Switch Theme:

co-axial rules still in effect?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fiery Bright Wizard






Idaho

Hi all! I'm still fairly new to using super heavies, and I was wondering if I'm getting this right: so long as you fire the co-axial weapon first, and at the same target, the other gun in the set (in the baneblade's case, the baneblade cannon) would essentially get twin-linked? I was told that this wasn't how it worked anymore, and that it's just another gun. Sorry if this is the wrong place to ask.

I'll never be able to repay CA for making GW realize that The Old World was a cash cow, left to die in a field.  
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

The latest rules for the Baneblade in Warzone Damocles: Mont'ka does not have a co-axial weapon.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Fiery Bright Wizard






Idaho

well, in the the 30k book listing, it has the autocannon listed as 'coaxial'. I guess I'm more so asking if the rule still exists?

I'll never be able to repay CA for making GW realize that The Old World was a cash cow, left to die in a field.  
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





That rule has only ever been used by Forge World. No GW units have the co-axial rule
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





East Coast, USA

 Brennonjw wrote:
well, in the the 30k book listing, it has the autocannon listed as 'coaxial'. I guess I'm more so asking if the rule still exists?


30k uses a modified version of the 40k rule set. The rule does not exist in the 40k rule set. Ergo, you'll need to take a look through your 30k book and see if it has anything to say about what coaxial does.

Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com


https://www.thingiverse.com/KrisWall/about


Completed Trades With: ultraatma 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




Ok, the IA 1.2 source material was released in 5th ed. The IG codex at the time did not have coaxial weapons. IA 1.2 added coaxial weapons s for the Baneblade, but also came with the conqueror leman russ varient and as an upgrade option for the vanquisher lemon Russ variant. The vanquisher was already availible in the IG codex but without the coax option. The 2014 codex has the vanquisher, at a lower point cost than the 2008 codex and IA 1.2 has the same pricing as the 2008.

I have suggested in the past that if you buy the $75-80 book, and it is still being published and sold, feel free to use it. Ou spent the money to enjoy the game so enjoy it. I too recall having read that FW and/or GW said to replace references to Imperial Guard with Astra Militarum, but I can not find that reference anyway today. Further, I see no reason that it shouldn't be like this anyway. So, presume we are correct then, items from IA 1.2 that claim to be "Warhammer 40,000 Units" can be taken alongside Astra Militarum units, regardless of the "new point cost' however you can not mix and match entirely. What I mean to say is, if you choose the Vanquisher from IA 1.2, then all of the units in IA that are also found in AM become the defualt. For example, you want to take a vanquisher for the coax upgrade and you want a punisher, they would both have to come from IA, you couldn't take the much cheaper AM punisher.

Now if you wanted to take the Baneblade from IA as a lord of war choice, go ahead, but again all of you leman russ tanks would have to come from IA as well.

I have begged FW to update their FAQ to bring it into line with 7th ed. They respond with "...we think it fits fine in 7th ed as is..." or "...make a house rule..."

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: