Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/07 22:47:37
Subject: Stomp Attacks
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Kommissar Kel wrote:Ok so gmc or shw(referred to hereafter as a stompy) is engaged with a transport. If said stompy is engaged with a single transport and destroys it in i step 1 it cannot stomp the unit(all melee attacks happen simultaneously in i steps so the unit is still in the transport while the stomps are happening) That is not true. Stompy can attack with his normal attacks, the use his stomp to hit models that pop out of the vehicle as long as he is still engaged at I1. Kommissar Kel wrote:Hows that sj? I step 1 in all cases has the unit inside the transport while the stomp is going off(all attacks in an i-step are simultaneous, this includes the stomp even if you roll for the gauntlet attacks first) I could not find this in the rulebook, care to point it out?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/06/07 22:49:05
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/07 23:27:12
Subject: Stomp Attacks
|
 |
Screaming Shining Spear
|
Kommissar Kel wrote:Hows that sj? I step 1 in all cases has the unit inside the transport while the stomp is going off(all attacks in an i-step are simultaneous, this includes the stomp even if you roll for the gauntlet attacks first)
But when does the disembark take place when the vehicle is wrecked? Dont have my book on me, but if it says "immediately" then, I would argue that you couls stomp them.
|
4000 points: Craftworld Mymeara |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/08 01:36:37
Subject: Stomp Attacks
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Not sure about that... Gonna have to look into it further.
The hurl would be part of the attack and thus the unit and transport may exist in a quantum state.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/08 06:25:24
Subject: Stomp Attacks
|
 |
Lieutenant Colonel
|
once the transport is popped, combat ends immediately. and you are no longer engaged with anything.
While stomps CAN be walked onto other units, you cannot stomp in the first place if you are not engaged with some unit.
two weapons at I1 still have two pools as well that get fully resolved one at a time, by the time the first strike is fully resolved even if it results in immediate disembarking of another unit, you are still no longer engaged with the enemy and cannot use stomp.
because you are not engaged with an enemy, you cannot stomp, it has nothing to do with you targeting another unit
page 81 small RB
bottom right "transports and assaults"
"any surviving passengers are *NOT* locked in combat withe the units assaulting their vehicle"
RAW is conclusive here, though its easy to miss that paragraph/sentence
|
This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2015/06/08 06:36:06
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/08 07:09:23
Subject: Stomp Attacks
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
extremefreak17 wrote: Kommissar Kel wrote:Hows that sj? I step 1 in all cases has the unit inside the transport while the stomp is going off(all attacks in an i-step are simultaneous, this includes the stomp even if you roll for the gauntlet attacks first)
But when does the disembark take place when the vehicle is wrecked? Dont have my book on me, but if it says "immediately" then, I would argue that you couls stomp them.
Foe rhe stomp "immediately" does not matter, if you are making an attack at i1 you are simultaneously stomping(all attacks at i1 happen at the exact same time), so even though you are rolling the dice sequentially; the stomp is happening at the same time as the attack that destroys the transport. Therefore when the stomp is going off the unit is still in the transport(as it is being destroyed).
And SJ: upon review of the guantlet; yes it specifically states the unit disembarks before the hurl, so you can target the unit with the blast.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/08 14:32:34
Subject: Stomp Attacks
|
 |
Killer Klaivex
Oceanside, CA
|
Kommissar Kel wrote:
And SJ: upon review of the guantlet; yes it specifically states the unit disembarks before the hurl, so you can target the unit with the blast.
Now I picture a titan picking up a rhino, shaking out the chaos marines, crushing the rhino in his fist and then throwing the wreckage back at the stunned marines.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/08 15:12:24
Subject: Stomp Attacks
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Which is AWESOME!
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/08 19:44:58
Subject: Stomp Attacks
|
 |
Mutilatin' Mad Dok
|
HawaiiMatt wrote: Kommissar Kel wrote:
And SJ: upon review of the guantlet; yes it specifically states the unit disembarks before the hurl, so you can target the unit with the blast.
Now I picture a titan picking up a rhino, shaking out the chaos marines, crushing the rhino in his fist and then throwing the wreckage back at the stunned marines.
And the best 40k imagery award goes to...
|
|
 |
 |
|