Switch Theme:

Challenges and wound overflow  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Dakka Veteran





I remember when Dakka Dakka had higher standards for rules discussions.

Not just "it doesn't say I can't"

1850 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1000 and counting 
   
Made in us
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine






As stated, context my friend. You choose to ignore it
   
Made in us
Sister Vastly Superior



Boston, MA

Lt.Soundwave wrote:As stated, context my friend. You choose to ignore it


This is the equivalent of saying "nu-uh!". Do you have anything constructive to add?

What context am I missing? Truthfully, all I see is you making my point for me.

Edit: Here, I'll even repost this in case you missed it.
quiestdeus wrote:-Lt. S

I do not think you realize this but you are agreeing with us.

Edit - at least everything you said about the usage of "only". All of my previous points and description still stand to refute the beginning of your post about always being in base contact.

You agree. Your very own example points out that "The committee can make its decision by Friday of next week only if it receives a copy of the latest report" does NOT mean the committee is always making a decision by every Friday, every week. A condition on the statement follows, and thus the statement MUST be read to include said condition. Models are NOT always in base contact with each other, they are only not in contact with any other model.

Do you disagree with your own chosen reference? Otherwise you agree with why the models are not always in base to base contact.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Lt.Soundwave wrote:

You are fixating on the definition "only" which from your perspective shifts the entire meaning of the other lines.

So lets look at that:


[Middle English, from Old English nlc : n, one; see one + -lc, having the form of; see -ly1.]

Usage Note: When used as an adverb, only should be placed with care to avoid ambiguity. Generally this means having only adjoin the word or words that it limits. Variation in the placement of only can change the meaning of the sentence, as the following examples show: Dictators respect only force; they are not moved by words. Dictators only respect force; they do not worship it. She picked up the receiver only when he entered, not before. She only picked up the receiver when he entered; she didn't dial the number. Though strict grammarians insist that the rule for placement of only should always be followed, there are occasions when placement of only earlier in the sentence seems much more natural, and if the context is sufficiently clear, there is no chance of being misunderstood. In the following example only is placed according to the rule: The committee can make its decision by Friday of next week only if it receives a copy of the latest report. Placement of only earlier in the sentence, immediately after can, would warn the reader that a condition on the statement follows.

As has been stated: "context, is everything."


FURTHERMORE (sorry for the repeated edits) you point out "Generally this means having only adjoin the word or words that it limits."

What word(s) does only adjoin? "base to base contact" and "with each other".

"Contact" and "With". You cannot split up the 2 statements, as I pointed out above, because "only" provides context as to the base to base contact.

"For the duration of the challenge, these two models are considered to be in base contact only with each other." is not the same as:
"For the duration of the challenge, these two models are considered to be in base contact."
"For the duration of the challenge, these two models are considered to be only with each other."

Only modifies the words it is adjoined with, you have to read them with their modifier, models are not always in base contact they are only in base contact with no other models.

If that is still enough, more from your own statement:
"there are occasions when placement of only earlier in the sentence seems much more natural,"
Earlier, not later. That is even more proof of how the sentence must be interpreted.

Moving "only" earlier in the sentence to make it feel more natural, results in: "For the duration of the challenge, only these two models are considered to be in base contact with each other."

Would you still argue that meant the models are ALWAYS in base contact with each other? Or ONLY in base contact with each other? I can see how you can misinterpret "always" from the current verbage, but how can you possibly swap one word for another entirely? If we are completely swapping words what stops English from breaking down into "banana kumquat Jose Canseco"? How do you banana kumquat Jose Canseco a challenge?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/22 05:09:53


 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Are we back to arguing if being in b2b contact is a requirement for being in a challenge ?
   
Made in us
Sister Vastly Superior



Boston, MA

There is no argument that models are in base to base contact at the start of a challenge. Folks are still trying to prove that models are always in base to base contact, which is incorrect.

 
   
Made in us
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine






We're at the selectively ignoring portions of an example portion.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




quiestdeus wrote:There is no argument that models are in base to base contact at the start of a challenge. Folks are still trying to prove that models are always in base to base contact, which is incorrect.


If part of the requirement of being in a challenge is being in b2b and you are told , the challenge is still considered to be ongoing ....
   
Made in us
Squishy Squig




California

kambien wrote:
quiestdeus wrote:There is no argument that models are in base to base contact at the start of a challenge. Folks are still trying to prove that models are always in base to base contact, which is incorrect.


If part of the requirement of being in a challenge is being in b2b and you are told , the challenge is still considered to be ongoing ....


considered to be ongoing as in the rules for outside forces still stands, ie. wounds from other attackers cannot be allocated against either character. Not as in, you stay base to base with a model with zero wounds, which we are told to remove from play

Commissar "Glory to the first man to die!"
Guardsman "...But what if the first man to die is on the other side, does that mean he gets glory?"
*Commissar aims at guardsman and shoots* "Well that problem's solved."  
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




EAFChunk wrote:
kambien wrote:
quiestdeus wrote:There is no argument that models are in base to base contact at the start of a challenge. Folks are still trying to prove that models are always in base to base contact, which is incorrect.


If part of the requirement of being in a challenge is being in b2b and you are told , the challenge is still considered to be ongoing ....


considered to be ongoing as in the rules for outside forces still stands, ie. wounds from other attackers cannot be allocated against either character. Not as in, you stay base to base with a model with zero wounds, which we are told to remove from play


why are you only doing part of the requirements - considered to be ongoing as in the rules for outside forces still stands, ie. wounds from other attackers cannot be allocated against either character - and not everything ?

   
Made in us
Veteran Wolf Guard Squad Leader




Pacific NW

Lt.Soundwave wrote:I'd like to hear cowmonauts take on it, as one of the more vocal points of opposition it seems like he may be shifting position. An important milestone for the debate really. It would only be polite to allow that person time to ponder and reply in a more in depth fashion after they have had some time to consider. Will opinions be swayed? Perhaps, perhaps not. However i feel that due discourse is its own reward regardless of outcome.

Thanks for that by the way. I definitely needed to step back for a bit to mull things over.

Greg_Hager wrote:I wholeheartedly believe you are reading to much interpretation into it, and can't see what the words actually say because you want it to say something that it doesn't.

"Are considered to be in base to base contact until the end of the phase."

If the words stated that, then you would have a compelling argument. However they don't. Once you add on "with only each other" it becomes clear that this is only modifying who is in base to base with who, and not arbitrarily making you stay base to base with a slain model.

This touches smartly on the issue. The sentence this debate is hung up on is apparently a little ambiguous...

"For the duration of the challenge the combatants are considered to be in base contact only with each other."

Without trying to be a braggart, I know I have a more than solid grasp of English. To me, this sentence does not, in of itself, exclude the possibility of the combatants not being in base contact with anyone. If it had said "only in base contact with" rather than "in base contact only with", or better still "with and only with", that would be a different story.

It is a very subtle difference, and one I had been taking for granted as obvious.

'What about the first part?' I here you ask. "For the duration of..." Well, that frankly doesn't change the meaning of the rest of the sentence. It tells us nothing more than it says, and given Challenges can last several turns, does not mean much.

There does not seem to be anything that explicitly overrules the Zero Level Characteristics rules. Given the relative even split of those for and against we will probably have to wait for an FAQ update. I myself still read the rules as written as wounds overflowing.

   
Made in us
Ultramarine Scout with Sniper Rifle



Japan

kambien wrote:why are you only doing part of the requirements - considered to be ongoing as in the rules for outside forces still stands, ie. wounds from other attackers cannot be allocated against either character - and not everything ?

We are fulfilling all requirements. To be in base to base contact for the entire phase (length of the challenge) is not a requirement. Only NOT being in base to base with anyone other than the other challenger is a requirement. This is the entire argument at this point.

EAFChunk wrote:
kambien wrote:
quiestdeus wrote:There is no argument that models are in base to base contact at the start of a challenge. Folks are still trying to prove that models are always in base to base contact, which is incorrect.


If part of the requirement of being in a challenge is being in b2b and you are told , the challenge is still considered to be ongoing ....


considered to be ongoing as in the rules for outside forces still stands, ie. wounds from other attackers cannot be allocated against either character. Not as in, you stay base to base with a model with zero wounds, which we are told to remove from play

Exactly. I do not see how you can think that you have to remain base to base. See above (and below).

Lt.Soundwave wrote:We're at the selectively ignoring portions of an example portion.

We're at people being extremely closed minded. That's what we're at.

quiestdeus wrote:There is no argument that models are in base to base contact at the start of a challenge. Folks are still trying to prove that models are always in base to base contact, which is incorrect.

And again, this is the argument. No where does it state that you remain in base to base contact for the entire phase...only that you can only be base to base with the other character in the challenge.

Haven't we said this a time or two? Round robin goes full circle...lol
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Greg_Hager wrote:
kambien wrote:why are you only doing part of the requirements - considered to be ongoing as in the rules for outside forces still stands, ie. wounds from other attackers cannot be allocated against either character - and not everything ?

We are fulfilling all requirements. To be in base to base contact for the entire phase (length of the challenge) is not a requirement. Only NOT being in base to base with anyone other than the other challenger is a requirement. This is the entire argument at this point.

so according to you i am allowed to be in a challenge and not be in base to base contact because i don't feel like it , as long as i'm not in b2b with anyone else

   
Made in us
Ultramarine Scout with Sniper Rifle



Japan

kambien wrote:so according to you i am allowed to be in a challenge and not be in base to base contact because i don't feel like it , as long as i'm not in b2b with anyone else

Pretty sure you're trolling at this point in time, but I'll bite anyway.

Not at all. You are required to move them into base to base contact, and if that is impossible, just consider them to be in base to base.

   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Greg_Hager wrote:
kambien wrote:so according to you i am allowed to be in a challenge and not be in base to base contact because i don't feel like it , as long as i'm not in b2b with anyone else

Pretty sure you're trolling at this point in time, but I'll bite anyway.

Not at all. You are required to move them into base to base contact, and if that is impossible, just consider them to be in base to base.


so it is a requirement for the "challenge" . Then when it tells you to consider the challenges as ongoing , why are they no longer in b2b ?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/22 07:22:19


 
   
Made in us
Ultramarine Scout with Sniper Rifle



Japan

kambien wrote:so it is a requirement for the "challenge" . Then when it tells you to consider the challenges as ongoing , why are they no longer in b2b ?

Negative sir. It is a requirement for all close combat, not a special challenge rule. Being in a challenge does not change this. It only changes the fact that you can not be in base to base contact with the other members of the character's squad. Hence why the rule states "considered to be in base to base contact with only each other." When a character is slain, that is how you are not longer in base to base. Not a single place in the rule set does it state you do not follow the basic rules.
   
Made in us
Veteran Wolf Guard Squad Leader




Pacific NW

kambien wrote:so it is a requirement for the "challenge" . Then when it tells you to consider the challenges as ongoing , why are they no longer in b2b ?


Because one is dead and removed from play. Please refer to my post about 5 replies ago, i believe you may have missed it.

   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Greg_Hager wrote:
kambien wrote:so it is a requirement for the "challenge" . Then when it tells you to consider the challenges as ongoing , why are they no longer in b2b ?

Negative sir. It is a requirement for all close combat, not a special challenge rule. Being in a challenge does not change this. It only changes the fact that you can not be in base to base contact with the other members of the character's squad. Hence why the rule states "considered to be in base to base contact with only each other." When a character is slain, that is how you are not longer in base to base. Not a single place in the rule set does it state you do not follow the basic rules.

Sorry a bit lost.
Are you saying that the paragraph of "fighting a challenge" are not special rules for challenges ?
   
Made in us
Ultramarine Scout with Sniper Rifle



Japan

kambien wrote:
Greg_Hager wrote:
kambien wrote:so it is a requirement for the "challenge" . Then when it tells you to consider the challenges as ongoing , why are they no longer in b2b ?

Negative sir. It is a requirement for all close combat, not a special challenge rule. Being in a challenge does not change this. It only changes the fact that you can not be in base to base contact with the other members of the character's squad. Hence why the rule states "considered to be in base to base contact with only each other." When a character is slain, that is how you are not longer in base to base. Not a single place in the rule set does it state you do not follow the basic rules.

Sorry a bit lost.
Are you saying that the paragraph of "fighting a challenge" are not special rules for challenges ?

Yes they are. They are advanced rules to use in addition to the basic close combat rules.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

How about premise #1?

During a Challenge one of the two combatants are moved:

If we can't get them into base contact they are considered to be in base contact for the purposes of the ensuing fight. (True or false?)

If we can get them into base contact then they are in base contact. (True or false?)

Premise #1 So they are, or are considered to be in base contact.

Do we agree with Premise #1?

Premise #2 the Challenge lasts until the end of the phase even if one is slain.

Do we agree with Premise #2?

Premise #3 for the duration of the challenge the Challenger is in base contact only with the Challengee and Vice Versa.

Do we agree with Premise #3?

This message was edited 7 times. Last update was at 2012/07/22 08:09:34


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




DR seems to make my thoughts readable somehow.
   
Made in us
Ultramarine Scout with Sniper Rifle



Japan

DeathReaper wrote:How about premise #1?

During a Challenge one of the two combatants are moved:

If we can't get them into base contact they are considered to be in base contact for the purposes of the ensuing fight. (True or false?)

If we can get them into base contact then they are in base contact. (True or false?)

Premise #1 So they are, or are considered to be in base contact.

Do we agree with Premise #1?

Premise #2 the Challenge lasts until the end of the phase even if one is slain.

Do we agree with Premise #2?

Premise #3 for the duration of the challenge the Challenger is in base contact only with the Challengee and Vice Versa.

Do we agree with Premise #3?

1. Yes.
2. Yes, but it only ends at the end of the phase if one character is slain.
3. Yes.

And yet, you have not a single point that says they have to remain in base to base contact after a model is slain.

Here's a question for you. Let's say we have Orks and Space Marines battling it out, with a challenge ongoing, as well as the squads going at it in close combat. The characters make all save rolls, and therefor the challenge is ongoing until one is slain, correct? Now, the Space Marines squad totally obliterates the Ork squad, killing them all. They fail their moral test and flee combat. Is the Nob still "considered to be base to base" with the Sergeant since the challenge is ongoing until the end of the phase a character is slain in? No. Why? Because of the normal close combat rules. Even though your precious quote you keep making says they have to be in base to base until the end of the phase, no matter if they are physically in base to base or not. Why is it okay for them to be out of base to base in this case when they're both alive and the challenge is still ongoing, but they can't be out of base to base when one is slain?
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Okay now we are getting somewhere.

So Premise 1,2, and 3 are all agreed with. (With the caveat that if no one dies the challenge continues to the next phase).

"in base contact only with each other." can be written like this as well and it has the same meaning (in base contact with each other, and not anyone else).

If you agree to Premise 3, you will see why they are considered in B2B even if one is slain, since for the duration, the Challenger is in Base contact with the Challengee, and vice versa.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Ultramarine Scout with Sniper Rifle



Japan

DeathReaper wrote:If you agree to Premise 3, you will see why they are considered in B2B even if one is slain, since for the duration, the Challenger is in Base contact with the Challengee, and vice versa.

Nope. Not at all. You are mistakenly taking the exact same saying and thinking it means something it doesn't. You can not believe that because they are not allowed to be in contact with anyone else for the duration of the challenge(phase) that they have to remain in contact with each other. Just because you can't do something doesn't mean you have to do the opposite of it...that's about the simplest way to break it down Barney style.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
And what about my question?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/22 08:41:21


 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Greg_Hager wrote:And yet, you have not a single point that says they have to remain in base to base contact after a model is slain.

If you are required to be in base contact ( fighting a challenge) and then are told to ", the challenge is still considered to be ongoing until the end of the phase" yes you do . it's one of the requirements for a challenge.

Greg_Hager wrote: Here's a question for you. Let's say we have Orks and Space Marines battling it out, with a challenge ongoing, as well as the squads going at it in close combat. The characters make all save rolls, and therefor the challenge is ongoing until one is slain, correct?
Incorrect. The challenge can go to round two or the unit can break and flee or the challenge goes to round two and glorious intervention is used.

Greg_Hager wrote: Now, the Space Marines squad totally obliterates the Ork squad, killing them all. They fail their moral test and flee combat. Is the Nob still "considered to be base to base" with the Sergeant since the challenge is ongoing until the end of the phase a character is slain in? No. Why?
Useing the challenge ends when one is slain is again a inccorect assumption. "Round two" pg 65 gives more exceptions. Also would this not be "end of phase" at this point ?

Greg_Hager wrote:Because of the normal close combat rules. Even though your precious quote you keep making says they have to be in base to base until the end of the phase, no matter if they are physically in base to base or not. Why is it okay for them to be out of base to base in this case when they're both alive and the challenge is still ongoing, but they can't be out of base to base when one is slain?

They are allowed to break combat and flee even if there was a challenge. "If both competitors survive a challenge, and neither side fled from the combat , then they continue to fight in the next round of close combat."


   
Made in us
Ultramarine Scout with Sniper Rifle



Japan

kambien wrote:If you are required to be in base contact ( fighting a challenge) and then are told to ", the challenge is still considered to be ongoing until the end of the phase" yes you do . it's one of the requirements for a challenge.

Negative. You are moved into base to base yes to signify the challenge, no where does it say you are to remain in base to base for the duration of the challenge. It states you are considered to be base to base with only each other for the duration of the challenge. IE: you are considered to be in base to base contact with no one else for the duration of the challenge

kambien wrote:Incorrect. The challenge can go to round two or the unit can break and flee or the challenge goes to round two and glorious intervention is used.

Ummm, re-read the challenge rules. Challenge is issued, and accepted. You move the combatants into base to base, or if this is impossible, as close as possible maintaining unit coherency and assume them to be in base to base contact. They're also considered to be base to base with no one else (IE: only with each other). Now, pg 65 'Round Two' states that if they survive the challenge, and neither side fled, they continue to fight in the next round. So, Glorious Intervention CAN be used to swap out your character in the challenge, but it's not necessary therefore does not have to be used. The challenge continues, you do not have the option to break from the challenge just because you want to for whatever reason, or because it is the end of the phase.

kambien wrote:Useing the challenge ends when one is slain is again a inccorect assumption. "Round two" pg 65 gives more exceptions. Also would this not be "end of phase" at this point ?

No, it is not an incorrect assumption. It is fact in the rule book. The challenge only ends at the end of a phase when a character in the challenge was slain, or the character's unit flees from combat. If a Sweeping Advance catches the fleeing unit with the special rule of 'And they shall know no fear,' then you have to reissue the challenge.

kambien wrote:They are allowed to break combat and flee even if there was a challenge. "If both competitors survive a challenge, and neither side fled from the combat , then they continue to fight in the next round of close combat."

But isn't that in direct violation of your "they have to be in base to base contact" rule? See my quote from you at the beginning of this post. If you state that once a challenge is issued and accepted, the models are to remain in base to base contact for the entire challenge, how can they not be in base to base contact and flee with their unit? I know they are allowed to break combat and flee because of the basic rules saying so.

Much like the basic rules state if at any point, a model's strength, toughness, or wounds are reduced to zero, it is removed from play as a casualty. And you can not be base to base with a model not in play. They also go on to state that once it is removed, to continue allocating unsaved Wounds to the closest model until there are no more Wounds left, or the whole unit has been removed as casualties. Since the rules restrict what models you can be in base to base contact with, not how long you will be in base to base with a model, normal wound allocation must be used.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Greg_Hager wrote:And yet, you have not a single point that says they have to remain in base to base contact after a model is slain.
kambien wrote:If you are required to be in base contact ( fighting a challenge) and then are told to ", the challenge is still considered to be ongoing until the end of the phase" yes you do . it's one of the requirements for a challenge.

Negative. You are moved into base to base yes to signify the challenge, no where does it say you are to remain in base to base for the duration of the challenge. It states you are considered to be base to base with only each other for the duration of the challenge. IE: you are considered to be in base to base contact with no one else for the duration of the challenge
Incorrect , you signify the start of the challenge by accepting it ( unless your a single char unit, no choice ) . You then follow the instructions for "fighting a challenge" aka moving the models into b2b or assume they are in b2b. You follow the rules for outside forces ect. That is the challenge , and that is what needs to be "considered to be ongoing"

Greg_Hager wrote:Here's a question for you. Let's say we have Orks and Space Marines battling it out, with a challenge ongoing, as well as the squads going at it in close combat. The characters make all save rolls, and therefor the challenge is ongoing until one is slain, correct?
kambien wrote:Incorrect. The challenge can go to round two or the unit can break and flee or the challenge goes to round two and glorious intervention is used.

Ummm, re-read the challenge rules. Challenge is issued, and accepted. You move the combatants into base to base, or if this is impossible, as close as possible maintaining unit coherency and assume them to be in base to base contact. They're also considered to be base to base with no one else (IE: only with each other). Now, pg 65 'Round Two' states that if they survive the challenge, and neither side fled, they continue to fight in the next round. So, Glorious Intervention CAN be used to swap out your character in the challenge, but it's not necessary therefore does not have to be used. The challenge continues, you do not have the option to break from the challenge just because you want to for whatever reason, or because it is the end of the phase.
Like i said incorrect. The only things the rulebook says can happen is , challenge goes to a 2nd round , challenge goes to a 2nd round and another model does glorious intervention or the unit flees. It's all listed under "Round Two". There fore the challenge is not ongoing until one is slain.

Greg_Hager wrote:Now, the Space Marines squad totally obliterates the Ork squad, killing them all. They fail their moral test and flee combat. Is the Nob still "considered to be base to base" with the Sergeant since the challenge is ongoing until the end of the phase a character is slain in[? No. Why?
kambien wrote:Useing the challenge ends when one is slain is again a inccorect assumption. "Round two" pg 65 gives more exceptions. Also would this not be "end of phase" at this point ?

No, it is not an incorrect assumption. It is fact in the rule book. The challenge only ends at the end of a phase when a character in the challenge was slain, or the character's unit flees from combat. If a Sweeping Advance catches the fleeing unit with the special rule of 'And they shall know no fear,' then you have to reissue the challenge.
You disagree with me then go on to prove my point that other things can happen .
Greg_Hager wrote:Because of the normal close combat rules. Even though your precious quote you keep making says they have to be in base to base until the end of the phase, no matter if they are physically in base to base or not. Why is it okay for them to be out of base to base in this case when they're both alive and the challenge is still ongoing, but they can't be out of base to base when one is slain?
kambien wrote:They are allowed to break combat and flee even if there was a challenge. "If both competitors survive a challenge, and neither side fled from the combat , then they continue to fight in the next round of close combat."

But isn't that in direct violation of your "they have to be in base to base contact" rule? See my quote from you at the beginning of this post. If you state that once a challenge is issued and accepted, the models are to remain in base to base contact for the entire challenge, how can they not be in base to base contact and flee with their unit? I know they are allowed to break combat and flee because of the basic rules saying so.

I never said the entire challenge , the rules says phase . When does the phase end ?
Greg_Hager wrote:Much like the basic rules state if at any point, a model's strength, toughness, or wounds are reduced to zero, it is removed from play as a casualty. And you can not be base to base with a model not in play. They also go on to state that once it is removed, to continue allocating unsaved Wounds to the closest model until there are no more Wounds left, or the whole unit has been removed as casualties. Since the rules restrict what models you can be in base to base contact with, not how long you will be in base to base with a model, normal wound allocation must be used.

You are correct on most points however if the challenge is considered to be ongoing until the end of the phase and you had to be in b2b for the challenge , you are not following all the steps for being in a challenge

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/22 11:04:25


 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




[

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/22 11:02:41


 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Please lock this threat.

No one argues that Squad wounds carry over to the challenge. Why would Challenge wounds carry over to the squads?

Because people are fishing. They know how this is supposed to work but they want to destroy a Seargeant with 1 wound and then kill more of the unit. And not have to worry about the rest of the unit doing damage to them.

It's really cowardly. I would think that people would want to have real fights. Not just try to abuse a rule so their IC can punk a 1 wound guy to kill an entire squad without the chance of being killed. Sad really!

Ahhh did your IC have to go through 2 rounds of CC instead of one?

I mean you do realize that if you kill the enemy on your charge you are out in the open on the opponents turn? Challenges just saved you from this.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/22 11:52:16


1850 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1000 and counting 
   
Made in us
Squishy Squig




California


kambien wrote:I never said the entire challenge , the rules says phase . When does the phase end ?



assuming that example assault that Greg made a few posts ago is the only assault ( that being that there are no other assaults currently going on). the assault phase would end after the victorious unit consolidates. So, again how would the unit flee combat if the character is suppose to remain in base contact with the other character, until the end of the phase, if the last part of the phase is the consolidation movement?

Commissar "Glory to the first man to die!"
Guardsman "...But what if the first man to die is on the other side, does that mean he gets glory?"
*Commissar aims at guardsman and shoots* "Well that problem's solved."  
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




He is just "considered to be", not necessarily actually in base to base.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: