Switch Theme:

Can your own unit choose to Jink when you target them with Karamazoff?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Shadowy Grot Kommittee Memba






Karamazoff's By Any Means Necessary lets you target your own models with no-scatter blasts even if they're engaged in combat.

Because you don't target the enemy, they may not jink/don't benefit from invisibility, all that great stuff.

But if you're targeting yourself, can you then elect to Jink to get a cover save from Karamazoff's non ignores-cover attack?

"Got you, Yugi! Your Rubric Marines can't fall back because I have declared the tertiary kaptaris ka'tah stance two, after the secondary dacatarai ka'tah last turn!"

"So you think, Kaiba! I declared my Thousand Sons the cult of Duplicity, which means all my psykers have access to the Sorcerous Facade power! Furthermore I will spend 8 Cabal Points to invoke Cabbalistic Focus, causing the rubrics to appear behind your custodes! The Vengeance for the Wronged and Sorcerous Fullisade stratagems along with the Malefic Maelstrom infernal pact evoked earlier in the command phase allows me to double their firepower, letting me wound on 2s and 3s!"

"you think it is you who has gotten me, yugi, but it is I who have gotten you! I declare the ever-vigilant stratagem to attack your rubrics with my custodes' ranged weapons, which with the new codex are now DAMAGE 2!!"

"...which leads you straight into my trap, Kaiba, you see I now declare the stratagem Implacable Automata, reducing all damage from your attacks by 1 and triggering my All is Dust special rule!"  
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

Jink can be declared specifically I believe when a unit is selected as the target of a shooting attack, but not necessarily an enemy shooting attack, so on that basis yes you may.
   
Made in us
Angelic Adepta Sororitas




Los Angeles, CA

the_scotsman wrote:
Karamazoff's By Any Means Necessary lets you target your own models with no-scatter blasts even if they're engaged in combat.


Karamazov's rule never allows you to declare one of your own unit as the *target* of his Orbital shooting attack. Basically, you proceed as normal during the shooting phase except when it comes to placing the blast template(s) :
1) Nominate Karamazov unit's to shoot
2) Choose an ennemy unit as the target for Karamazov's unit shooting attacks
3) Select a weapon (Karamazov's Orbital Bombardment)
4) Because it's a blast weapon you do not roll to hit. Instead you place the template over one model from the targeted enemy unit and scatter -or- you can use "By Any Means Necessary" and place the template over one of your own model and no scatter.
5) Roll to wound
6) Allocate wounds and remove casualties
7) Select another weapon in Karamazov's unit.

"By Any Means Necessary" only kicks in during step #4 in the shooting process.
So you still have to declare an enemy unit as the target, your own models can't jink, etc...

However... by RAW nothing prevents big K to place his template so that they cover a different unit that the one that was declared the target of his shooting attack (ie you declare A as the target, but hit B by placing the template over one of your model close to B).
   
Made in us
Shadowy Grot Kommittee Memba






So....wait.

I can "declare a target" of the orbital bombardment, make my opponent declare a Jink, then I'm not even required to hit the target unit at all with the blast, and the ones I do hit with the blast aren't targets so they can't Jink?

That sounds....odd.

Isn't the far simpler explanation that BAMN allows you to target friendly units with blasts? Aren't you targeting a unit when you center the blast over them??


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Doesn't your interpretation theoretically grant Karamazov split fire even when he doesn't have it?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/03/05 19:48:07


"Got you, Yugi! Your Rubric Marines can't fall back because I have declared the tertiary kaptaris ka'tah stance two, after the secondary dacatarai ka'tah last turn!"

"So you think, Kaiba! I declared my Thousand Sons the cult of Duplicity, which means all my psykers have access to the Sorcerous Facade power! Furthermore I will spend 8 Cabal Points to invoke Cabbalistic Focus, causing the rubrics to appear behind your custodes! The Vengeance for the Wronged and Sorcerous Fullisade stratagems along with the Malefic Maelstrom infernal pact evoked earlier in the command phase allows me to double their firepower, letting me wound on 2s and 3s!"

"you think it is you who has gotten me, yugi, but it is I who have gotten you! I declare the ever-vigilant stratagem to attack your rubrics with my custodes' ranged weapons, which with the new codex are now DAMAGE 2!!"

"...which leads you straight into my trap, Kaiba, you see I now declare the stratagem Implacable Automata, reducing all damage from your attacks by 1 and triggering my All is Dust special rule!"  
   
Made in us
Angelic Adepta Sororitas




Los Angeles, CA

Odd effect for an odd rule. Nothing surprising. And yeah in the end you can use it as a weird form of split fire.

But that's how it is. You can just place the template in a different way than normal, nothing change about the targeting.
And it's a good thing, because it doesnt screw the whole thing up when big K join a unit that also shoot some weapons.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: