Switch Theme:

Hypothetical Army Construction Question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Springfield, VA

This hasn't become a question yet, but it has been wracking my brain as a "well this is odd" sort of question:

Can a unit which takes up no HQ slot be in a Detachment with no HQ slot?

Say, for example, the Skitarii Codex had an HQ entry for the Tech-priest Enginseer which was identical to codex AM. Could you take him in a Skitarii Maniple? There is no HQ slot, but he doesn't require an HQ slot.

Ideas?
   
Made in au
Road-Raging Blood Angel Biker




Australia

I haven't read the Skitarii Codex, however I am understanding what you are saying:

The Tech Priest Enginseer in the skitarii codex is an HQ slot, and there is one in the AM codex that takes up no slot?

Skitarii Maniple says "All units in this Detchment must have the Skitarii Faction (or have no faction). I am assuming the Enginseer in the Skitarii codex has the Skitarii faction, and I am assuming the Enginseer in the AM codex has a different faction - if this is the cased then the answer to your question is no, you cannot.

However if you find a unit with no faction that doesn't take up any slot at all I don't see why you couldn't.

   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






I've got no particular evidence, but I'd say you could - such units tend to get lumped into the HQ section more-or-less at random (most are admittedly, bodyguards or advisors, but things like Techmarines and Servitors are just there as somewhere to put them).

If I have a detachment with no HQ slot, and take a unit which doesn't take a slot, how many slots have I used? Zero.

Note that they still count as a "HQ unit", so if there are any detachment or other rules pertaining to HQ units, they would still affect them (for example, if some hypothetical enemy unit had "Preferred Enemy: HQ Units")
   
Made in gb
Battleship Captain




Yes and no.

If you've got a detachment with 'slots' and you have a unit which meets any faction (and other) requirements to be part of the detachment which doesn't require a slot, then it can go into the detachment even if there's no slot for it - that's the point of not requiring a slot.

It makes no difference to an enginseer if he's in a detachment with no HQ choice to be in, or a detachment with an HQ choice occupied by a company command squad - he's not in it, in either case.

The one exception is formation detachments. Formation detachments don't have slots - they specifically require you to take the unit datasheets listed, no more and no less, so unless the enginseer is a sub-option of a unit datasheet in the formation, you can't take him.

Termagants expended for the Hive Mind: ~2835
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




The detachment lists your permission to take units of specific battlefield roles, as well as any mandatory requirements

If you have a detachment with no HQ battlefield role listed, please show your permission to select an HQ unit to go into that detachment. This is before you get to whether a "slot" is used.

The "point" of not using a slot is not that it can always be taken, regardless of detachment, but that it does not prevent you from selecting other units to fill the role.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






The rulebook is VERY clear on this. I'll quote the rule and add some emphasis, but the rule is under choosing your army and entires that do not use slots.
Occasionally a unit’s Army List Entry will state that the unit it describes does not take up a slot on a Force Organisation Chart. These units can be included in any Detachment, even if all the slots of the appropriate Battlefield Role are filled with other units or if the Detachment had no slot for their Battlefield Role, but they must still adhere to any restrictions detailed on the Detachment and its own Army List Entry.


So lets say I have a detachment with no HQ slots that allows me to include units with the AM faction. In that situation I would certainly be able to include an engineer.
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





East Coast, USA

 DJGietzen wrote:
The rulebook is VERY clear on this. I'll quote the rule and add some emphasis, but the rule is under choosing your army and entires that do not use slots.
Occasionally a unit’s Army List Entry will state that the unit it describes does not take up a slot on a Force Organisation Chart. These units can be included in any Detachment, even if all the slots of the appropriate Battlefield Role are filled with other units or if the Detachment had no slot for their Battlefield Role, but they must still adhere to any restrictions detailed on the Detachment and its own Army List Entry.


So lets say I have a detachment with no HQ slots that allows me to include units with the AM faction. In that situation I would certainly be able to include an engineer.


This. 100% this.

Of course, I don't think this situation actually exists anywhere as of yet.

Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com


https://www.thingiverse.com/KrisWall/about


Completed Trades With: ultraatma 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Springfield, VA

It doesn't - I was just curious.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Huh, missed that. Thanks for the heads up
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: