the_scotsman wrote:Karamazoff's By Any Means Necessary lets you target your own models with no-scatter blasts even if they're engaged in combat.
Karamazov's rule never allows you to declare one of your own unit as the *target* of his Orbital shooting attack. Basically, you proceed as normal during the shooting phase except when it comes to placing the blast template(s) :
1) Nominate Karamazov unit's to shoot
2) Choose an ennemy unit as the target for Karamazov's unit shooting attacks
3) Select a weapon (Karamazov's Orbital Bombardment)
4) Because it's a blast weapon you do not roll to hit. Instead you place the template over one model from the targeted enemy unit and scatter
-or- you can use "
By Any Means Necessary" and place the template over one of your own model and no scatter.
5) Roll to wound
6) Allocate wounds and remove casualties
7) Select another weapon in Karamazov's unit.
"By Any Means Necessary" only kicks in during step #4 in the shooting process.
So you still have to declare an enemy unit as the target, your own models can't jink, etc...
However... by
RAW nothing prevents big K to place his template so that they cover a different unit that the one that was declared the target of his shooting attack (ie you declare A as the target, but hit B by placing the template over one of your model close to B).