Switch Theme:

How many wounds does an Instant Death Wound cause a Gargantuan Creature?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Rampaging Carnifex





South Florida

Is it just d3 or 1 + d3?

Relatedly, how many hull points does an explode result cause a Superheavy?

d3 or 1+d3?

   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

D3 and 1+D3 respectively.
   
Made in us
Rampaging Carnifex





South Florida

They have virtually identical language describing the two different circumstances? How do you come to this conclusion? Pretty confusing...

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/04/19 02:52:06


   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

No they don't. It should be crystal clear.

One clearly states that D3 wounds are inflicted instead, while the other clearly states D3 additional hull points are lost as well as the hull point lost from the penetrating hit.

So again, D3 wounds and D3+1 hull points, respectively.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/04/19 03:30:29


 
   
Made in us
Grey Knight Purgator firing around corners




southern Ohio

Gargantuan Creatures (Core Rulebook page 71)
Unstoppable
Any attack that normally inflicts Instant Death or says that the target model is removed from play inflicts D3 Wounds on a Gargantuan Creature or Flying Gargantuan Creature instead.

The singular Instant Death Wound is turned into D3 Wounds.

Super-Heavy Vehicles (Core Rulebook page 94)
Invincible Behemoth: A Super-heavy vehicle is so large and strongly built that weapons which degrade the armour of smaller vehicles will not effect it. Because of this, any attack that says that the target model is destroyed, wrecked, Explodes! or is otherwise removed from play inflicts D3 Hull Points of damage on a Super-heavy vehicle instead.


Resolving Damage (Core Rulebook page 75)
After deducting any Hull Points, roll a D6 for each shot that penetrated the vehicle's armour and look up the result using the Vehicle Damage table, applying any appropriate modifiers, such as those granted for high AP weapons (pg 76).

These two quotations could be taken one of two different ways. Either:

1: You remove a Hull Point for the Penetrating Hit, then another D3 for the Explodes/Wrecked/etc. result.

OR

2: You remove D3 Hull Points for the Penetrating Hit that resulted in the Explodes/Wrecked/etc. result.

I'm inclined to go with the second interpretation.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/04/19 04:02:41


 
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

'Vehicle Damage' under Super-heavy Vehicles also states that an Explodes! result results in D3 hull points lost as well as the hull point lost for a penetrating hit.
   
Made in us
Grey Knight Purgator firing around corners




southern Ohio

(Edit) simplest correction to my statement was to remove it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/04/19 22:07:10


 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




"After deducting any Hull Points" is a key line d3+1 is correct
   
Made in us
Mutilatin' Mad Dok






Pg 94

".....instead of suffering the effects listed, it loses d3 additional hull points as well as the hull point is loses for the penetrating hit."

   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

 Bill1138 wrote:
I just provided the entire relevant quotations. Don't just say that it also says something else. If there's another quotation I missed, present it.


Excuse me? I provided the reference; go and look it up yourself. You did not provide the entire relevant quotations, clearly.

Fortunately for you docdoom77 has kindly (but not mandatorily as your reply to me would suggest it somehow should have been) provided the quote, which you will see follows almost exactly my previous wording in this thread.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/04/19 20:47:55


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: