Warning: wall of text inbound.
Tl;dr:
GW needs to actually explain this in a
FAQ, but we all know that this won't happen.
The answer is probably "who the frak knows?"*
Scott-S6 wrote:The Hammer of the Emperor detachment allows you to take precisely what's shown.
I don't see "chimera" in the list of units allowed in, say, the Battle Group Command formation. However, would you allow the company command squad to take a chimera as a dedicated transport?**
The rules for a Company Command Squad says that they can take a chimera as a dedicated transport.
Let's call the command squad "Unit X" and the chimera "Model Y".
The rules for Unit X says that if you take Unit X, you can also take Model Y. The formation says that you can take Unit X. Can we take Model Y, even though the formation does not explicitly include Y in the list of permissible choices? Most players would say yes.
Now let's look at the commissar.
The commissar's rules say that you can take one if you take a command squad. Let's call the commissar "Model Y".
The rules for Model Y says that if you take Unit X, you can also take Model Y. The formation says that you can take Unit X. Can we take Model Y, even thought the formation does not explicitly include Y in the list of permissible choices?
The only difference here is which model has the rules. In one case, the command squad has the rules unlocking the extra model (the chimera). In the other, the commissar has the rules unlocking itself should you take the command squad. So, either:
- This difference is insignificant. In which case, for consistency, anyone that allows the chimera should also the commissar. Anyone that disallows the commissar should disallow the chimera.
- This difference is significant.
Let's go with 2. We're now in the position where the
location of the rules make a difference. Is this reasonable? Would things be different if the rule allowing a command squad to take a chimera was moved from the Command Squad page to the Chimera page? Perhaps. I really don't know. Let's have a look at Pask and Creed - perhaps they'll clear things up.
See, the rule that tells you that you can replace a tank commander with Pask isn't found in the Tank Commander rules; it's found in the Pask rules. It's therefore in the same boat (tank?) as the commissar. Ditto for Creed.
The Battle Group Command explicitly allows you to take Pask/Creed, while both the Emperor's Shield and the Emperor's Fist formations are silent on the matter. I'm thinking that the
RAI is that you can't take Pask/Creed in the Emperor's Shield/Fist formation, only in the Battle Group Command formation. Since their rules are the same as commissars, this
suggests that commissars shouldn't be taken unless the formation explicitly mentions them.
Aside RE: Steel Host:
Thing is, we're supposed to be consistent in our interpretation of rules. This is complicated by
GW's complete and utter incompetence when it comes to consistency in rules/
FAQs.
*
Maybe the
GW writer.
Maybe.
** This is actually a genuine question, not one of those rhetorical "gotcha" questions.
EDIT: Spelling. Minor rewording.