Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/15 13:20:14
Subject: Vectored Thrust Array - What is a turn?
|
 |
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine
|
Rule -
At the beginning of any of the controlling player’s Movement phases, a Y’vahra battlesuit may choose to move as though it was a Swooping Monstrous Creature for that phase.
As this move represents a long bounding leap rather than true flight, the Y’vahra battlesuit does not gain the Vector Strike special rule while moving in this fashion.
This special movement may not be used in two consecutive turns.
I've read on a few online forums and blog posts that this big jump can actually be done every controlling player turn because this rule is poorly written and just says consecutive turns which would mean the opposing player turn.
Anyone else heard this argument? Is this a RAW or RAI situation
I need a verdict here!
Thanks!
|
9000
8000
Knights / Assassins 800 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/15 13:38:17
Subject: Vectored Thrust Array - What is a turn?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yes, they meant to write game turn, as turn = player turn unless told otherwise
Everyone knows what is meant with the context however as you cannot move in the opponents turn.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/15 13:40:23
Subject: Vectored Thrust Array - What is a turn?
|
 |
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity
|
Naaris wrote:Rule -
At the beginning of any of the controlling player’s Movement phases, a Y’vahra battlesuit may choose to move as though it was a Swooping Monstrous Creature for that phase.
As this move represents a long bounding leap rather than true flight, the Y’vahra battlesuit does not gain the Vector Strike special rule while moving in this fashion.
This special movement may not be used in two consecutive turns.
I've read on a few online forums and blog posts that this big jump can actually be done every controlling player turn because this rule is poorly written and just says consecutive turns which would mean the opposing player turn.
Anyone else heard this argument? Is this a RAW or RAI situation
I need a verdict here!
Thanks!
The rule is very obviously referring to a game turn. Context is everything. Yes, it's worded poorly as GW doesn't always do a good job of differentiating between game turn and player turn. No, the intent isn't even remotely ambiguous. Yes, you could argue RaW until the end of time, but I think the reasonable consensus would be that the intention is that the 'leap' be activated every other game turn and that GW probably needs to release an Errata or FAQ to clarify this intention.
Trying to use the 'leap' once per game turn likely wouldn't fly in an organized setting and also wouldn't fly with most reasonable opponents. (Get it? Wouldn't fly?)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/15 13:43:43
Subject: Vectored Thrust Array - What is a turn?
|
 |
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine
|
Kriswall wrote:Naaris wrote:Rule -
At the beginning of any of the controlling player’s Movement phases, a Y’vahra battlesuit may choose to move as though it was a Swooping Monstrous Creature for that phase.
As this move represents a long bounding leap rather than true flight, the Y’vahra battlesuit does not gain the Vector Strike special rule while moving in this fashion.
This special movement may not be used in two consecutive turns.
I've read on a few online forums and blog posts that this big jump can actually be done every controlling player turn because this rule is poorly written and just says consecutive turns which would mean the opposing player turn.
Anyone else heard this argument? Is this a RAW or RAI situation
I need a verdict here!
Thanks!
The rule is very obviously referring to a game turn. Context is everything. Yes, it's worded poorly as GW doesn't always do a good job of differentiating between game turn and player turn. No, the intent isn't even remotely ambiguous. Yes, you could argue RaW until the end of time, but I think the reasonable consensus would be that the intention is that the 'leap' be activated every other game turn and that GW probably needs to release an Errata or FAQ to clarify this intention.
Trying to use the 'leap' once per game turn likely wouldn't fly in an organized setting and also wouldn't fly with most reasonable opponents. (Get it? Wouldn't fly?)
That's so corny my ears hurt.
I always thought it was every other game turn. I just saw this argument when researching the unit online.
|
9000
8000
Knights / Assassins 800 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/15 13:46:40
Subject: Vectored Thrust Array - What is a turn?
|
 |
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity
|
It's still early, but it's been one of those days.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/15 13:59:54
Subject: Vectored Thrust Array - What is a turn?
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
2 consecutive game turns or 2 consecutive player turns wouldn't matter either way.
You can only do it in your movement phase. A restriction again 2 consecutive turns would be 2 of your turns(since you can only do it in your turn).
The kind of people who want to be deliberately obtuse enough to argue that they can do it every one of thier turns since the oponents turn is the next consecutive turn are the kind of people you do not want to play against anyways.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/15 14:17:16
Subject: Vectored Thrust Array - What is a turn?
|
 |
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity
|
Kommissar Kel wrote:2 consecutive game turns or 2 consecutive player turns wouldn't matter either way.
You can only do it in your movement phase. A restriction again 2 consecutive turns would be 2 of your turns(since you can only do it in your turn).
The kind of people who want to be deliberately obtuse enough to argue that they can do it every one of thier turns since the oponents turn is the next consecutive turn are the kind of people you do not want to play against anyways.
While I tend to agree with your last statement, the problem here is just one of bad writing.
The rule (excerpt) - "This special movement may not be used in two consecutive turns. "
We know that "turn" refers to player turn and not game turn when not specified as a game turn. Each game turn is composed of two consecutive player turns... i.e. the first player's turn and then the second player's turn. So, if I use the 'leap' during the movement phase of my turn, I can't use it in the next, or consecutive, player turn... which belongs to my opponent. This is fine because I don't have a movement phase during his turn. From a strict rules as written perspective, a player is allowed to use this ability each of his movement phase because no two of HIS turns are consecutive. There is always the other player's turn in between.
Now, obviously this isn't working as intended. GW simply needs to errata the rule to read "This special movement may not be used in two consecutive game turns." Again, it's bad writing. Don't blame players for pointing that out.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/17 17:34:56
Subject: Vectored Thrust Array - What is a turn?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
The way I see it is, if it was to be allowed to be used every turn it wouldn't have the clause about every other turn in the first place. If you could use it every turn it would just say "moves as if swooping" period, the end. Instead, because it further goes on to elaborate that it has a special circumstance, it is implicit that RaI is that it can't be used in two of its own consecutive movement phases.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/17 17:47:09
Subject: Re:Vectored Thrust Array - What is a turn?
|
 |
Furious Fire Dragon
|
It's reasonable to interpret this as referring to consecutive PLAYER turns. If it were possible (to activate this during your opponent's turn), then enemy units shooting at the Y'vahra would be forced to Snap Fire.
"As this move represents a long bounding leap rather than true flight...."
Thus: 'Flying' during your movement phase (and not your psychic/shooting/assault phases) and NOT 'flying' during your opponent's turn.
Cheers!
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/03/17 17:49:14
|
|
 |
 |
|