Switch Theme:

Stormraven question can you drop 2 units and a dreadnought and shoot in one turn?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




Can my opponent fly in turn one (formation rules allowed him to use reserves straight away) then 2nd turn, go into hover mode drop a space marine captain on an objective, fly over to my tanks pivot and shoot and then again drop an assault terminator squad and a dreadnought (via an assault ramp) who then shoot then charge my tanks.

Seems far to cheesey to gain an objective then land assault terminators and a dreadnought on top of my armoured formation.

Many thanks

Dave
   
Made in us
Frightening Flamer of Tzeentch




How far did he move as you can only move 6' and deploy units

2000 6000 with Reaver Titan guard 2k
2500 (imperial force)
2500 (trimming down in 8th)
TS 30k at 5k points
Yes I have a problem
 
   
Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




Turn 2 he moved at least 12.

Does that mean he can drop an independent character (whom I'm assuming was originally attached to the terminator squad, as the stormraven can only have 1 unit and a dreadnought) AND then only move 6 before dropping everyone else?

   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yes that's permissible.
   
Made in pl
Regular Dakkanaut






I would say that the moment ha claimed that StormRaven go into hover he "activated" that model and must finish it's move. Then he can pick another unit - sm captain - who do it's move (disembark).

Secondly - how could he hover SR, disembark Captain, move SR, shoot SR and then disembark terminators in just one turn? That violets so many basic rules of this game that I don't know where to begin?!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/03/24 22:12:37


   
Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




My thoughts exactly
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

The Stormraven may have passengers disembark from it if it moved more than 6" subject to its Skies of Fury rule.
   
Made in pl
Regular Dakkanaut






 Mr. Shine wrote:
The Stormraven may have passengers disembark from it if it moved more than 6" subject to its Skies of Fury rule.

Pls read OP post. Everything StormRaven did in 2nd turn was wrong...

   
Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




But does it therefore mean the SR has to move 6 first (then use the Skies of Fury rule) to disembark troops BUT can it then move again and disembark troops all in the same turn
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





davespencer wrote:
But does it therefore mean the SR has to move 6 first (then use the Skies of Fury rule) to disembark troops BUT can it then move again and disembark troops all in the same turn

No. Vehicles can only get one move in the movement phase. You either move then disembark or disembark and then move.
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

 danyboy wrote:
 Mr. Shine wrote:
The Stormraven may have passengers disembark from it if it moved more than 6" subject to its Skies of Fury rule.

Pls read OP post. Everything StormRaven did in 2nd turn was wrong...


"Pls" read my post. I only pointed out the Stormraven's passengers have the ability to disembark if it moves more than 12".

That said though...

 danyboy wrote:
I would say that the moment ha claimed that StormRaven go into hover he "activated" that model and must finish it's move. Then he can pick another unit - sm captain - who do it's move (disembark).


The rules don't say anything about "activating" a unit and then having to finish its move. Only once you have started moving a unit must you end its move. Hover is declared before moving the Stormraven.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2016/03/24 22:33:52


 
   
Made in us
Blood-Drenched Death Company Marine




Little Rock, Arkansas

You can in theory move a raven on flying, and then on t2:
-drop to hover and move 6"
-disembark two separate combat squads and two independent characters that split off on their own, assuming no one was bulky or bigger, as well as disembark a dreadnought.
-shoot with everybody, including all the raven's weapons, as all flyers are treated as fast vehicles in hover mode.
-assault with all 5 separate units that came out.

Just requires throwing a Hail Mary storm raven loaded to the max and hoping it doesn't get shot down, and an enemy army that isn't so choppy that you're just feeding them 12 dudes and a dread on a platter.

20000+ points
Tournament reports:
1234567 
   
Made in pl
Regular Dakkanaut






Ok, here is what I see in OP post:
davespencer wrote:
then 2nd turn, go into hover mode drop a space marine captain on an objective, fly over to my tanks pivot and shoot and then again drop an assault terminator squad and a dreadnought (via an assault ramp) who then shoot then charge my tanks.

After reading above, here is what I see what Dave's opponent did:
Turn 2:
1. StormRaven: declare hover mode;
2. Captain: disemabark;
3. StormRaven: move (in later post added - quote: at lest 12");
4. StormRaven: pivot;
5. StormRaven: shoot at tanks;
6. Terminators & Dreadnought: disembark;
7. Dreadnought: shoot at tanks;
8. Dreadnought: charge at tanks;
In one turn in that order...

So my problems with this situation are:
a) Could he declare SR hover mode, disembark a unit and then move SR?
- I think that once you declared hoover mode, you have to finish your move with that unit before you move (disembark) another unit.
- However as Mr. Shine said - declaring hoover is not movement, so - ok.
b) How could he again disembark units after shooting SR?
- Disembarking is in movement phase, shooting is in shootning phase, after all units end their movement;
c) If SR moved more than 6" disembarked unit would not be permitted to charge.
- Because the Skies of Fury forbids it.
d) StormRaven in hoover mode is not allowed to move more that 12"
- Fast Skimmers.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
And some other thougths:
e) Did Terminators & Dreadnoght roll for scatter after disembarking usig Skies of Fury?
- Because they are forced to deploy as if they were Deep Striking;

So there - either I didn't understand OP post, or Deve's opponent play different game

This message was edited 8 times. Last update was at 2016/03/25 11:09:22


   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: