I was running a unit of handgunners and had an opponent trying to get into close combat. Handgunners get a free round of shooting against an enemy unit that "ends its charge move within 3 inches".
So instead of charging he moves his models up to the three inches away minimum. I'm expecting them to charge, but he holds them in that position. Now when it's time for us to start doing our combats, he starts to pile this unit into
CC, saying I can't shoot him because he didn't charge. Why exactly would these units get to pile in if they didn't charge?
First off, emphasis mine,
When you move a model in the movement phase, you may not move within 3" of any enemy models.
Then,
Any unit that has charged or has models within 3" of an enemy unit can attack....
Note that a unit that moves to three inches away is not the same as a model within three inches, you can never move "within 3 inches"
When does piling in occur then? Well, the rules say an "attack" is when you pile in.
An attack is split into two steps: first the unit piles in, and then you make attacks with the models in the unit.
So piling in is defined as step 1 of the attack, thus being part of the attack... you can't pile in if you're not attacking, and you can't attack if you're not within 3", and you can't be within 3" if you don't charge, correct?
I just wanted to check that all my logic is sound, that I'm not missing anything, that you can't try to sneak in without taking my overwatch. Let me know what you think.
I got a general consensus from the guys at my store, but I have some people agreeing with the opponent.