Switch Theme:

Monstrous Creature Transport - Running  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Hollerin' Herda with Squighound Pack





Can the Monstrous Creature transport run and the embarked units still fire?
Does it count as cruising speed (snap shots) or something else?
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






Frankly, there aren't enough MC transports for GW to remember to write them rules.

Running is comparable to Flat Out (rather than cruising or combat speeds), which denies the transported unit from firing at all. But that's a HIWPI argument.
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

 Quanar wrote:
Frankly, there aren't enough MC transports for GW to remember to write them rules.

Aren't they all Forgeworld/Escalation models, anyway?

 Quanar wrote:
Running is comparable to Flat Out (rather than cruising or combat speeds), which denies the transported unit from firing at all. But that's a HIWPI argument.

Pretty much.
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






Charistoph wrote:
Aren't they all Forgeworld/Escalation models, anyway?
The only one I'm aware of is the Squiggoth, although presumably Tyranids might have one as well.

The rules for how such creatures act as transports are wholly within their own entries, I don't have one to hand, but if they don't mention running then we have no restriction RAW.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





UK

Well the Tyrannocyte is more of a mobile Drop Pod so the occopants have to disembark as soon as it arrives.

Not sure about the Squiggoth. I imagine FW will clarify that in the rerelease of IA:8

YMDC = nightmare 
   
Made in us
Hollerin' Herda with Squighound Pack





There are really no other transport creatures in the entire game?
   
Made in nl
Longtime Dakkanaut






There was that tyranid apocalypse monster. No idea how it was named. But aside from that only the squiggoth and that thing rarely sees the table any more. So I would guess that there is and or was no reason to make rules for it


Automatically Appended Next Post:
[Edit] It would be the Hierophant I think but I can't find the actual rules for them that include the transport capacity

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2015/11/12 00:32:20


Inactive, user. New profile might pop up in a while 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





UK

Ahh yeah the Hierophant. Forgot about that. Probably because it's pretty easy to kill in my Grav-spam meta. 1000 points down the drain and for what.

It's a purchaseable upgrade that gives it 20 spaces, no exceptions for MC. But you can stick a Venomthrope in and suddenly have a huge Shrouded bubble.

The Harridan also works as a Transport, but only for 20 Gargoyles (no purchase necessary for transport).

YMDC = nightmare 
   
Made in us
Hollerin' Herda with Squighound Pack





I guess I'll just clarify rules with my opponent before hand.

If I run, should Id say no shooting? or Snap shots?
If Squiggoth charges, embarked unit is NOT engaged and free to shoot at other targets
   
Made in us
Deranged Necron Destroyer





i'd say the unit inside can shoot just fine. Running doesn't do anything to a unit that is transported inside of a unit that ran. besides with ork BS i'd give this leg up to them almost regardless.

Same with the squiggoth charging and the inside unit can shoot at other units.

It's easy to assume that people arguing an interpretation you disagree with are just looking for an advantage for themselves... But it's quite often not the case.  
   
Made in nl
Longtime Dakkanaut






op before you are ever going to build an army around them and start the discussion with your gamer group, you know what that squiggoths are updated from their cheap point cost to ~ landraider costs right ?

Inactive, user. New profile might pop up in a while 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Minneapolis, MN

 fcademartori wrote:
Can the Monstrous Creature transport run and the embarked units still fire?
Does it count as cruising speed (snap shots) or something else?

As others have said, there basically are no rules covering MC transports. I had previously commented that:

 DanielBeaver wrote:
I'm not sure that the passengers have permission to shoot in the first place. The Squiggoth "counts as an Open-topped transport vehicle, with a Transport capacity of 15 models, for the purposes of allowing infantry models to embark and disembark from it." It also specifically mentions that the Monstrous Transport rule does not bestow any other vehicle rules - so I think it wouldn't use the Fire Points rules at all (since they are not related to embarking and disembarking).

If they do have permission to shoot, then yeah they could shoot even after the Squiggoth runs. They would actually count as being stationary, since they only count as having moved if the vehicle moved at combat speed (which a Squiggoth never does).


HIWPI: if you move 6", count it as combat speed. If you run, count it as moving flat-out (that's the closest analogue I can think of). You'll just have to come to an agreement with your opponent ahead of time about how you want to house rule it. The Squiggoth is not a particularly OP unit, so there shouldn't be any problems doing it this way.

 Frozocrone wrote:
Well the Tyrannocyte is more of a mobile Drop Pod so the occopants have to disembark as soon as it arrives.

The Tyrannocite doesn't have fire points, does it? So the Squiggoth is the only unit where this is an issue?

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2015/11/19 21:46:30


 
   
Made in gb
Sinewy Scourge




And the Harridan.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: