Switch Theme:

Unit Coherency and Move Through Cover  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Pyromaniac Hellhound Pilot






Can a friendly unit fit inside another friendly unit 2 inch coherency?

aba
aba
aba

If a and b are seperate friendly units can you do this? Also if you failed a morale save can you fit in the middle of a unit and avoid being trapped? (if you dont mind telling me the page I can find it in the rule book)

Do move through cover units suffer - 2 to their charge move?

   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Palm Beach, FL

You can, but:

1. If the unit falls back and can't move it's distance in any direction to get closer to the table edge, it's removed from play.

2. The charging models would have to physically go around other models.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 MasterSlowPoke wrote:
You can, but:

1. If the unit falls back and can't move it's distance in any direction to get closer to the table edge, it's removed from play..
(Emphasis mine).

where does it say this? (Specifically the underlined)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/08/28 04:13:15


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Krazed Killa Kan






State of Jefferson

Yes.

Yes.

Yes, but you can't move the other unit. "It must go around [the model]" per BRB. If you can't place one... destroyed.

No, per BRB special rule.

I think that's all correct to my reading. Never really did it in a game as it seems like it should be illegal... but guess not.



Automatically Appended Next Post:
 DeathReaper wrote:
 MasterSlowPoke wrote:
You can, but:

1. If the unit falls back and can't move it's distance in any direction to get closer to the table edge, it's removed from play..
(Emphasis mine).

where does it say this? (Specifically the underlined)


BRB ==> MORALE ==> FALL BACK ==> 4th paragraph

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/08/28 04:37:41


 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Think he is picking at the use of 'the' instead of 'their.'

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

JinxDragon wrote:
Think he is picking at the use of 'the' instead of 'their.'


No. I wasn't.


The 4th graph states "Each model in the unit moves directly towards their own table edge by the shortest possible route. If playing a mission where there is no ‘own’ table edge, models move towards the closest table edge instead."

I don't see where they need to get closer to the table edge. They could end up further from their table edge and still have a legal fall back move right?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/08/28 05:01:50


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

If moving away from the table edge is the shortest route towards the table edge, i.e. they must move around something to do so, then sure.

Is that the point you're trying to make?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/08/28 05:05:54


 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Wonder why my brain keeps half reading things today....
Trapped! gives specific permission for the Unit to move away from their table edge.

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2015/08/28 06:01:53


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Krazed Killa Kan






State of Jefferson

yes. if you are retreating away from a squad and yall are fighting on a diagonally placed piece of inpassible terrain (as a valley) then yes, you'd move away from your table edge only so you may go around it ASAP.
   
Made in gb
Emboldened Warlock




Widnes UK

Yes you can do this and you can run between models in a friendly squad if there is at least enough room for your base to fit between the 2 models.
You aren't really going to find a specific rule quote as you are looking for the absence of a rule to say you can't, there wont be a specific rule to say you can. The closest I can find is in the 'trapped!' section of morale where it says you cant go within 1" of an enemy, but makes no mention 1" for allies.
No-one would suffer a penalty for moving through cover from this, but you do have to move around the bases of the other squad as you move them one at a time, so you would end up going a bit slower.

Ulthwe: 7500 points 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Eye of Terror

 Mr. Shine wrote:
If moving away from the table edge is the shortest route towards the table edge, i.e. they must move around something to do so, then sure.

Is that the point you're trying to make?


Double back = Auto dead

My blog... http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com

Facebook...
https://m.facebook.com/Terminus6Est/

DT:60+S++++G++++M+++B+++I+++Pw40k89/d#++D+++A++++/eWD150R++++T(T)DM+++ 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

 CKO wrote:
Can a friendly unit fit inside another friendly unit 2 inch coherency?

aba
aba
aba

Would Charging such a unit require a Multi-Charge, since you would invariably need to be getting within 1" of an enemy model? Obviously depending on base size, of course.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in ar
Regular Dakkanaut




If they are:

aba
aba
aba

All depends on the direction they are charging. If a charge right/left should be:
.................... a a...........................a
aba................b a .................b ....a ..a
aba . >> ......b a -- >> .......b...........a
aba.............a b .a................. b ....a..a


If the first line of a can get in base contact, then the rest could pile in later.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/08/28 17:03:47


 
   
Made in gb
Emboldened Warlock




Widnes UK

 Dozer Blades wrote:
 Mr. Shine wrote:
If moving away from the table edge is the shortest route towards the table edge, i.e. they must move around something to do so, then sure.

Is that the point you're trying to make?


Double back = Auto dead

How do you figure that? It doesn't say that anywhere, just that you must go to your table edge by the shortest route. It doesn't matter if that shortest route isn't very direct.

Ulthwe: 7500 points 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 Dozer Blades wrote:
 Mr. Shine wrote:
If moving away from the table edge is the shortest route towards the table edge, i.e. they must move around something to do so, then sure.

Is that the point you're trying to make?


Double back = Auto dead

That is a dinosaur of a rule that did not make it into 7th as far as I can tell.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Palm Beach, FL

 DeathReaper wrote:
JinxDragon wrote:
Think he is picking at the I don't see where they need to get closer to the table edge. They could end up further from their table edge and still have a legal fall back move right?


I would say that if the only path that lead to the table edge meant moving away from the table edge from a bird's eye view, then you're still moving closer to the table edge, albit on an unusual path.

Doubling back means you can't move 5" backwards and 6" forwards along the same path to avoid being trapped.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 MasterSlowPoke wrote:
JinxDragon wrote:
Think he is picking at the I don't see where they need to get closer to the table edge. They could end up further from their table edge and still have a legal fall back move right?


I would say that if the only path that lead to the table edge meant moving away from the table edge from a bird's eye view, then you're still moving closer to the table edge, albit on an unusual path.

Doubling back means you can't move 5" backwards and 6" forwards along the same path to avoid being trapped.



Where does it say that you can not double back?

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2015/08/28 22:17:15


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






@ Deathreaper
Rulebook, page 58, "Trapped! wrote:{...} The unit may move around these obstructions in such a way as to get back to their table edge by the shortest route, {...} even if this means moving away from their table edge. If the unit cannot perform a full Fall Back move in any direction without doubling back, it is destroyed
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: