Switch Theme:

Pods for skitarii rob them of their doctrina imperatives.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Battlefortress Driver with Krusha Wheel






You have to use your doctrina imperative at the beginning of the movement phase, before reserves.
Pods come in after.
So you do not get the benefit of them for the reserves that came in that turn, correct?

warhammer 40k mmo. If I can drive an ork trukk into the back of a space marine dread and explode in a fireball of epic, I can die happy!

8k points
3k points
3k points
Admech 2.5k points
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Most players agree that reserves, including deep striking units, arrive at the start of the turn, before the beginning of the movement phase.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




RAW they happen at the same time. Therefore, the controlling players decides which happens first as he has player priority. So the doctrines can have an effect on the arriving units.
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Silyen wrote:
RAW they happen at the same time. Therefore, the controlling players decides which happens first as he has player priority. So the doctrines can have an effect on the arriving units.

If they happen at the same time (beginning of the turn) then you wouldn't be able to use them ('Moving on From Reserves', first paragraph).

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

 DJGietzen wrote:
Most players agree that reserves, including deep striking units, arrive at the start of the turn, before the beginning of the movement phase.


What? In the Deep Strike rules it says: "in the Movement Phase during which they arrive..."

That says unequivocally that Deep Striking units arrive DURING the movement phase.



I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






No it does not say anything unequivocally. It implies that the units have arrived in the movement phase and that can be proven to not always be the case. It is widely believed that the deep strike rule is in error in that statement, especially as it appears to be copied from 6th edition where a players turn began with the begging of the movement phase, but lets not derail this thead with a debate on when reserves arrive, as that already has its own thread going on.
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





 yakface wrote:
 DJGietzen wrote:
Most players agree that reserves, including deep striking units, arrive at the start of the turn, before the beginning of the movement phase.


What? In the Deep Strike rules it says: "in the Movement Phase during which they arrive..."

That says unequivocally that Deep Striking units arrive DURING the movement phase.




Please check the rulebook reserves clearly arrive at the Start of the Turn. That rule is taken out of context it is not discussing when reserves or DS reserves arrive but what they can do when they arrive.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
As for the thread DI happens at the start of the movement phase. All reserves have arrived by then so it works.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/04/18 07:29:55


Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





The doctrines are army wide buffs that you choose and not for an individual unit. It doesn't matter if the unit is on the table or not so the argument is moot.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: