Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/06 19:03:16
Subject: Stomp Attacks
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
So....
I melee a transport to death.
The squad inside jumps out.
Can I still stomp?
Stomp says "in addition to regular attacks", and no where in the rule does it require a target.
Fire Away,
-DB
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/06 19:04:50
Subject: Re:Stomp Attacks
|
 |
Death-Dealing Devastator
Bournemouth
|
No.
To stomp, you still need to be in combat at Initiative step 1. If you killed the transport you arent, cause you dont become locked with the unit that comes out of it.
|
WH40K
Iron Wardens 11k (Iron Hands Clan Raukaan with Blood Angels Allies)
Guard PDF 1.5k
Hive Fleet Celesta 3.5k
Irontoof Guttasnarks's Warghband 0k in development |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/06 19:04:53
Subject: Stomp Attacks
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
No, you are not in combat with that squad. You can only stomp if you are engaged in hth.
A squad cannot be engaged in hth just by disembarking near an enemy unit.
|
Dman137 wrote:
goobs is all you guys will ever be
By 1-irt: Still as long as Hissy keeps showing up this is one of the most entertaining threads ever.
"Feelin' goods, good enough". |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/06 20:26:51
Subject: Stomp Attacks
|
 |
Screaming Shining Spear
|
What if you charge through terrain and your regular attacks are also hitting at I 1?
|
4000 points: Craftworld Mymeara |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/06 20:27:34
Subject: Re:Stomp Attacks
|
 |
Death-Dealing Devastator
Bournemouth
|
Then you can Stomp. Stomps are attacks made at step 1 is all. Although, since the attacks are simultaneous, I'd play you can't target the guys getting out.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/06/06 20:29:05
WH40K
Iron Wardens 11k (Iron Hands Clan Raukaan with Blood Angels Allies)
Guard PDF 1.5k
Hive Fleet Celesta 3.5k
Irontoof Guttasnarks's Warghband 0k in development |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/06 20:32:39
Subject: Stomp Attacks
|
 |
Devastating Dark Reaper
|
I would also play that the guys pile out after the combat ends so still no stop as it would have been thrown at the transport during the actual combat
You can stomp units which are not in combat though, just not when you are not in combat. So, in the hypothetical situation that that you are in a combat with a transport (multi assault maybe) and another unit - if you kill the transport at I5 and the other unit keeps you locked in combat then you can stomp at I1 and potentially hit the squad that just piled out.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/06/06 20:36:53
3500 | 1000 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/06 20:33:23
Subject: Stomp Attacks
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
You cannot since the guys getting out are still not in combat.
You can only engage in hth through charging, you have not charged the guys, just their transport. In effect you lose the other stomp attacks (assuming you rolled 2 or 3) and lose your regular attacks too.
Youve killed the transport, end of combat.
|
Dman137 wrote:
goobs is all you guys will ever be
By 1-irt: Still as long as Hissy keeps showing up this is one of the most entertaining threads ever.
"Feelin' goods, good enough". |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/06 20:34:16
Subject: Stomp Attacks
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Not even a hiwpi.
When the unit gets out they must be at least 1" away from any enemy unit(thus not engaged in any way).
No matter what i step the transport is popped in assault the passengers will never be engaged.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/06 20:34:24
Subject: Stomp Attacks
|
 |
Death-Dealing Devastator
Bournemouth
|
Zippokovich wrote:I would also play that the guys pile out after the combat ends so still no stop as it would have been thrown at the transport during the actual combat
Except the stomp attack doesnt have to target what your locked in combat with. So you still get to stomp, I would just play it ignoring the guys who were in the transport.
|
WH40K
Iron Wardens 11k (Iron Hands Clan Raukaan with Blood Angels Allies)
Guard PDF 1.5k
Hive Fleet Celesta 3.5k
Irontoof Guttasnarks's Warghband 0k in development |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/06 20:36:18
Subject: Stomp Attacks
|
 |
Devastating Dark Reaper
|
Iron_Warden wrote: Zippokovich wrote:I would also play that the guys pile out after the combat ends so still no stop as it would have been thrown at the transport during the actual combat
Except the stomp attack doesnt have to target what your locked in combat with. So you still get to stomp, I would just play it ignoring the guys who were in the transport.
Yep I agree, was editing my post when you said almost the same thing :p
|
3500 | 1000 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/06 20:36:52
Subject: Re:Stomp Attacks
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Except the stomp attack doesnt have to target what your locked in combat with.
No it does - line one of Stomp: "Superheavy walkers engaged in combat can make a stomp attack". Once the transport is dead, you are not enegaed with the squad inside. End of that combat.
|
Dman137 wrote:
goobs is all you guys will ever be
By 1-irt: Still as long as Hissy keeps showing up this is one of the most entertaining threads ever.
"Feelin' goods, good enough". |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/06 20:38:59
Subject: Re:Stomp Attacks
|
 |
Death-Dealing Devastator
Bournemouth
|
Ratius wrote: Except the stomp attack doesnt have to target what your locked in combat with. No it does - line one of Stomp: "Superheavy walkers engaged in combat can make a stomp attack". Once the transport is dead, you are not enegaed with the squad inside. End of that combat. Not denying that. When it gets to step 1 it gets to use its attacks, all of them. In the situation where it has charged throguh difficult terrain and is striking at I1 the knight (for example) would get to attack and use its stomps, simultaneously. And you dont have to target the combatants, only be in combat to use stomp.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/06/06 20:39:34
WH40K
Iron Wardens 11k (Iron Hands Clan Raukaan with Blood Angels Allies)
Guard PDF 1.5k
Hive Fleet Celesta 3.5k
Irontoof Guttasnarks's Warghband 0k in development |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/06 20:39:19
Subject: Re:Stomp Attacks
|
 |
Devastating Dark Reaper
|
Ratius wrote:
Except the stomp attack doesnt have to target what your locked in combat with.
No it does - line one of Stomp: "Superheavy walkers engaged in combat can make a stomp attack". Once the transport is dead, you are not enegaed with the squad inside. End of that combat.
It doesn't - you have to be locked to perform it but it can hit whatever it can reach - so if you happen to be locked with a 2nd unit then you can stomp the disembarked unit
|
3500 | 1000 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/06 20:40:19
Subject: Stomp Attacks
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
But you are not locked with the disembarked unit.
You have not charged them. No charge= no lock.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/06/06 20:41:05
Dman137 wrote:
goobs is all you guys will ever be
By 1-irt: Still as long as Hissy keeps showing up this is one of the most entertaining threads ever.
"Feelin' goods, good enough". |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/06 20:40:45
Subject: Stomp Attacks
|
 |
Death-Dealing Devastator
Bournemouth
|
Ratius wrote:But you are not locked with the disembarked unit. You have not charged them. No charge= no lock. This is not the point, as has been stated several times. you were locked at the start of the step.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/06/06 20:41:17
WH40K
Iron Wardens 11k (Iron Hands Clan Raukaan with Blood Angels Allies)
Guard PDF 1.5k
Hive Fleet Celesta 3.5k
Irontoof Guttasnarks's Warghband 0k in development |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/06 20:42:16
Subject: Stomp Attacks
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Hmm?
Stomps can only happen with engaged units correct?
The disemabrked unit is not engaged.
Hence no stomp.
You were locked with the transport. Not the embarked unit.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/06/06 20:42:47
Dman137 wrote:
goobs is all you guys will ever be
By 1-irt: Still as long as Hissy keeps showing up this is one of the most entertaining threads ever.
"Feelin' goods, good enough". |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/06 20:43:26
Subject: Stomp Attacks
|
 |
Devastating Dark Reaper
|
Ratius wrote:But you are not locked with the disembarked unit.
You have not charged them. No charge= no lock.
Yeh but as long as you are locked with something (a hypothetical second unit that wasn't in the original situation but could be - e.g. multiassult) you can still do the stomp and the stomp doesn't have to target the unit you are engaged with - you just place it in base to base and then 2'' for any following ones and it hits whatever falls under it. There are a few other threads clarifying that stomps can hit units outside of the combat.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/06/06 20:44:19
3500 | 1000 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/06 20:43:43
Subject: Stomp Attacks
|
 |
Death-Dealing Devastator
Bournemouth
|
Ratius wrote:Hmm?
Stomps can only happen with engaged units correct?
The disemabrked unit is not engaged.
Hence no stomp.
No. The check for who can fight has already happened, and is done by model and I step, not weapon.
Step 1, is the knight engaged? Yes, therefore he can attack. What attacks does he use, his normal ones and a special Stomp one.
|
WH40K
Iron Wardens 11k (Iron Hands Clan Raukaan with Blood Angels Allies)
Guard PDF 1.5k
Hive Fleet Celesta 3.5k
Irontoof Guttasnarks's Warghband 0k in development |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/06 20:47:45
Subject: Re:Stomp Attacks
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Yeh but as long as you are locked with something (a hypothetical second unit that wasn't in the original situation but could be - e.g. multiassult) you can still do the stomp and the stomp doesn't have to target the unit you are engaged with - you just place it in base to base and then 2'' for any following ones and it hits whatever falls under it.
Accepted. But the OP said a single transport.
No. The check for who can fight has already happened, and is done by model and I step, not weapon.
Step 1, is the knight engaged? Yes, therefore he can attack. What attacks does he use, his normal ones and a special Stomp one.
Agreed. But he can stomp or make normal attacks VS the transport and nothing else.
|
Dman137 wrote:
goobs is all you guys will ever be
By 1-irt: Still as long as Hissy keeps showing up this is one of the most entertaining threads ever.
"Feelin' goods, good enough". |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/06 20:49:44
Subject: Re:Stomp Attacks
|
 |
Devastating Dark Reaper
|
Ratius wrote:Yeh but as long as you are locked with something (a hypothetical second unit that wasn't in the original situation but could be - e.g. multiassult) you can still do the stomp and the stomp doesn't have to target the unit you are engaged with - you just place it in base to base and then 2'' for any following ones and it hits whatever falls under it.
Accepted. But the OP said a single transport.
Agreed - single transport then stomp has to go on the vehicle is how i would play it
|
3500 | 1000 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/06 20:50:59
Subject: Re:Stomp Attacks
|
 |
Death-Dealing Devastator
Bournemouth
|
Ratius wrote:Yeh but as long as you are locked with something (a hypothetical second unit that wasn't in the original situation but could be - e.g. multiassult) you can still do the stomp and the stomp doesn't have to target the unit you are engaged with - you just place it in base to base and then 2'' for any following ones and it hits whatever falls under it.
Accepted. But the OP said a single transport.
No. The check for who can fight has already happened, and is done by model and I step, not weapon.
Step 1, is the knight engaged? Yes, therefore he can attack. What attacks does he use, his normal ones and a special Stomp one.
Agreed. But he can stomp or make normal attacks VS the transport and nothing else.
No, nowhere in the Stomp rules does it say "must target an engaged unit". His normal attacks are subject to such a rule, so if he stomped first and kills the transport there is nothing for his attacks to hit (except an already dead transport). If he attacks first, then stomps. Even after killing the transport he can still follow the rules for the stomp, placing the template etc. etc.. I'm just adding that HIWPI is he couldnt target the now disembarked unit as they weren't there when the attack was initiated. But you can stomp out of the combat onto another unit.
|
WH40K
Iron Wardens 11k (Iron Hands Clan Raukaan with Blood Angels Allies)
Guard PDF 1.5k
Hive Fleet Celesta 3.5k
Irontoof Guttasnarks's Warghband 0k in development |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/06 21:15:18
Subject: Re:Stomp Attacks
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
Ratius wrote:Yeh but as long as you are locked with something (a hypothetical second unit that wasn't in the original situation but could be - e.g. multiassult) you can still do the stomp and the stomp doesn't have to target the unit you are engaged with - you just place it in base to base and then 2'' for any following ones and it hits whatever falls under it.
Accepted. But the OP said a single transport.
Not quite. The original post simply stated:
danjbrierton wrote:I melee a transport to death.
The squad inside jumps out.
One Transport was killed, not only fighting one Transport.
And you can fight two units at the same time, provided you included them in the Charge Declaration, or they charged you. Another possibility is the Super-Heavy could have charged a Transport Squadron like Valkyries in Hover and only killed one of the Vehicles, Disembarking the unit in question from the Wreckage.
But a lot of this is simply finding a situation where you COULD crack shell and then Stomp the nuts inside. Odds are low of this happening with common occurrence, but it can happen.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/06 21:48:29
Subject: Stomp Attacks
|
 |
Jinking Ravenwing Land Speeder Pilot
|
To be "engaged" in combat, you must be in base contact with an enemy model locked in the same combat.
The 2 conditions for being able to attack are
*Having an an initiative value equal to the initiative step
*Being engaged, or being within range of a friendly model that is.
After the transport is destroyed, even if it was at initiative step 1, you are no longer engaged and therefore can make no more attacks.
You most definitely cannot be engaged with the unit that disembarks, in the same phase
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/06/06 21:50:04
"If you wait a few months, they'll pick one of the worst codexes and they'll nerf almost everything, its an abstract sort of balance, but it's the sort of balance gw likes...  " |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/06 23:23:37
Subject: Stomp Attacks
|
 |
Screaming Shining Spear
|
jokerkd wrote:To be "engaged" in combat, you must be in base contact with an enemy model locked in the same combat.
The 2 conditions for being able to attack are
*Having an an initiative value equal to the initiative step
*Being engaged, or being within range of a friendly model that is.
After the transport is destroyed, even if it was at initiative step 1, you are no longer engaged and therefore can make no more attacks.
You most definitely cannot be engaged with the unit that disembarks, in the same phase
But is does matter when the check is to be made. If the check is at the begining of the Initiative step, then the stomps go off. Unless you are arguing that there would be a second check in between its regular and stomp attacks? If so, rules quote?
|
4000 points: Craftworld Mymeara |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/06 23:25:35
Subject: Stomp Attacks
|
 |
Death-Dealing Devastator
Bournemouth
|
extremefreak17 wrote:
But is does matter when the check is to be made. If the check is at the begining of the Initiative step, then the stomps go off. Unless you are arguing that there would be a second check in between its regular and stomp attacks? If so, rules quote?
Thank you, this is what i'm saying, when you make the check is what matters.
|
WH40K
Iron Wardens 11k (Iron Hands Clan Raukaan with Blood Angels Allies)
Guard PDF 1.5k
Hive Fleet Celesta 3.5k
Irontoof Guttasnarks's Warghband 0k in development |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/07 03:47:08
Subject: Stomp Attacks
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Ok so gmc or shw(referred to hereafter as a stompy) is engaged with a transport.
If said stompy is engaged with a single transport and destroys it in any i step above 1; it cannot stomp the passengers (cannot attack at i1 as it is no longer engaged)
If said stompy is engaged with a single transport and destroys it in i step 1 it cannot stomp the unit(all melee attacks happen simultaneously in i steps so the unit is still in the transport while the stomps are happening)
If said stompy is engaged with multiple units and destroys the transport prior to i step 1, the stomp could cover the unit as ancillary(iirc the stomp is blast templates that can generally strike non-engaged models/units, if that us incorrect then they cannot be hit)
If said stompy is engaged with multiple units and destroys the transport: at i1 see the single engaged at i1 above.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/07 09:15:01
Subject: Stomp Attacks
|
 |
Death-Dealing Devastator
Bournemouth
|
Kommissar Kel wrote:Ok so gmc or shw(referred to hereafter as a stompy) is engaged with a transport. If said stompy is engaged with a single transport and destroys it in any i step above 1; it cannot stomp the passengers (cannot attack at i1 as it is no longer engaged) If said stompy is engaged with a single transport and destroys it in i step 1 it cannot stomp the unit(all melee attacks happen simultaneously in i steps so the unit is still in the transport while the stomps are happening) If said stompy is engaged with multiple units and destroys the transport prior to i step 1, the stomp could cover the unit as ancillary( iirc the stomp is blast templates that can generally strike non-engaged models/units, if that us incorrect then they cannot be hit) If said stompy is engaged with multiple units and destroys the transport: at i1 see the single engaged at i1 above. Yea. Good summery
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/06/07 09:15:23
WH40K
Iron Wardens 11k (Iron Hands Clan Raukaan with Blood Angels Allies)
Guard PDF 1.5k
Hive Fleet Celesta 3.5k
Irontoof Guttasnarks's Warghband 0k in development |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/07 10:52:46
Subject: Stomp Attacks
|
 |
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps
Phoenix, AZ, USA
|
Guess that could be seen as the best reason to take the Gauntlet, so I step 1 becomes viable.
SJ
|
“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/07 13:44:31
Subject: Stomp Attacks
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Hows that sj? I step 1 in all cases has the unit inside the transport while the stomp is going off(all attacks in an i-step are simultaneous, this includes the stomp even if you roll for the gauntlet attacks first)
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/07 20:27:31
Subject: Stomp Attacks
|
 |
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps
Phoenix, AZ, USA
|
Because you can Hurl the Transport at the now disembarked passengers.
SJ
|
“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
|
|
 |
 |
|