That is very true.
blaktoof wrote:units misshaping go into ongoing reserves
iirc.
by strict
RAW ongoing reserves is not deep strike reserves, and the models are arriving from ongoing reserves at that point on- they would lose the abilities for "arriving from deep strike reserves" as that has passed as they have already arrived from reserves, but failed to get where they need to be and are now in ongoing reserves.
Not exactly. The question falls under the concept of whether a Mishapping Deep Strike units are able to Deep Strike on the next turn like they used to.
Ongoing Reserves is when a unit has to reenter Reserves, such as due to Deep Strike Mishap, and allows a unit to arrive the owning player's next turn, but otherwise is normal Reserves.
BRB wrote:Ongoing Reserves
If a unit enters Reserve part way through the game, such as a Flyer leaving the battlefield, this is referred to as entering Ongoing Reserves. Units in Ongoing Reserve always reenter play at the start of their controlling player’s following turn, but otherwise follow the normal rules for Reserves.
Deep Strike Reserves is being in Reserves with the intention of Deep Striking, and is declared when putting the unit in to Reserves.
BRB wrote:When placing the unit in Reserve, you must tell your opponent that it will be arriving by Deep Strike (sometimes called Deep Strike Reserve).
So, the question comes, can you declare a unit to be Deep Striking when going in to Ongoing Reserves? If Ongoing Reserves is "normal" Reserves except for timing of arrival, than a unit going in to Ongoing Reserves could be declared a specific special entry such as Deep Strike or Outflank, just the same as they did during "deployment Reserves".