Switch Theme:

Several questions from CC to Formations  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in de
Dakka Veteran




Eacute cole Militaire (Paris)

1.
6 imperial soldiers are in the First Big floor of a building , a tyranid tervigon wants to attack them, the soldiers stand 2 Inches away from the floor border and the tervigon is 1 inch from the building.
He Rolls a 8 for attack range.
But the tervigon Model cant be placed on the floor to the soldiers.
Can the tervigon attack the guardsmen?technically he cant get more than 5 inches away from them.
(3 inch height to floor) and 2 inch in First floor.
How Would you handle he Situation?

2.
I played against a blood Angel Formation.
He was playing the archangel Formation with the stormravens.
He also Had dante and Several librarians( Big game).
His librarians casted a spell on his tacs that made them relentless and gave em iwnd and something other.
His stormravens came in, the tacs dropped with reducer scatter since technically in e skies of fury rule it says "like they came as shock troops".
Got the psi casted on em.
They flamed and rapid fired my troops and then charged due to relentless.
Very hard hitting...
Technically he tacs arrive by deepstrike Even they come from the ravens.
Cause of skies of fury.
So is he allowed to charge?
He argued That Even when he didnt counted as deepstriking he Would be allowed cause stormravens are an assault vehicle and technically they disembark.
Sorry cant say it in other words.

3.
Against D Weapon hits in cc you get no invul right?

4. how is Instant death from a psi Weapon Händler against gargantuans?

5.
A librarian is Casting the power on a Bio Titan That makes all attacks rending.( dont know he Name at the moment)
Rending means every to wound roll of 6 is an autowound with ap2.
A marine Unit opened Fire on my Titan and technically couldnt hurt him, but the Titan Had he power on him and the marines Had a psi power were they could reroll failed to wound Rolls.
Can he reroll all dice that dont Show a six?
He rolled 8 x six.
So eight wounds i didnt saved from a tac squad...



Thankkksssss

Do not kill. Do not rape. Do not steal. These are principles which every man of every faith can embrace.
For if you do, one day you will look behind you and you will see us And on that day, you will reap it,
and we will send you to whatever god you wish.  
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





East Coast, USA

 winterwind85 wrote:
1.
6 imperial soldiers are in the First Big floor of a building , a tyranid tervigon wants to attack them, the soldiers stand 2 Inches away from the floor border and the tervigon is 1 inch from the building.
He Rolls a 8 for attack range.
But the tervigon Model cant be placed on the floor to the soldiers.
Can the tervigon attack the guardsmen?technically he cant get more than 5 inches away from them.
(3 inch height to floor) and 2 inch in First floor.
How Would you handle he Situation?


If he can't reach the unit, he isn't allowed to declare a charge in the first place. Most people house rule this to allow it though. Talk to your opponents.

2.
I played against a blood Angel Formation.
He was playing the archangel Formation with the stormravens.
He also Had dante and Several librarians( Big game).
His librarians casted a spell on his tacs that made them relentless and gave em iwnd and something other.
His stormravens came in, the tacs dropped with reducer scatter since technically in e skies of fury rule it says "like they came as shock troops".
Got the psi casted on em.
They flamed and rapid fired my troops and then charged due to relentless.
Very hard hitting...
Technically he tacs arrive by deepstrike Even they come from the ravens.
Cause of skies of fury.
So is he allowed to charge?
He argued That Even when he didnt counted as deepstriking he Would be allowed cause stormravens are an assault vehicle and technically they disembark.
Sorry cant say it in other words.


You can't charge the turn you come in from Reserves. Being embarked and then disembarking from an Assault vehicle doesn't remove this restriction.

3.
Against D Weapon hits in cc you get no invul right?


No saving throws of any kind. Invulnerable saves are saving throws, so you can't use them.

4. how is Instant death from a psi Weapon Händler against gargantuans?


The same way Instant Death from a non 'psi Weapon' is handled. The Instant Death wound instead causes D3 wounds.

5.
A librarian is Casting the power on a Bio Titan That makes all attacks rending.( dont know he Name at the moment)
Rending means every to wound roll of 6 is an autowound with ap2.
A marine Unit opened Fire on my Titan and technically couldnt hurt him, but the Titan Had he power on him and the marines Had a psi power were they could reroll failed to wound Rolls.
Can he reroll all dice that dont Show a six?
He rolled 8 x six.
So eight wounds i didnt saved from a tac squad...


If you have a power that allows you to re-roll failed wounds AND you have Rending... you'd be allowed to re-roll results of 1-5 and try for a 6.

Rending + Re-rollable wounds + lots of shots = Dead critters.

Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com


https://www.thingiverse.com/KrisWall/about


Completed Trades With: ultraatma 
   
Made in ca
Longtime Dakkanaut





#1 is hotly debated. Personally, I say invoke wobbly model syndome and use a marker to represent where the model would be. However, there are people that will swear up and down until they're blue in the face that I am hugely wrong on this, and that the guardsmen in that situation are totally unassaultable.

#2 your opponent is wrong. If you entered from reserves embarked in a vehicle, then disembarked from that vehicle on the same turn, you cannot declare a charge as you arrived from reserves that turn.

#3 you still get Invulnerable saves most of the time. For each hit he inflicts, he rolls a d6. On a result of 6, one model suffers d6+6 wounds with no saves of any kind allowed (even invulnerable ones). On a 2-5 one model suffers d3 (or is it d3+1... can't remember right now and doesn't matter) wounds, but they may take a single save against this (edit: note - chances are only their invulnerable will save them, as Gargantuan Creatures and the D-sword Knight are all AP1 or AP2, and so ignore conventional armour saves), and if failed it's just that model that takes the wounds (no spill over). On a 1, bonk, nothing happens.

#4 attacks that cause instant death don't instantly kill Gargantuan Monstrous Creatures. It's very clear in the rulebook what these weapons do. That includes attacks that would otherwise remove the model from play. (They take d3 wounds instead of just 1 wound... or d3+1, again can't remember, again not important)

#5 Yes, Rending will still work, even if you normally couldn't wound the target. Not being able to wound doesn't mean that no roll is made, it's just that there's often no reason to roll as no result could succeed. Rending, however, gives a chance to succeed, so you can still reroll failed to-wound rolls,

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/05/04 19:20:57


 Galef wrote:
If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors.
 
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





East Coast, USA

Agreed. #1 is hotly debated. For a little more context, the camps are split as such...

Camp #1 - If you can't reach the target (i.e., be placed such that you make contact), you aren't allowed to declare a charge and all other debate is moot.

Camp #2 - Reach the target has nothing to do with base to base contact and only has a distance element. Invoke Wobbly Model Syndrome and pretend like the charger can make contact.

The main issue with Camp #1 is that reach is never defined in the rules. Camp #1 might be wrong about reach meaning to make contact.

The main issue with Camp #2 is that they are using Wobbly Model Syndrome to pretend a model is in a location that no amount of precarious balancing would allow. Wobbly Model Syndrome is generally though of as a fix for precarious balancing and not wanting your models to fall over.

Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com


https://www.thingiverse.com/KrisWall/about


Completed Trades With: ultraatma 
   
Made in de
Dakka Veteran




Eacute cole Militaire (Paris)

He archangel Formation give the Special rule that you are allowed to assault the turn you come in from deepstrike.
The question is, are the tac squads that deploy via skies of fury per rule Entering per deepstrike and so are allowed to charge or only the troops that come in via deepstrike RESErvE

Do not kill. Do not rape. Do not steal. These are principles which every man of every faith can embrace.
For if you do, one day you will look behind you and you will see us And on that day, you will reap it,
and we will send you to whatever god you wish.  
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

 winterwind85 wrote:
He archangel Formation give the Special rule that you are allowed to assault the turn you come in from deepstrike.
The question is, are the tac squads that deploy via skies of fury per rule Entering per deepstrike and so are allowed to charge or only the troops that come in via deepstrike RESErvE


I do beleive that the archangel formation requires the unit to be in "Deep Strike Reserves", to get the allowance to charge.

The tactical marines embarked in the Storm Raven were never, and have never been in Deep Strike Reserves.
They disembarked using the rules "arrive by Deep Strike", and the Storm Raven might have been in "Reserves", but not "Deep Strike Reserves".

you are only in "Deep Strike Reserves" if you are in Reserves AND you are arriving by Deep Strike. That's what the rules say:
"When placing the unit in Reserve, you must tell your opponent that it will be arriving by Deep Strike (sometimes called Deep Strike Reserve)"

There has been some discussion that, for example, a Tactical Squad in a Drop Pod (who are both in Deep Strike Reserves) can do this (Charge on arrival), because they were in Deep Strike Reserves, as the rule says. But definitely not Storm Raven.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Kriswall wrote:

2.
I played against a blood Angel Formation.
He was playing the archangel Formation with the stormravens.
He also Had dante and Several librarians( Big game).
His librarians casted a spell on his tacs that made them relentless and gave em iwnd and something other.
His stormravens came in, the tacs dropped with reducer scatter since technically in e skies of fury rule it says "like they came as shock troops".
Got the psi casted on em.
They flamed and rapid fired my troops and then charged due to relentless.
Very hard hitting...
Technically he tacs arrive by deepstrike Even they come from the ravens.
Cause of skies of fury.
So is he allowed to charge?
He argued That Even when he didnt counted as deepstriking he Would be allowed cause stormravens are an assault vehicle and technically they disembark.
Sorry cant say it in other words.


You can't charge the turn you come in from Reserves. Being embarked and then disembarking from an Assault vehicle doesn't remove this restriction.

 Yarium wrote:
#2 your opponent is wrong. If you entered from reserves embarked in a vehicle, then disembarked from that vehicle on the same turn, you cannot declare a charge as you arrived from reserves that turn.

Point of note, for this:
You are both correct, but....

If the Archangel Formation was on the table (or arrived) on a Turn, then the situation he described would be possible the Turn after.

If "His stormravens came in" from across the board (NOT reserves)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/05/04 22:42:41


DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in us
Frightening Flamer of Tzeentch






Yeah, the tacs inside the stormravens themselves cannot assault in such a fashion. However, drop pods, Sanguinary Guarfd, and deathco can.


Can't stormravens themselves decide to deepstrike in? If so, you could.....

Aftermath can be calculated.

Dark humor is like food, not everyone gets it.  
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

 Lord Commissar wrote:
Yeah, the tacs inside the stormravens themselves cannot assault in such a fashion. However, drop pods, Sanguinary Guarfd, and deathco can.


Can't stormravens themselves decide to deepstrike in? If so, you could.....


They would need to have a rule with similar wording to the BA Drop pods, because passengers are not automatically in "Deep Strike Reserves", even if the Vehicle is

DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 Kriswall wrote:
 winterwind85 wrote:
1.

3.
Against D Weapon hits in cc you get no invul right?


No saving throws of any kind. Invulnerable saves are saving throws, so you can't use them.

.


Only a 6 will stop the Invulnerable save.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: