Switch Theme:

Is there any reason why I can't take a dual CAD list?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Lead-Footed Trukkboy Driver





United Kingdom

Hi all,

So I was playing a game yesterday and an odd scenario came up:

I casually mentioned that I had a dual CAD list. My opponent said that, while he would overlook it for this game, he did not believe this was legal, though he accepted that you could take an allied or formation detachment. He said that our local GW manager agreed with him.

This sounded odd to me as I always thought you could take whatever detachments you liked as long as they were legal and came within the points allowance.

Am I missing something?
   
Made in us
Tunneling Trygon






Only in Tournaments that don't allow it and other places that specifically ban it. It is legal according to the rulebook, anyone that says differently is using a House Rule.
   
Made in au
Liche Priest Hierophant







Unless there's a house rule at the store, you aren't missing anything. Dual CAD is totally legal.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




If you are playing a bound army, that army can be made up of as many Detachments as you wish (A CAD being a type of detachment)

Only houserules or your opponent can stop you, essentially.
   
Made in gb
Lead-Footed Trukkboy Driver





United Kingdom

Ok, cheers guys
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






"There is no limit to the number of Detachments a Battle-forged army can include and you can use any mixture of Detachments you have available..." -RB p118, 'Detachments'

"You can include any number and type of Detachments in a Battle-forged army provided you have sufficient units." -RB p120, 'Selecting Detachments'.

Your opponent either had no idea what he was talking about, or he was using house rules that he didn't bother to tell you about.
   
Made in gb
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Englandia

 Cheexsta wrote:
"There is no limit to the number of Detachments a Battle-forged army can include and you can use any mixture of Detachments you have available..." -RB p118, 'Detachments'

"You can include any number and type of Detachments in a Battle-forged army provided you have sufficient units." -RB p120, 'Selecting Detachments'.

Your opponent either had no idea what he was talking about, or he was using house rules that he didn't bother to tell you about.


^This, really.
I imagine they might have their heads in a 6th edition mindset still.
In 6th you could only take dual primary detachments (now CADs) at 2000+ points.
In 7th, as long as you fill the required amount (1HQ 2 troops in this case), you could take 1000 CADS providing it also fits inside your points limit.


You cannot however take an Allied Detachment (the rulebook's 1HQ 1 Troop) if it has the same faction as your Primary Detachment (the one with your warlord).
Your opponent may have been thinking Allied Detachment (again, from the rulebook) = allied detachment (or allies), the "slang" name for any detachment that's not your Primary.

If I sound like I'm being a condescending butthole, I'm not. Read my reply as neutrally as possible, please and thank you. 
   
Made in br
Fireknife Shas'el




Lisbon, Portugal

Barring house rules and points limits, nothing.

AI & BFG: / BMG: Mr. Freeze, Deathstroke / Battletech: SR, OWA / Fallout Factions: BoS / HGB: Caprice / Malifaux: Arcanists, Guild, Outcasts / MCP: Mutants / SAGA: Ordensstaat / SW Legion: CIS / WWX: Union

 Unit1126PLL wrote:
"FW is unbalanced and going to ruin tournaments."
"Name one where it did that."
"IT JUST DOES OKAY!"

 Shadenuat wrote:
Voted Astra Militarum for a chance for them to get nerfed instead of my own army.
 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

Some people are still stuck in 6th Edition, it seems.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

 Cheexsta wrote:
"There is no limit to the number of Detachments a Battle-forged army can include and you can use any mixture of Detachments you have available..." -RB p118, 'Detachments'

"You can include any number and type of Detachments in a Battle-forged army provided you have sufficient units." -RB p120, 'Selecting Detachments'.

Your opponent either had no idea what he was talking about, or he was using house rules that he didn't bother to tell you about.


"There is no limit to the number of Detachments a Battle-forged army can include"

It can't really be more explicit. Just show them the Rulebook.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/06/15 15:34:29


DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




For completions sake, Horus Heresy games using the Age of Darkness ruleset, still conform to the 6th ed style of one primary detachment and one allied detachment.

DFTT 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






 BlackTalos wrote:
 Cheexsta wrote:
"There is no limit to the number of Detachments a Battle-forged army can include and you can use any mixture of Detachments you have available..." -RB p118, 'Detachments'

"You can include any number and type of Detachments in a Battle-forged army provided you have sufficient units." -RB p120, 'Selecting Detachments'.

Your opponent either had no idea what he was talking about, or he was using house rules that he didn't bother to tell you about.


"There is no limit to the number of Detachments a Battle-forged army can include"

It can't really be more explicit. Just show them the Rulebook.


To be fair, while I agree with all the replies in this thread 99.95% it could actually be more explicit. It does not necessarily follow that from "There is no limit to the number of Detachments a Battle-forged army can include and you can use any mixture of Detachments you have available..." you can take a repeat of any given detachment. For example If I said "There is no limit to the number of shirts Jimmy can wear at once and Jimmy can wear any mixture of shirts he has available." it does not mean jimmy must be capable of wearing the same shirt twice.

Most of us never interpreted it that way because when 7th edition launched with just the 2 types of detachments it was clearly a silly interpretation. A new player picking up he book for the 1st time today and being presented with literally dozens of detachment options might not see it as silly.

While I agree 100% the intent is clear, you may take duplicate detachments, it is not explicitly stated.
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

 DJGietzen wrote:

To be fair, while I agree with all the replies in this thread 99.95% it could actually be more explicit. It does not necessarily follow that from "There is no limit to the number of Detachments a Battle-forged army can include and you can use any mixture of Detachments you have available..." you can take a repeat of any given detachment. For example If I said "There is no limit to the number of shirts Jimmy can wear at once and Jimmy can wear any mixture of shirts he has available." it does not mean jimmy must be capable of wearing the same shirt twice.

Most of us never interpreted it that way because when 7th edition launched with just the 2 types of detachments it was clearly a silly interpretation. A new player picking up he book for the 1st time today and being presented with literally dozens of detachment options might not see it as silly.

While I agree 100% the intent is clear, you may take duplicate detachments, it is not explicitly stated.

Any number of detachments without any specific limitation listed is rather explicit, don't you think?

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut





The Golden Throne

Perfectly legal.
   
Made in gb
Excited Doom Diver





Charistoph wrote:
 DJGietzen wrote:

To be fair, while I agree with all the replies in this thread 99.95% it could actually be more explicit. It does not necessarily follow that from "There is no limit to the number of Detachments a Battle-forged army can include and you can use any mixture of Detachments you have available..." you can take a repeat of any given detachment. For example If I said "There is no limit to the number of shirts Jimmy can wear at once and Jimmy can wear any mixture of shirts he has available." it does not mean jimmy must be capable of wearing the same shirt twice.

Most of us never interpreted it that way because when 7th edition launched with just the 2 types of detachments it was clearly a silly interpretation. A new player picking up he book for the 1st time today and being presented with literally dozens of detachment options might not see it as silly.

While I agree 100% the intent is clear, you may take duplicate detachments, it is not explicitly stated.

Any number of detachments without any specific limitation listed is rather explicit, don't you think?
It's not explicit at all. It's very clear, but the ability to take two of the same detachment is implicit rather than explicit, but in order to be explicit it would need to actually say "Note you can take more than one instance of a given detachment, such as the Combined Arms Detachment."

Of course, this is referring to an undefined set (the set of all detachments available) so implicit rules are actually more appropriate than explicit ones here.
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

Aelyn wrote:
Charistoph wrote:
 DJGietzen wrote:

To be fair, while I agree with all the replies in this thread 99.95% it could actually be more explicit. It does not necessarily follow that from "There is no limit to the number of Detachments a Battle-forged army can include and you can use any mixture of Detachments you have available..." you can take a repeat of any given detachment. For example If I said "There is no limit to the number of shirts Jimmy can wear at once and Jimmy can wear any mixture of shirts he has available." it does not mean jimmy must be capable of wearing the same shirt twice.

Most of us never interpreted it that way because when 7th edition launched with just the 2 types of detachments it was clearly a silly interpretation. A new player picking up he book for the 1st time today and being presented with literally dozens of detachment options might not see it as silly.

While I agree 100% the intent is clear, you may take duplicate detachments, it is not explicitly stated.

Any number of detachments without any specific limitation listed is rather explicit, don't you think?
It's not explicit at all. It's very clear, but the ability to take two of the same detachment is implicit rather than explicit, but in order to be explicit it would need to actually say "Note you can take more than one instance of a given detachment, such as the Combined Arms Detachment."

Of course, this is referring to an undefined set (the set of all detachments available) so implicit rules are actually more appropriate than explicit ones here.

The general permission is explicit. You may take any number of detachments. The lack of restriction is implicit.

Why is general permission not considered explicit?

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Because the general permission to which you are referring is not stated clearly and in detail, leaving no room for confusion or doubt, because it is not stated at all.
You're realizing this permission, to take two of the same detachment, exists because you are making a reasonable deduction.
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

 DJGietzen wrote:
Because the general permission to which you are referring is not stated clearly and in detail, leaving no room for confusion or doubt, because it is not stated at all.
You're realizing this permission, to take two of the same detachment, exists because you are making a reasonable deduction.

I'm sorry that "any number" isn't explicit enough for you. The only reason it would be inexplicit is if you were trained to see "any number" as anything but infinite.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





East Coast, USA

Charistoph wrote:
 DJGietzen wrote:
Because the general permission to which you are referring is not stated clearly and in detail, leaving no room for confusion or doubt, because it is not stated at all.
You're realizing this permission, to take two of the same detachment, exists because you are making a reasonable deduction.

I'm sorry that "any number" isn't explicit enough for you. The only reason it would be inexplicit is if you were trained to see "any number" as anything but infinite.


In all fairness, DJGietzen isn't wrong. Explicitly stating that you can take multiples of the same detachment is unambiguous. Saying you can take any number of detachments leaves the door open for a "can I take multiples of the same" question.

Having said that, the BRB is very clearly worded. The only reason this is still an issue this far into 7th edition is that people already "know" how armies are built from previous editions. Confirmation bias trips them up and they can't understand 7th because it's a bid departure from 6th and older.

Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com


https://www.thingiverse.com/KrisWall/about


Completed Trades With: ultraatma 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

 Kriswall wrote:
In all fairness, DJGietzen isn't wrong. Explicitly stating that you can take multiples of the same detachment is unambiguous. Saying you can take any number of detachments leaves the door open for a "can I take multiples of the same" question.

That depends on your training. Courtesy almost demands asking if you can take more even with no limit stated, especially when there were limitations in the past. It's one of the reasons people instinctively put the "one" in "choose which to use".

The English is explicit. It is only we who put the ambiguousness in to it.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: