that you'd argue the case.

No-one likes getting hit with multiple withers in fantasy either, and that certainly feels like an oversight.

 Peregrine wrote:
What, you don't like rolling dice to see how many dice you roll? Why are you such an anti-dice bigot?
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

The Note, is simply a reminder is all.

GW has rules that are redundant all over the BRB

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
[DCM]
Et In Arcadia Ego





Canterbury

Done to death, we're not doing it again.

The poor man really has a stake in the country. The rich man hasn't; he can go away to New Guinea in a yacht. The poor have sometimes objected to being governed badly; the rich have always objected to being governed at all
We love our superheroes because they refuse to give up on us. We can analyze them out of existence, kill them, ban them, mock them, and still they return, patiently reminding us of who we are and what we wish we could be.
"the play's the thing wherein I'll catch the conscience of the king,
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: