Switch Theme:

does Jain Zar infer 12 inch run to banshees?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Dakka Veteran





What it says really, RAW Jain Zar has +3 inches to run of the unit she joins because she has "falcons swiftness" warlord trait. Then if she joined banshees they have "Acrobatic" which confers run or charge of +3 inches. Now. If I take her and the banshees as part of a windrider host (Jain Zar as a "Living Legend", the Banshees as "Aspect Host") I get "Matchless agility" which is run 6 inches.

So.

RAW banshees plus jain zar run 12 inches as well as move 6 inches plus a charge of 2D6 plus 3.. correct?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/05/02 13:11:59


 
   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

Does Jain Zar have the 'Acrobatic' rule? If not, the unit cannot benefit from it when she joins them.

Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




yep you can then cast quicken so they can run 15''
   
Made in gb
Emboldened Warlock




Widnes UK

Jain zar's +3 is cumulative with the +3 from acrobatic as she also has acrobatic, so you will be running d6+6 normally. If you are using the craftworld warhost it will be a 12" run. You still cant charge on the turn that you run though. Also jain zar would obviously have to be your warlord.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/05/02 13:20:32


Ulthwe: 7500 points 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





This is all correct. Obviously, they still can't charge on a turn in which they run.

There is NO SUCH THING as MORE ADVANCED in 40k!!! There are ONLY 2 LEVELS of RULES: Basic and Advanced. THE END. Stop saying "More Advanced". That is not a recognized thing in modern 40k!!!!
2500
3400
2250
3500
3300 
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran





Ahh so nor only that, on her own jain zar runs D6+6 (and charges 2D6+3) interesting subtlety.. so long as she is the warlord.. i.e. so long as she has the warlord trait

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/05/02 13:24:56


 
   
Made in gb
Emboldened Warlock




Widnes UK

Sunhero wrote:
yep you can then cast quicken so they can run 15''


Banshees cannot benefit from quicken as to do so they would need to have a spiritseer in the squad. He doesn't have the acrobatic rule, so you are getting rid of a permanent +3 to run for a +3 if you cast a spell.

Ulthwe: 7500 points 
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran





Pretty awesome ability there.. I wonder if there are any tactics that can exploit it i.e. maybe deep strike via falcons run into a building ...charge out next go

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/05/02 13:30:29


 
   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

Stick them in a Dark Eldar raider? Makes a first turn charge a distinct possibility.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/05/02 17:51:52


Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
Made in us
Depraved Slaanesh Chaos Lord




Inside Yvraine

Yep. I did the math a couple of weeks ago, and Banshees in a Raider can reliably charge an enemy unit that's 23'' away.

Raider move 6'', disembark 6'', average charge range with fleet is 8''+3'' from acrobatic.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/05/02 17:59:53


 
   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

Depending on how your group does pivot-and-move, potentially even more.

Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Can't count on it, but you could have a SpiritSeer die to perils after casting Quicken...
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: