Switch Theme:

D Weapons and Transports  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Bush? No, Eldar Ranger





So with all the D weapons in 40k I imagine this will be a conversation that a lot of people will have. My buddy and I played a game recently, I play grey knights, he plays eldar. With the new D strength wraithguns, he was able to take out my land raider almost instantly. However, during the game, a 6 was rolled on the destroyer table. This removed my land raider from the game.

My question, are the units inside the transport removed as casualties as well? Or is it treated as an explosion and they are placed where the vehicle was?

For the game, after some argument, we removed both the transport and the models it was carrying as casualties.
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





The 6 result only does a pen and hull point loss. It doesn't change how the vehicle is destroyerd
   
Made in us
Bush? No, Eldar Ranger





Would that I could delete this post out of shame for not reading the rules right. Thanks
   
Made in us
Gore-Soaked Lunatic Witchhunter







6 doesn't remove from play, it does d6+6 hull points and a roll on the vehicle damage table at the weapon's AP. Whether it's an Explodes or Wrecked result is dependent on the damage table result, and a Superheavy with more than 7 hull points could theoretically survive.

The Stomp table result of 6, on the other hand, does say "remove the unit as a casualty", which has no provision in the rules; normally a vehicle is removed as a casualty either as an Explodes result (in which case the passengers would be placed where the vehicle was removed from and take the randomly allocated S4 hits and the Pinning test) or as a Wrecked result (in which case the passengers would disembark from a wreck and take a Pinning test), logically from that I would conclude that the vehicle would be removed from play and the passengers would be placed where the vehicle was as if an Explodes result had occurred, but since no Explodes result happened they wouldn't take hits and you wouldn't roll for explosion distance. As to the pinning test since the vehicle neither Exploded or was Wrecked it technically wouldn't, but I might conclude that since in every other case where a vehicle is removed from play the unit takes a pinning test they would in this case as well.

That's my conclusion, at least.

Balanced Game: Noun. A game in which all options and choices are worth using.
Homebrew oldhammer project: https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/790996.page#10896267
Meridian: Necromunda-based 40k skirmish: https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/795374.page 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: