Switch Theme:

Riptide Wing and buffing BS within a unit.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife





So I posted this originally in the Tau tactics threads, but I would like some of the YMDC folks find a hole in this, because this seems wrong.

 Nilok wrote:
...I just reread the Riptide Wing. None of the rules say that the prior Riptide needs to be in another unit, just that it is a Riptide part of this formation.

Okay, this makes a really silly tactic you can do with the Riptide Wing making all the Riptides BS 4, even the first one that shoots.

First, you have one unit have at least two Riptides and have them equipped with different secondary weapons (SMS and Plasma for instance) and/or primary weapons. In the shooting phase, declare one of the secondary weapons as the weapon group you are firing. Now the other Riptide in the unit is BS 4. Now declare the other secondary weapon as the weapon group you are firing. The first Riptide is now BS 4. Now fire your primary weapons with both Riptides at BS 4.

This requires at least four Riptides, but aside from the first weapon fired from the first Riptide, all of the Riptides will be hitting on 3s.


What rule am I missing that prevents this from working?
   
Made in us
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot






 Nilok wrote:
So I posted this originally in the Tau tactics threads, but I would like some of the YMDC folks find a hole in this, because this seems wrong.

 Nilok wrote:
...I just reread the Riptide Wing. None of the rules say that the prior Riptide needs to be in another unit, just that it is a Riptide part of this formation.

Okay, this makes a really silly tactic you can do with the Riptide Wing making all the Riptides BS 4, even the first one that shoots.

First, you have one unit have at least two Riptides and have them equipped with different secondary weapons (SMS and Plasma for instance) and/or primary weapons. In the shooting phase, declare one of the secondary weapons as the weapon group you are firing. Now the other Riptide in the unit is BS 4. Now declare the other secondary weapon as the weapon group you are firing. The first Riptide is now BS 4. Now fire your primary weapons with both Riptides at BS 4.

This requires at least four Riptides, but aside from the first weapon fired from the first Riptide, all of the Riptides will be hitting on 3s.


What rule am I missing that prevents this from working?


RAW that is correct, as different weapons a resolve one after the other, meaning they are NOT simultaneous. This would mean the unit has "already" been shot at by riptides

2500 2500 2200  
   
Made in se
Dakka Veteran



Sweden

 Nilok wrote:
So I posted this originally in the Tau tactics threads, but I would like some of the YMDC folks find a hole in this, because this seems wrong.

 Nilok wrote:
...I just reread the Riptide Wing. None of the rules say that the prior Riptide needs to be in another unit, just that it is a Riptide part of this formation.

Okay, this makes a really silly tactic you can do with the Riptide Wing making all the Riptides BS 4, even the first one that shoots.

First, you have one unit have at least two Riptides and have them equipped with different secondary weapons (SMS and Plasma for instance) and/or primary weapons. In the shooting phase, declare one of the secondary weapons as the weapon group you are firing. Now the other Riptide in the unit is BS 4. Now declare the other secondary weapon as the weapon group you are firing. The first Riptide is now BS 4. Now fire your primary weapons with both Riptides at BS 4.

This requires at least four Riptides, but aside from the first weapon fired from the first Riptide, all of the Riptides will be hitting on 3s.


What rule am I missing that prevents this from working?


Perfectly valid, Don't forget Fire Team bonus if you have 3 in a unit for another +1BS, totaling out on BS5.

   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

Yup, completely legitimate by the rules.
   
Made in us
Trustworthy Shas'vre





Cobleskill

sorry, where are the Riptide Wing rules?

'No plan survives contact with the enemy. Who are we?'
'THE ENEMY!!!'
Racerguy180 wrote:
rules come and go, models are forever...like herpes.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




M'ontka
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: