Switch Theme:

Read the 2nd ed rules and I'm new to KOW so a little help  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot




PA Unitied States

A charge is automatic, no rolling, as long as your with in 2x of your move value?

Only you, the charger(s) attack, your opponent doesn't, right?

Atfer attacking the CC stops and chargers are repled back 1" and that unit is free to be shot at in the opponents turn provided he doen'ts counter charge, correct?

Who is allowed to persue into a fresh combat: individual models, units, or both?

Undead can't march, but can they charge at twice thier distance?

Thanks

22 yrs in the hobby
:Eldar: 10K+ pts, 2500 pts
1850 pts
Vampire Counts 4000+ 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






Correct on all fronts, I believe.

"The Omnissiah is my Moderati" 
   
Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User






 Rune Stonegrinder wrote:

Who is allowed to persue into a fresh combat: individual models, units, or both?


Any unit can pursue into fresh combat using the D6" follow-up move, but only if they have just destroyed an individual in combat.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 Wafflecakes wrote:
 Rune Stonegrinder wrote:

Who is allowed to persue into a fresh combat: individual models, units, or both?


Any unit can pursue into fresh combat using the D6" follow-up move, but only if they have just destroyed an individual in combat.


Yep, think of it as a lone (brave? foolish?) soldier being trampled underfoot on the way to a real engagement.

11527pts Total (7400pts painted)

4980pts Total (4980pts painted)

3730 Total (210pts painted) 
   
Made in au
Longtime Dakkanaut





Melbourne, Australia

 Rune Stonegrinder wrote:

Atfer attacking the CC stops and chargers are repled back 1" and that unit is free to be shot at in the opponents turn provided he doen'ts counter charge, correct?


As said, all is correct, but be aware if the unit initially charged sustained any damage it is Disordered and cannot shoot in its next turn.

The galaxy is littered with the single-planet graveyards of civilisations which made the economically sensible decision not to explore space. 
   
Made in se
Longtime Dakkanaut






Wafflecakes wrote:
 Rune Stonegrinder wrote:

Who is allowed to persue into a fresh combat: individual models, units, or both?


Any unit can pursue into fresh combat using the D6" follow-up move, but only if they have just destroyed an individual in combat.

Also note that if this D6" follow up move takes you into contact with yet another character, you have the chance to destroy that one as well and get yet another follow up move. So in theory you can defeat an infinate number of individuals and then cap if off with a charge into an enemy unit. They would have to pretty much be placed on a long line though, since units don't line up against individuals when charging.

.Mikes. wrote:
 Rune Stonegrinder wrote:

Atfer attacking the CC stops and chargers are repled back 1" and that unit is free to be shot at in the opponents turn provided he doen'ts counter charge, correct?


As said, all is correct, but be aware if the unit initially charged sustained any damage it is Disordered and cannot shoot in its next turn.

This. If the unit suffers at least one damage in the Melee phase they are automatically disordered (even if the result on their Nerve test is 'Steady') and thus cannot shoot. (Note that since the effect takes place directly as the damage is suffered, the unit will remain disordered until the end of it's turn as usual even if the damage point is regained through magic or special rules like Regeneration or Headstrong.

A unit taking damage in the Shoot phase is not automatically Disordered but if it takes damage and the Nerve test result makes it Wavering, then it is also Disordered.

   
Made in us
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot




PA Unitied States

THANKS ALL this is what i got from all the replys so i only need one clarification

A charge is automatic, no rolling, as long as your with in 2x of your move value? YES

Only you, the charger(s) attack, your opponent doesn't, right? YES

Atfer attacking the CC stops and chargers are repled back 1" and that unit is free to be shot at in the opponents turn provided he doen'ts counter charge, correct? YES

Undead can't march, but can they charge at twice thier distance? YES

Here is the clarification the answer is probably in the book, but thats sitting at home....

Who is allowed to persue into a fresh combat: individual models, units, or both? ???? Say my unit routs a small unit can I persue into a new combat or since it was a unit I'm done?


22 yrs in the hobby
:Eldar: 10K+ pts, 2500 pts
1850 pts
Vampire Counts 4000+ 
   
Made in us
Devastating Dark Reaper




Virginia

Since you don't have the rulebook with you I'll reference the free PDF rules as I'm at work too :

"Who is allowed to pursue into a fresh combat individual models, units or both?"

Individuals can make contact with another enemy - Melee pg. 18

Units when regrouping have to stop 1" away from enemy units. - Melee pg. 15.

"Say my unit routs a small unit can I persue into a new combat or since it was a unit I'm done? "
You'd stop 1" away from any enemy unit, if you'd end up touching once you've completed your regroup which can be 1) Stay and pivot 2) move directly forward D6 or 3) move directly backwards D3.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/09/15 12:46:57


 
   
Made in se
Longtime Dakkanaut






Who is allowed to persue into a fresh combat: individual models, units, or both? ???? Say my unit routs a small unit can I persue into a new combat or since it was a unit I'm done?

Anyone is allowed to pursue into new combat after routing a individual. It doesn't matter who does the routing, what matter is what/who is routed.

Anyone who rout an individual have the option to advance D6". If that bring the charger into contact with a new unit (individual or not) wou can fight again and again...

As soon as you hit anything that's not an individual, that's the last combat for that charger this melee phase.

   
Made in us
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot




PA Unitied States

Thanks guys

I was blocked from the PDF's since the site is tagged as Game, oddly enough our tech guys either use this site too or don't know about it..yet my guess it desn't have cookies that tag it forum or games

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/09/15 13:54:36


22 yrs in the hobby
:Eldar: 10K+ pts, 2500 pts
1850 pts
Vampire Counts 4000+ 
   
 
Forum Index » Mantic Miniature Games (Kings of War, etc.)
Go to: