Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/14 13:38:46
Subject: Chaos knights with god's mark - daemon of x or not
|
 |
Brainy Zoanthrope
|
Hello
So I'm constructing my chaos knight now and some rules seem to be unclear:
Chaos knight can be upgraded to be Daemon Knight of Slaanesh(or other god), and the rule says:
Daemon Knight of Slaanesh
A model with this special rule gains the Daemon and Hatred (Daemons of Khorne) special rules. In addition, all models with a Leadership value in combat with this Daemon Knight at the start of the Fight sub-phase must pass a Leadership test with a -2 modifier or reduce their Initiative value to 1 for the duration of that Fight sub-phase. It also counts as being a Daemon aligned with Slaanesh.
So, "It also counts as being a Daemon aligned with Slaanesh."
Does it make upgraded knight "Daemon of slaanesh", as described in codex: chaos daemons (i.e. gives him Fleet and +3 Run)?
Now in the codex: chaos daemons rules for “Daemon of slaanesh” (and others) are described under rule called Daemonic Alignment (p26), that apart describing specific gods effects, says: “Daemons can only join units comprised entirely of daemons of the same alignmentas themselves (i.e. herald of slaanesh may not join plaguebearers)”
What do you think?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/14 16:10:53
Subject: Chaos knights with god's mark - daemon of x or not
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
No, you don't get the Daemon of Slaanesh rule. The alignment is for hatred (opposite god) and DS off Icons, and maybe future proofing for rule changes.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/15 07:03:19
Subject: Re:Chaos knights with god's mark - daemon of x or not
|
 |
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu
|
I can't find the thread at the moment, but iirc someone e-mailed Forge World about this, who indicated that the Chaos Knights do indeed gain the rules associated with Daemon of X if they take the appropriate upgrade.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/09/17 23:36:44
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/15 07:41:27
Subject: Chaos knights with god's mark - daemon of x or not
|
 |
Freaky Flayed One
|
RaW, not very clear. RAI, fairly sure they are suppose to be a daemon engine aligned with whatever god you choose, ie a daemon of khorne, nurgle etc.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/15 08:13:23
Subject: Re:Chaos knights with god's mark - daemon of x or not
|
 |
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu
|
It was actually a Natfka article that discussed it.
http://natfka.blogspot.co.uk/2015/07/chaos-knight-question-answered.html?m=1
Obviously there's no guarantee regarding the legitimacy of the FW response but I can't see any reason why this wouldn't be the case. Automatically Appended Next Post: It's not like it's a massive deal anyway. The Khorne Knight gets Furious Charge which is not much use when it's swinging a D weapon anyway. An extra 3" run on the Slaanesh one is hardly game breaking either.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/09/15 08:19:09
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/15 20:07:45
Subject: Chaos knights with god's mark - daemon of x or not
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
The tzeentch one gets a 2++ rerollable if hit by the grimoire and cursed earth. Kinda broken...
|
DFTT |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/15 23:51:18
Subject: Re:Chaos knights with god's mark - daemon of x or not
|
 |
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu
|
Yes I suppose that particular combo wouldn't win you many friends. But it costs more for the Tzeentch upgrade, then you need the Grimoire and Psyker units to support, then for the successful casting. And even if you buff it to a 2++ a Wraithknight could still one shot it in combat before it gets to strike back.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/17 12:30:37
Subject: Chaos knights with god's mark - daemon of x or not
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
A Shrouded Knight is also pretty boss. That link doesn't actually contain a response to this question it is talking aboutDaemon Lores not special rules it in fact looks like it was written by someone with no understanding of any rules let alone this rather obscure one. To me it smacks of easter egging. Nothing states you get the Daemon of X special rule so you don't.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/17 23:48:28
Subject: Re:Chaos knights with god's mark - daemon of x or not
|
 |
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu
|
Except Daemon of X isn't actually a rule. It indicates which alignment the Daemon has. Daemonic Alignment is the rule. And then there are specific USR gained by Daemons with that alignment e.g. Shrouded for Daemons aligned with Nurgle. It's all there on p26 of the Daemons Codex.
So when the Chaos Knight rules say that they count as a Daemon aligned with X, it gains the additional USR associated with that alignment. Which is understandable as they aren't exactly cheap upgrades.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/18 03:01:58
Subject: Re:Chaos knights with god's mark - daemon of x or not
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
Tonberry7 wrote:Except Daemon of X isn't actually a rule. It indicates which alignment the Daemon has. Daemonic Alignment is the rule. And then there are specific USR gained by Daemons with that alignment e.g. Shrouded for Daemons aligned with Nurgle. It's all there on p26 of the Daemons Codex.
So when the Chaos Knight rules say that they count as a Daemon aligned with X, it gains the additional USR associated with that alignment. Which is understandable as they aren't exactly cheap upgrades.
Yes Daemon of X is a rule. That why in unit entries like for Plaguebearers they have "Daemon of Nurgle" listed, not Daemonic Alignment.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/18 06:15:28
Subject: Re:Chaos knights with god's mark - daemon of x or not
|
 |
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu
|
CrownAxe wrote: Tonberry7 wrote:Except Daemon of X isn't actually a rule. It indicates which alignment the Daemon has. Daemonic Alignment is the rule. And then there are specific USR gained by Daemons with that alignment e.g. Shrouded for Daemons aligned with Nurgle. It's all there on p26 of the Daemons Codex.
So when the Chaos Knight rules say that they count as a Daemon aligned with X, it gains the additional USR associated with that alignment. Which is understandable as they aren't exactly cheap upgrades.
Yes Daemon of X is a rule. That why in unit entries like for Plaguebearers they have "Daemon of Nurgle" listed, not Daemonic Alignment.
Hmm you are correct, so they do. The point still stands though, if we are told the Chaos Knight counts as being aligned with X, then they gain the Daemon of X rule and the associated USRs that go with it. All laid out under the Daemonic Alignment rules.
|
|
 |
 |
|