Switch Theme:

Challenges in large or complicated combats.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Wichita, KS

A couple questions about challenges. The questions are complicated, but I think the diagrams will make them clear.

1) If there are two large units for instance a blob of 50 conscripts with Yarrik, and a group of 30 Ork Boys with a Nob, and the characters are in range to attack, but not each other, can they declare / accept challenges?

Diagram:
Spoiler:
Y C C C C C C C C
B B B B B B B B B N

Y = Yarrik
C = Conscript
B = Ork Boy
N = Nob


2) If there are multiple units involved in a combat. For instance, if 10 Guardsman join the combat above, and a character is engaged with a unit that contains no characters, but part of his squad is engaged with a unit that contains characters, can he declare or accept challenges.

Diagram:
Spoiler:
Y C C C C C G G G
B B B B B B B B B N

Y = Yarrik
C = Conscript
G = Guardsman
B = Ork Boy
N = Nob

Nob is engaged with Guardsmen, but not Conscripts can he challenge or be challenged.



3) If there are multiple units involved in a combat, and a challenge is declare by their opponent, can characters from either unit accept, or only the one that is specifically challenged?

Diagram:
Spoiler:
Y C C C C C G G S
B B B B B B B B B N

Y = Yarrik
C = Conscript
G = Guardsman
S = Sargent
B = Ork Boy
N = Nob

Nob is engaged with Guardsmen, and challenges the Sargent, can Yarrik accept?.


4) Can you declare a glorious intervention from a unit that isn't the same as a character engaged in a challenge?


Diagram:
Spoiler:
Y C C C C C G G S
B B B B B B B B B N

Y = Yarrik
C = Conscript
G = Guardsman
S = Sargent
B = Ork Boy
N = Nob

Nob is in a challenge with the Sargent, can Yarrik declare a glorious intervention?

   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

The challenger (at the start of combat), must be engaged (able to attack) in order to issue a challenge. Only models who are engaged can accept the challenge.

In your first two examples, a challenge can be issued, and accepted (or declined, cowardly ork), as both Yarrick and the Nob are engaged in the same combat.

For number three, any model can issue, and any model can accept as long as the models are engaged (note, some models have a special rule that forces them to accept a challenge if able).

Regarding number four...I'm not sure but want to say yes.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






1) Yes. The challenger is locked in combat with at least one enemy character and that's all that is required to issue the challenge. If the enemy character accepts he become the challengee. In this example the The challenger and a model from is unit would swap so that the challenger is in base contact with the challengee.

2)The challenger is locked in combat with at least one enemy character and that's all that is required to issue the challenge. The challenger does not need to be able to attack the enemy characters unit to issue the challenge either. In this example the The challengee and a model from is unit would swap so that the challenger is in base contact with the challengee.

3) Any enemy character in the combat may accept. You don't challenge any one enemy character but rather challenge the enemy in general. In this example Yarrik would be able to accept and like in example 1 the challenger, the Nob, and an Ork Boy would swap placed so the Nob was in base contact with Yarrik.

If the challenge is refused you may choose any enemy character in the combat to be the guy who can't strike blows this turn.

4) Yes, so long as the character you want to use to declare the intervention with can attack at least one enemy model from any enemy unit in the same combat. In this scenario swap The Sargent to Yarrik's position and vice versa so that Yarrik is in base contact with the Nob. Sarget and/or Yarrik will need to restore coherency with their proper units once the unit and is out of combat.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Wichita, KS

 Happyjew wrote:
Regarding number four...I'm not sure but want to say yes.

I agree with you. But let me make number 4 even more complicated, and see if that clarifies it or muddies it further.

Lets say there are 2 units from each side engaged in a combat.
We've got:
9 Guardsman (lost their Sargent)
50 Conscripts with Yarrik.
20 Shoota Boyz (no Nob)
20 Slugga/Choppa boyz with a Nob

If Yarrik and his conscripts are engaged with the shoota boyz but not the Slugga / Choppa Boyz, and the Guardsman are engaged with both units of Orks, can Yarrik issue a challenge against the nob from a unit that is engaged in the combat but not against his own unit.

Diagram:
Spoiler:
Y C C C C | G G G G G G G
S S S S S S S S S S S | B B N B B

Y = Yarrik
C = Conscripts
G = Guardsman
S = Shoota Boyz
B = Slugga Boyz
N = Nob
| = unit division
   
Made in gb
Audacious Atalan Jackal



UK

You can have a look at my old topic about similar story to your but your one are "accept or issues" challenge..

http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/623536.page

In that case, my opponent just declare a challenge even if my warboss are on other side of the game board ( Was like.. 20' away.)

Appears you can move nobs to base contact with base who issued a challenge. Just walk past the armies just like in movie - Tory and most of movie.



 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

tag8833, to answer your question, yes. Both Yarrick and the Nob are engaged in the combat. The rules (to the best of my knowledge) do not require the combatants to be engaged with each others unit, just the combat as a whol.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






The rules use two different terms. 'Locked in combat' and 'Engaged with'.

A model is locked in combat when any model in its unit is in base contact with any enemy model. When this happens we say the models in both units are locked in combat with each other.

A model is engaged with an enemy model when it is either in base contact with that enemy model, or another model from its unit is both within two inches of this model and in base contact with that enemy model.

In your latest example Yarrik is not engaged with the Nob but they are locked in combat with each other. This is because the Nob's unit has one or more models in base contact with the Guardsmen unit which in turn has one or more models in base contact with the Shoota Boyz unit, which has one or more models in base contact with Yarrik's unit.

To issue a challenge Yarrik needs to be locked in combat with at least one enemy character. To issue a challenge Yarrik does not need to be engaged with any enemy characters. This is because the challenge, once accepted, will cause one of the two characters to swap positions with another model in its own unit and they will end up in base contact.

Yarrik can not challenge the Nob specifically, instead he issues the challenge to any and all enemy characters locked in the same combat. Any enemy character locked in the same combat as Yarrik can accept this challenge, in this case the Nob is the only enemy character that can accept this challenge.

Once the challenge is accepted we need to get Yarrik and the Nob into base to base contact. This is where swapping the models positions I mentioned earlier comes into play. 1st we check to see if swapping the position of Yarrik (the challenger) and any other model (the conscripts) in his unit wouldput him in base to base contact with the Nob (the challengee). It would not, so next we check if swapping the position of the Nob and another model in its unit would put the Nob into base to base contact with Yarrik. It would not. Finally we have to swap the position of Yarrik and the conscript closest to the Nob. While this will not put Yarrik into base to base contact with the Nob they are treated as if they are in base to base contact for the remainder of the challenge.

Since Yarrik is in a multiple combat and is base to base contact with the Nob's unit and the Shoota Boyz unit he would normally get to split his attacks but because he is in a challenge, and all wounds generated by Yarrik must be able to go to the Nob Yarrik must direct all his attacks at the Nobs units. This means While Yarrik is fighting a challenge with the Nob the wounds he generates can only ever be applied to the Nob and can only spill over to the Slugga Boyz.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/04/24 03:49:54


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Wichita, KS

 DJGietzen wrote:
The rules use two different terms. 'Locked in combat' and 'Engaged with'.
Spoiler:

A model is locked in combat when any model in its unit is in base contact with any enemy model. When this happens we say the models in both units are locked in combat with each other.

A model is engaged with an enemy model when it is either in base contact with that enemy model, or another model from its unit is both within two inches of this model and in base contact with that enemy model.

In your latest example Yarrik is not engaged with the Nob but they are locked in combat with each other. This is because the Nob's unit has one or more models in base contact with the Guardsmen unit which in turn has one or more models in base contact with the Shoota Boyz unit, which has one or more models in base contact with Yarrik's unit.

To issue a challenge Yarrik needs to be locked in combat with at least one enemy character. To issue a challenge Yarrik does not need to be engaged with any enemy characters. This is because the challenge, once accepted, will cause one of the two characters to swap positions with another model in its own unit and they will end up in base contact.

Yarrik can not challenge the Nob specifically, instead he issues the challenge to any and all enemy characters locked in the same combat. Any enemy character locked in the same combat as Yarrik can accept this challenge, in this case the Nob is the only enemy character that can accept this challenge.

Once the challenge is accepted we need to get Yarrik and the Nob into base to base contact. This is where swapping the models positions I mentioned earlier comes into play. 1st we check to see if swapping the position of Yarrik (the challenger) and any other model (the conscripts) in his unit wouldput him in base to base contact with the Nob (the challengee). It would not, so next we check if swapping the position of the Nob and another model in its unit would put the Nob into base to base contact with Yarrik. It would not. Finally we have to swap the position of Yarrik and the conscript closest to the Nob. While this will not put Yarrik into base to base contact with the Nob they are treated as if they are in base to base contact for the remainder of the challenge.

Since Yarrik is in a multiple combat and is base to base contact with the Nob's unit and the Shoota Boyz unit he would normally get to split his attacks but because he is in a challenge, and all wounds generated by Yarrik must be able to go to the Nob Yarrik must direct all his attacks at the Nobs units. This means While Yarrik is fighting a challenge with the Nob the wounds he generates can only ever be applied to the Nob and can only spill over to the Slugga Boyz.
Excellent summary. This is my reading as well. I see it argued regularly, and will point back to this summary in the future. Thank you.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: