Switch Theme:

3" attack range on the charge? AND No charge targets?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Inspiring Icon Bearer






1. Am I reading that section right?

"Any unit that has charged or has models
within 3" of an enemy unit can attack with
its melee weapons in the combat phase. "


Is that giving them permission to attack at a 3" range, or giving them permission to activate a weapon which is restricted to it's own range?


2. Charging doesn't have you pick a target. Since you just have to wind up within 1/2 inch of an enemy model. Since this is the case, you could charge multiple units this way, or charge both a war machine and it's crew in one go, etc?



Age of Sigmar, New World Tournament Ruleset


[centerPlease feel free to pop in and comment, or send me a PM![/center]



 
   
Made in gb
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran





Weapons are restricted to their range.

So long as you maintain unit coherency, you can charge what you like, and as many things as you like!

(Note: this can easily get you into trouble )

40k and Age of Sigmar Blog - A Tabletop Gamer's Diary: https://ttgamingdiary.wordpress.com/

Mongoose Publishing: http://www.mongoosepublishing.com/ 
   
Made in gb
Arch Magos w/ 4 Meg of RAM





Yep, the models are restricted to their own weapon's range but remember they all get a pile in move first :-)

Bye bye Dakkadakka, happy hobbying! I really enjoyed my time on here. Opinions were always my own :-) 
   
Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal




the part about models within 3" of enemy units mean they are already "in combat" You have a 3" pile-in move when you activate your unit. to break it down further:

-If you have a unit with-in 3" of an enemy unit they cannot move unless its a retreat. This unit also cannot charge because they are already with in the 3" pile-in. Naturally, pile-ins don't trigger charge effects

-When you enter into your turn in the close combat phase make sure you measure to any near-by units in case your opponent made a pile-in that put his/her unit within 3" of another of your units, and vice-versa.

   
Made in us
Wondering Why the Emperor Left




Oklahoma City

BomBomHotdog wrote:
the part about models within 3" of enemy units mean they are already "in combat" You have a 3" pile-in move when you activate your unit. to break it down further:

-If you have a unit with-in 3" of an enemy unit they cannot move unless its a retreat. This unit also cannot charge because they are already with in the 3" pile-in. Naturally, pile-ins don't trigger charge effects

-When you enter into your turn in the close combat phase make sure you measure to any near-by units in case your opponent made a pile-in that put his/her unit within 3" of another of your units, and vice-versa.



Ok so lets say there are two enemy units close to one another, and you are in combat with one of them. You pile in, and in doing so come within 3 inches of the other unit. So this brings you into combat with the second unit, and you've already piled in, so the second enemy unit has the option of either retreating or piling in. Did I get that right?
   
Made in us
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle






Well they have the option of piling in. Retreating is only an option in the movement phase of the controlling player. Also worth noting that it is units within 3" so as long as one model is within that range then every model in the unit can pile in (and attack, assuming they get in range with a melee weapon).

Charging requires no targets, does not require a straight line, and does not require you move closest-to-closest. You pick a unit, say they charge, roll the dice, then move the first model. That first model must end within 0.5" of an enemy unit if it can (but can move around things, in any direction, etc.). After that each model can move up to the charge distance wherever they want with no restrictions other than unit coherency.

Fun fact; though you cannot end a move outside of unit coherency, you can voluntarily lose coherency when pulling slain models. Though if you are in melee and cannot get such a unit back into coherency with a pile in move, then you can't move at all (aside from retreating or a special ability) since you can't end a move outside of coherency.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/11/17 03:56:18


Road to Renown! It's like classic Path to Glory, but repaired, remastered, expanded! https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/778170.page

I chose an avatar I feel best represents the quality of my post history.

I try to view Warhammer as more of a toolbox with examples than fully complete games. 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




United Kingdom

You pick a unit, say they charge, roll the dice, then move the first model. That first model must end within 0.5" of an enemy unit if it can


my emphasis

You must end within 1/2" of an enemy with the first model, if not then the charge fails and there is no move.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Also you must start with 12" of an enemy to declare a charge. That means that something 12.5" away (if its the only target) can't be charged even though you can roll double 6 and get within 0.5".

This message was edited 8 times. Last update was at 2015/11/17 11:47:45


 
   
 
Forum Index » Warhammer: Age of Sigmar
Go to: