Switch Theme:

IC Monstrous Creature Joining a Unit  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Agile Revenant Titan




Florida

I am reading through the new FW Doom of Mymeara book. Wraithseers (which is a Monstrous Creature) have the Independent Character (IC) rule. Page 166 of main rulebook details rules for IC and states 'They (IC) cannot, however, join units that contain vehicles or or Monstrous Creatures.' Does this mean a Wraithseer can join a unit, outside of one that contains a vehicle or monstrous creature? For example, can a Wraithseer join a squad of Wraithguard? I am inclined to say yes as the unit the Wraithseer is attempting to join satisfies the requirements that the unit does not contain vehicles or Monstrous Creatures. There are obvious pitfalls as the Wraithseer T8 would be dropped for wounding purposes, but I can see some interesting combos.

No earth shattering, thought provoking quote. I'm just someone who was introduced to 40K in the late 80's and it's become a lifelong hobby. 
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





East Coast, USA

Simply put, yes.

Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com


https://www.thingiverse.com/KrisWall/about


Completed Trades With: ultraatma 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






You check the unit when joining with an if/then statement: if the unit does not contain a restricted model/then your IC may join.

Once joined you never need to re-check, you are joined until you leave.

In this way the few mc-ics can freely join units as can other ics(join the same unit), as long as the other ics join before the mc-ic.

Take, for example, farsight's "the eight"; one is an ic riptide(a mc), you can join them all together as 1 unit or within another unit as long as the riptide is the last to join(or at least once the riptide joins no other ics may join).

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

Kriswall wrote:Simply put, yes.

Kommissar Kel wrote:You check the unit when joining with an if/then statement: if the unit does not contain a restricted model/then your IC may join.

Once joined you never need to re-check, you are joined until you leave.

In this way the few mc-ics can freely join units as can other ics(join the same unit), as long as the other ics join before the mc-ic.

Take, for example, farsight's "the eight"; one is an ic riptide(a mc), you can join them all together as 1 unit or within another unit as long as the riptide is the last to join(or at least once the riptide joins no other ics may join).

Agreed.

You are not considered in the unit till joined, and not joined before you joined. So, the one Wraithseer would be fine, but no other ICs could join the same unit afterwards until the Wraithseer left or was removed.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Unshakeable Grey Knight Land Raider Pilot





Wyoming

might be a reasonable tactic with a Turn 1, shrouded/stealth 2+ Look out sir, to keep your MC alive a turn if you have a feeling the enemy is going to be grossly targeting it.
   
Made in us
Agile Revenant Titan




Florida

Thanks for the input. Answers my question.

No earth shattering, thought provoking quote. I'm just someone who was introduced to 40K in the late 80's and it's become a lifelong hobby. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Eye of Terror

Are there any rules for the order in which ICs join units ?

My blog... http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com

Facebook...
https://m.facebook.com/Terminus6Est/

DT:60+S++++G++++M+++B+++I+++Pw40k89/d#++D+++A++++/eWD150R++++T(T)DM+++ 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Simultaneous. Meaning the player whose turn it is gets to choose. I presume they will therefore join the MC IC last.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Eye of Terror

I thought simultaneous means all at once.

My blog... http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com

Facebook...
https://m.facebook.com/Terminus6Est/

DT:60+S++++G++++M+++B+++I+++Pw40k89/d#++D+++A++++/eWD150R++++T(T)DM+++ 
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





East Coast, USA

 Dozer Blades wrote:
I thought simultaneous means all at once.


It does in regular English. In the world of 40k rules, it means one after another in the order of choosing of the controlling player. (paraphrased)

"While playing Warhammer 40,000, you’ll occasionally find that two or more rules are to be resolved at the same time – normally ‘at the start of the Movement phase’ or similar. When this happens, and the wording is not explicit as to which rule is resolved first, then the player whose turn it is chooses the order."

So, if you find yourself in a situation where two ICs are simultaneously trying to join the same unit, you get to choose which joining is resolved first.

Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com


https://www.thingiverse.com/KrisWall/about


Completed Trades With: ultraatma 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






 Dozer Blades wrote:
Are there any rules for the order in which ICs join units ?


The way nos replied was in response to a line of the joining units rules that doesn't really make sense.

The rule is: "...has to move so that he is within 2" unit coherency distance of a friendly unit at the end of thier movement phase."

But models/units do not have individual phases.

Though many players see this as meaning the end of your movement phase, it makes the last sentence in that paragraph completely meaningless: "Note that after an Independent Character joins a unit, that unit can move no further that Movement Phase."

For that part of the rule to make any sort of sense(the ic wouldn't be joining the unit until the end of the phase, so the unit wouldn't be moving in that phase anyways); we could just drop the word phase from the previous 2 sentences(so just ending the IC's movement within 2" lets him join, and forbids the joined unit from moving further).

If you follow the above interpretation; all the rules function fine and ic joining is sequential as it happens.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: