Switch Theme:

Eldar Skathach Wraithknight, Webway Shunt Generator?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in de
Longtime Dakkanaut






So, I just got a shiny new wraithknight and a shiny new version of IA 11, The Doom of Mymeara with the rules for it. BTW, ForgeWorld apparently is moving away from Ziplock baggies as non-plus-ultra of secure product packaging. The new kit comes in a Forgeworld box which a nice full color instruction booklet as well as the resing parts (ziplock baggie), the plastic sprues and some bubble packaging materials. Makes a much better impression than the big bags they used before. YAY!

Anyway, back to the rule question. The webway shunt generator can be used instead of movement in the movement phase to deep strike with 1D6 scatter to somewhere within 12" or enter ongoing reserves. That's it really. There is additional text confirming that general rules still apply (1") and that and the shunt generator use prevents use of the jump capabilities (still a Jump-GC) in the movement or asault phases. Now, being able to zip into ongoing reserves and hop to within 12" anywhere from the player's table edge is a mobility bonus, paid for by not being able to fight the turn that you go to reserves, but...

Why would you ever want to shunt-jump up to 12" and scatter 1D6 (losing 1 wound and going to ongoing reserves on mishap) when you can just jump 12" without scatter and ignore terrain tests with move through cover?

   
Made in gb
Battleship Captain




Dunno. If it's still a Jump Gargantuan it seems pretty pointless.

It's not the first time a special rule seems largely irrelevant - the "Leaper" rule of the Dimachaeron does virtually nothing beyond move through cover and hammer of wrath (both of which it already has for being a monstrous creature) despite taking up reams of text.

Termagants expended for the Hive Mind: ~2835
 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

The potential 1D6 Scatter would be the point. You gamble that you can get up to 6" more movement from it than the standard 12" that the Jump provides.

Of course it IS a gamble with the 1D6 going back the way you came or to the left in to that Mishap situation.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Does it let you do so from close combat?
   
Made in us
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife






I am unsure of the actual wording, however, your statement seems to be

- Instead of moving this phase, make a warp jump up to 12" with 1d6 scatter

OR

- Enter ongoing reserves

If this is the case... I see this rule as a way to get out of a sticky situation... aka you know your gonna get blown up next turn... or possibly to leave combat if your stuck.

Take a look at my painting blog! Always looking to improve, please feel free to comment with thoughts and advice!

Play TE or FSE, check out my useful guide for New players! 
   
Made in de
Longtime Dakkanaut






The rule states "instead of moving", which I understand to be subject to the same restrictions as the permission to move in the movement phase, so no jumping out of combat.

Gambling on a 1/3 rd chance for extra movemement (assuming 2/3 chance to scatter, half that to scatter forward) seems not really worth it.

Still, pointless rules exist and being able to bugger off into reserves is something previously on swooping hawks could do in the Eldar list.

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: