Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/28 03:14:43
Subject: Unit Coherency and Move Through Cover
|
 |
Pyromaniac Hellhound Pilot
|
Can a friendly unit fit inside another friendly unit 2 inch coherency?
aba
aba
aba
If a and b are seperate friendly units can you do this? Also if you failed a morale save can you fit in the middle of a unit and avoid being trapped? (if you dont mind telling me the page I can find it in the rule book)
Do move through cover units suffer - 2 to their charge move?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/28 04:08:46
Subject: Unit Coherency and Move Through Cover
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
You can, but:
1. If the unit falls back and can't move it's distance in any direction to get closer to the table edge, it's removed from play.
2. The charging models would have to physically go around other models.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/28 04:13:02
Subject: Unit Coherency and Move Through Cover
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
MasterSlowPoke wrote:You can, but: 1. If the unit falls back and can't move it's distance in any direction to get closer to the table edge, it's removed from play..
(Emphasis mine). where does it say this? (Specifically the underlined)
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/08/28 04:13:15
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/28 04:18:44
Subject: Unit Coherency and Move Through Cover
|
 |
Krazed Killa Kan
|
Yes.
Yes.
Yes, but you can't move the other unit. "It must go around [the model]" per BRB. If you can't place one... destroyed.
No, per BRB special rule.
I think that's all correct to my reading. Never really did it in a game as it seems like it should be illegal... but guess not.
Automatically Appended Next Post: DeathReaper wrote: MasterSlowPoke wrote:You can, but:
1. If the unit falls back and can't move it's distance in any direction to get closer to the table edge, it's removed from play..
(Emphasis mine).
where does it say this? (Specifically the underlined)
BRB ==> MORALE ==> FALL BACK ==> 4th paragraph
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/08/28 04:37:41
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/28 04:49:11
Subject: Unit Coherency and Move Through Cover
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Think he is picking at the use of 'the' instead of 'their.'
|
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/28 04:58:42
Subject: Unit Coherency and Move Through Cover
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
No. I wasn't. The 4th graph states "Each model in the unit moves directly towards their own table edge by the shortest possible route. If playing a mission where there is no ‘own’ table edge, models move towards the closest table edge instead." I don't see where they need to get closer to the table edge. They could end up further from their table edge and still have a legal fall back move right?
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/08/28 05:01:50
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/28 05:05:25
Subject: Unit Coherency and Move Through Cover
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
If moving away from the table edge is the shortest route towards the table edge, i.e. they must move around something to do so, then sure.
Is that the point you're trying to make?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/08/28 05:05:54
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/28 05:55:48
Subject: Unit Coherency and Move Through Cover
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Wonder why my brain keeps half reading things today.... Trapped! gives specific permission for the Unit to move away from their table edge.
|
This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2015/08/28 06:01:53
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/28 06:47:24
Subject: Unit Coherency and Move Through Cover
|
 |
Krazed Killa Kan
|
yes. if you are retreating away from a squad and yall are fighting on a diagonally placed piece of inpassible terrain (as a valley) then yes, you'd move away from your table edge only so you may go around it ASAP.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/28 07:35:52
Subject: Unit Coherency and Move Through Cover
|
 |
Emboldened Warlock
Widnes UK
|
Yes you can do this and you can run between models in a friendly squad if there is at least enough room for your base to fit between the 2 models.
You aren't really going to find a specific rule quote as you are looking for the absence of a rule to say you can't, there wont be a specific rule to say you can. The closest I can find is in the 'trapped!' section of morale where it says you cant go within 1" of an enemy, but makes no mention 1" for allies.
No-one would suffer a penalty for moving through cover from this, but you do have to move around the bases of the other squad as you move them one at a time, so you would end up going a bit slower.
|
Ulthwe: 7500 points |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/28 16:22:01
Subject: Unit Coherency and Move Through Cover
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Mr. Shine wrote:If moving away from the table edge is the shortest route towards the table edge, i.e. they must move around something to do so, then sure.
Is that the point you're trying to make?
Double back = Auto dead
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/28 16:34:26
Subject: Unit Coherency and Move Through Cover
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
CKO wrote:Can a friendly unit fit inside another friendly unit 2 inch coherency?
aba
aba
aba
Would Charging such a unit require a Multi-Charge, since you would invariably need to be getting within 1" of an enemy model? Obviously depending on base size, of course.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/28 17:01:51
Subject: Unit Coherency and Move Through Cover
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
If they are:
aba
aba
aba
All depends on the direction they are charging. If a charge right/left should be:
.................... a a...........................a
aba................b a .................b ....a ..a
aba . >> ......b a -- >> .......b...........a
aba.............a b .a................. b ....a..a
If the first line of a can get in base contact, then the rest could pile in later.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/08/28 17:03:47
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/28 17:47:53
Subject: Unit Coherency and Move Through Cover
|
 |
Emboldened Warlock
Widnes UK
|
Dozer Blades wrote: Mr. Shine wrote:If moving away from the table edge is the shortest route towards the table edge, i.e. they must move around something to do so, then sure.
Is that the point you're trying to make?
Double back = Auto dead
How do you figure that? It doesn't say that anywhere, just that you must go to your table edge by the shortest route. It doesn't matter if that shortest route isn't very direct.
|
Ulthwe: 7500 points |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/28 18:12:14
Subject: Unit Coherency and Move Through Cover
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Dozer Blades wrote: Mr. Shine wrote:If moving away from the table edge is the shortest route towards the table edge, i.e. they must move around something to do so, then sure.
Is that the point you're trying to make?
Double back = Auto dead
That is a dinosaur of a rule that did not make it into 7th as far as I can tell.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/28 20:44:13
Subject: Unit Coherency and Move Through Cover
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
DeathReaper wrote:JinxDragon wrote:Think he is picking at the I don't see where they need to get closer to the table edge. They could end up further from their table edge and still have a legal fall back move right?
I would say that if the only path that lead to the table edge meant moving away from the table edge from a bird's eye view, then you're still moving closer to the table edge, albit on an unusual path.
Doubling back means you can't move 5" backwards and 6" forwards along the same path to avoid being trapped.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/28 22:15:22
Subject: Unit Coherency and Move Through Cover
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
MasterSlowPoke wrote:JinxDragon wrote:Think he is picking at the I don't see where they need to get closer to the table edge. They could end up further from their table edge and still have a legal fall back move right? I would say that if the only path that lead to the table edge meant moving away from the table edge from a bird's eye view, then you're still moving closer to the table edge, albit on an unusual path. Doubling back means you can't move 5" backwards and 6" forwards along the same path to avoid being trapped. Where does it say that you can not double back?
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2015/08/28 22:17:15
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/28 22:21:54
Subject: Re:Unit Coherency and Move Through Cover
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
@ Deathreaper Rulebook, page 58, "Trapped! wrote:{...} The unit may move around these obstructions in such a way as to get back to their table edge by the shortest route, {...} even if this means moving away from their table edge. If the unit cannot perform a full Fall Back move in any direction without doubling back, it is destroyed
|
|
 |
 |
|