Switch Theme:

Skyshield landing pad and the *new* Storm Wing formation  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Rookie Pilot



Ohiowa

Hi all,

There have been several threads on this topic. Search has done well for me. However, with the new 'dex, it seems that some requirements of the formation have changed.

The question is, can I deploy a stormraven gunship, which is part of a storm wing formation, on a "ready for takeoff" skyshield landing pad? If so, how does the formation reserve roll work out?

-Skyshield allows one flier to deploy on the table.

-The Stormraven is a flier, so may deploy on the table.

-The Storm Wing formation states: "Escort Craft: When making Reserve Rolls, make a single roll for this entire Formation. On a successful Reserves Roll, all of the units in this Formation arrive from Reserve.”

Excerpt From: Games Workshop. “Codex: Space Marines (Enhanced Edition).” Games Workshop, 2015. iBooks. https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/codex-space-marines-enhanced/id999945974?mt=13

There are no other provisions for these craft acting as a squadron nor that the formation must be held in reserve. As such, they are not a squadron and may be deployed separately. It is therefore vegan-kosher to put the raven on the board T1 and roll for the formation (the storm talons in reserve) in turn 2.

If I were to attack the second part of the argument, I would say that the formation is not in reserve, because the storm raven is on the table. Therefore, you cannot roll for the formation, because the formation is not in reserve, just two of the fliers.

Any help on this?

Thanks!
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




When you make the reserve roll, it cannot be for all units in the formation. You've just broken a rule, and not had permission to do do.
   
Made in us
Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Sioux Falls, SD

If you were magically able to get three Skyshields on the board, and plopped each of the flyers on separate ones, would it work? I suspect not.

5250 pts
3850 pts
Deathwatch: 1500 pts
Imperial Knights: 375 pts
30K 2500 pts 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Why would it require magic to get 3 Skyshields? Would you break that rule if you used the 3 Skyshields?

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No magic needed, but you would break the rule, as you cannot make the required reserve roll for all units in the formation.
   
Made in us
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets





Indianapolis, IN

If you are just going to put 3 skyshields on the table, which would require 3 CAD, then you would simply ignore the rule for escort craft as you are not in reserve. You also would have to pay the points to get the upgrade on the skyshields. Lots a points to have the flyer formation on the table on turn one.

Armies:
The Iron Waagh: 10,000+ 8th Edition Tournament Record: 4-7-1
Salamanders: 5,000 8th Edition Tournament Record: 4-2
Ultramarines: 4,000
Armored Battle Company (DKoK): 4000
Elysians: 500
Khorne Daemons: 2500
 
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

It's perhaps arguable that the Escort Craft special rule is non-optional, and that therefore you must make a reserves roll for the formation.

If someone went to that length to have the formation start on the table though, I'd probably let them have it regardless.
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





East Coast, USA

 Glitcha wrote:
If you are just going to put 3 skyshields on the table, which would require 3 CAD, then you would simply ignore the rule for escort craft as you are not in reserve. You also would have to pay the points to get the upgrade on the skyshields. Lots a points to have the flyer formation on the table on turn one.


It doesn't require 3 CADs. There are plenty of ways to get Fortification that don't involve multiple CADs. Unbound is a perfectly viable option, as is taking one of the two Adeptus Mechanicus Detachments. Both have Fortification slots and the Skitarii one requires very little in way of a tax. I'm sure there are other ways, but I don't know every Detachment out there off the top of my head.

Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com


https://www.thingiverse.com/KrisWall/about


Completed Trades With: ultraatma 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: