Switch Theme:

Can a unit destroy a transport in the shooting phase and charge the passengers in the assault phase?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in at
Slashing Veteran Sword Bretheren






Or would that be illegal?

2000 l 2000 l 2000 l 1500 l 1000 l 1000 l Blood Ravens (using Ravenguard CT) 1500 l 1500 l
Eldar tactica l Black Templars tactica l Tau tactica l Astra Militarum codex summary l 7th ed summary l Tutorial: Hinged Land Raider doors (easy!) l My blog: High Gothic Musings
 Ravenous D wrote:
40K is like a beloved grandparent that is slowly falling into dementia and the rest of the family is in denial about how bad it is.
squidhills wrote:
GW is scared of girls. Why do you think they have so much trouble sculpting attractive female models? Because girls have cooties and the staff at GW don't like looking at them for too long because it makes them feel funny in their naughty place.
 
   
Made in ca
Longtime Dakkanaut





That is legal. If a vehicle is destroyed in the shooting phase by a unit, that same unit may indeed charge the occupants that are now in the open.

 Galef wrote:
If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors.
 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





UK

Only thing that restricts this are the type of weapons (can't charge if you fire Heavy Weapons), with exceptions, such as Relentless.

YMDC = nightmare 
   
Made in ca
Been Around the Block




 Frozocrone wrote:
Only thing that restricts this are the type of weapons (can't charge if you fire Heavy Weapons), with exceptions, such as Relentless.


Not entirely true. Other special rules can restrict charging the passengers after destroying the transport they were embarked on not just "type of weapons". An example would be an Exocrine using it Symbiotic Targeting rule would not be able to charge the passengers despite the fact it fired an assault weapon. So a better way to put this would be:

A unit that destroyed a transport with shooting can charge the passengers in the assault as long as they have no restrictions that would make them ineligible to declare a charge.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/05/14 15:53:51


 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

 Sir Arun wrote:
Or would that be illegal?

Chck in the rulebook under the heading 'Effects of Damage On Passengers' in the Transports section of the rulebook for permission to do so.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Maniacal Gibbering Madboy






Hang, on, my understanding is that it is completely illegal. BRB states that you cannot shoot one unit and assault another unit. If I shoot at a rhino and wreck it, forcing the passengers to disembark, they are a separate unit from the transport, so I can't then assault them.

As a c/f of why this is important, the knight has a crappy little heavy stubber, because it allows you to walk forward, shoot the big ass gun at a unit of marines, the H Stubber at a land raider, which will then allow you to assault the land raider. Without doing that all important targeting, the land raider couldn't be assaulted.

While I do wish I could (I'm an ork player), you just can't.


Edit: I am 99% sure of this, but will check BRB when I get home tonight....

Edit edit: Looks like there is a special exception clause I missed previously, which is great news for my kommandos and deff koptas.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2015/05/15 23:00:19


 
   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

Dark Artisan and Corpsethief Claw formations also really appreciate the exception.

Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

 goblinzz wrote:


Edit edit: Looks like there is a special exception clause I missed previously, which is great news for my kommandos and deff koptas.


That clause has existed for many editions. Its been around at least since 4th edition.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in ca
Foolproof Falcon Pilot




Ontario, Canada

 Grey Templar wrote:
 goblinzz wrote:


Edit edit: Looks like there is a special exception clause I missed previously, which is great news for my kommandos and deff koptas.


That clause has existed for many editions. Its been around at least since 4th edition.


Checked my 4th edition rulebook and couldn't find the exception. Seems like it only became a thing in 5th.
   
Made in us
Perturbed Blood Angel Tactical Marine






It just didn't matter in 4th because nobody used transports back then. They were sooooooo bad.

Hi, I'm Mike Leon. You may remember me from such totally metal action adventure novels as KILL KILL KILL and RATED R 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

Bojazz wrote:
 Grey Templar wrote:
 goblinzz wrote:


Edit edit: Looks like there is a special exception clause I missed previously, which is great news for my kommandos and deff koptas.


That clause has existed for many editions. Its been around at least since 4th edition.


Checked my 4th edition rulebook and couldn't find the exception. Seems like it only became a thing in 5th.


So it was. Memory gets a little fuzzy way back then.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in ca
Foolproof Falcon Pilot




Ontario, Canada

 Mike Leon wrote:
It just didn't matter in 4th because nobody used transports back then. They were sooooooo bad.

Yep. Wrecked transports auto-pinned the passengers, making them sitting ducks.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Now if two units shoot a transport, and the second shooter destroys it, can the first unit charge the passengers?

Battlescribe Catalog Editor - Please report bugs here http://battlescribedata.appspot.com/#/repo/wh40k 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Yes. Covered by the same rule.

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: