Switch Theme:

Help Me Count Units  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Tunneling Trygon





NJ

This is a general purpose question which I believe I know the answer to but humor me:

I have a unit which fires upon my opponent's unit. Let's call his unit, "Unit A". Within my unit, I have a model who is allowed to target a different unit in the same shooting phase. He does so, firing at a separate unit, which we can call "Unit B".

How many units have shot at unit A?

How many units have shot at unit B?
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






The Split-Firing-model (or Target-Lock-model) is still the same unit as the rest, and at no point ceases to be part of the rest of the unit.

Has your unit fired at "Unit A"? Yes. Has your unit fired at "Unit B"? Yes.

Take a normal non-split-firing shooting attack. Even if the shooting unit contains only one model with a ranged weapon and nine without, "the unit" has still shot.

It's a bit too nebulous of a question for me to quote a rule directly though.
   
Made in de
Witch Hunter in the Shadows



Aachen

 luke1705 wrote:
This is a general purpose question which I believe I know the answer to but humor me:

I have a unit which fires upon my opponent's unit. Let's call his unit, "Unit A". Within my unit, I have a model who is allowed to target a different unit in the same shooting phase. He does so, firing at a separate unit, which we can call "Unit B".

How many units have shot at unit A?

How many units have shot at unit B?


A: One
B: One

I'm not sure how this could be confusing, tbh.

@Quanar: huh? I think you're answering something else

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/11/02 09:21:05


 
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

Agreed with the above.

May I know the reason for asking, luke1705?
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





It is 1 and 1 but this does not mean 2 units have fired.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






nekooni wrote:
@Quanar: huh? I think you're answering something else
I may have run with the question a bit with a guess as to the origin, but I guess we'll see if we actually get the actual question.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/11/02 13:00:18


 
   
Made in us
Tunneling Trygon





NJ

 Mr. Shine wrote:
Agreed with the above.

May I know the reason for asking, luke1705?



Sort of goes back to the issue of "does a target-locked Tau model gain the +1 BS buff from coordinated fire?" question.

Basically I think it can get sort of sidestepped, as I think that while it may be supported RAW, I don't believe this is RAI.

The reason why I brought up my (seemingly basic) question is because I wanted to confirm that you could get something like this going:


3 units of 3 crisis suits. Each fires at a single target (let's call the targets A, B, and C). Two suits in each unit (so 6 total suits) have a target lock.

Unit 1 (which fired at target A) proceeds to use its target locked models to fire, with one firing on unit B and the other one firing on unit C

Unit 2 (which fired at target B) proceeds to use its target locked models to fire, with one firing on unit A and the other one firing on unit C

Unit 3 (which fired at target C) proceeds to use its target locked models to fire, with one firing on unit B and the other one firing on unit A

So with 3 units we have used 30 points worth of upgrades to give all models +1 BS.



Correct me if there is an error somewhere or if that was unclear.
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Yes that is how coordinated fire works. Why would you think it works differently? Also I don't see how the target locks are giving +1 Bs they are just allowing you to target more units with it. But the +1Bs isn't the reason to do this, it is the Buffmander that is joined to the coordinated firepower to give them all twin linked, ignores cover, tank hunter etc or the 2 Riptides joining in with a Stormsurge so they all get Bs5 thanks to fire team (and the buffmander further augmenting that)...

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 FlingitNow wrote:
Yes that is how coordinated fire works. Why would you think it works differently? Also I don't see how the target locks are giving +1 Bs they are just allowing you to target more units with it. But the +1Bs isn't the reason to do this, it is the Buffmander that is joined to the coordinated firepower to give them all twin linked, ignores cover, tank hunter etc or the 2 Riptides joining in with a Stormsurge so they all get Bs5 thanks to fire team (and the buffmander further augmenting that)...


The target Lock trigger 3 separate coordinated firepower instances for a +1bs at each of three targets,or would that be a total of +3bs for bs6 suits?? Would it stack in this case or just get the +1Bs for the initial triggering even?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/11/03 01:12:22


 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

Special Rules do not stack with themselves unless they specifically say so.

So, only +1 BS.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: