Switch Theme:

Skyhammer and mishaps and special rules  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Krazed Killa Kan






State of Jefferson

Hey gurus. Cant find this with "search."

If some of my skyhammer mishaps and goes into ongoing reserves, do they still get some of their special rules? Like relentless on the devs or charging when the assaulters arrive? I am going to ITC events if tgat makes any difference. Thanks.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/09/12 17:05:17


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





difficult to answer.

units misshaping go into ongoing reserves iirc.

by strict RAW ongoing reserves is not deep strike reserves, and the models are arriving from ongoing reserves at that point on- they would lose the abilities for "arriving from deep strike reserves" as that has passed as they have already arrived from reserves, but failed to get where they need to be and are now in ongoing reserves.

the first the fire then the blade rule states it requires deep strike reserves, not just deep striking.

whether ITC rules ongoing reserves counts as arriving from deep strike reserves is a different thing, i am going to guess they rule it does not. reason being iirc in the past deathmarks hunters from hyperspace was ruled to not trigger if they deep strike in from veil, even if they mishap and go into ongoing reserves and then deep strike from there. which shows a ruling from them in the past that deep striking in from ongoing reserves is not arriving from deepstrike reserves.



This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/09/12 21:01:01


 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

blaktoof wrote:
difficult to answer.

That is very true.

blaktoof wrote:
units misshaping go into ongoing reserves iirc.

by strict RAW ongoing reserves is not deep strike reserves, and the models are arriving from ongoing reserves at that point on- they would lose the abilities for "arriving from deep strike reserves" as that has passed as they have already arrived from reserves, but failed to get where they need to be and are now in ongoing reserves.

Not exactly. The question falls under the concept of whether a Mishapping Deep Strike units are able to Deep Strike on the next turn like they used to.

Ongoing Reserves is when a unit has to reenter Reserves, such as due to Deep Strike Mishap, and allows a unit to arrive the owning player's next turn, but otherwise is normal Reserves.
BRB wrote:Ongoing Reserves
If a unit enters Reserve part way through the game, such as a Flyer leaving the battlefield, this is referred to as entering Ongoing Reserves. Units in Ongoing Reserve always reenter play at the start of their controlling player’s following turn, but otherwise follow the normal rules for Reserves.

Deep Strike Reserves is being in Reserves with the intention of Deep Striking, and is declared when putting the unit in to Reserves.
BRB wrote:When placing the unit in Reserve, you must tell your opponent that it will be arriving by Deep Strike (sometimes called Deep Strike Reserve).

So, the question comes, can you declare a unit to be Deep Striking when going in to Ongoing Reserves? If Ongoing Reserves is "normal" Reserves except for timing of arrival, than a unit going in to Ongoing Reserves could be declared a specific special entry such as Deep Strike or Outflank, just the same as they did during "deployment Reserves".

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






If the TO says that they keep their rules, then they keep their rules at the tournament.

That being said, I'd expect most TOs to say that they still deep strike, and since they're still deep striking they still use their special rules. This may or may not be the iron-tight strictest interpretation of RAW, but it's how I would expect most TOs to rule it, and since you're asking about a tournament I'd say "call before you go" so that there are no unexpected surprises.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: