Switch Theme:

Question involving a cadre fireblade and the coordinated firepower rules.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






First off, if a an independent character joins a squad that's part of the hunter contingent, and has a rule that buffs said squad, what happens if said squad merges with multiple others via coordinated firepower?

I need to know because I want to run multiple cards fireblade, and I want to know if I could get volley fire to stack over several squads of fire warriors even if some of the fireblades aren't from a hunter detatchment

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/05/05 23:36:59


 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

Difficult to say right now.

Normally, they all fire as one unit, and rules that allow an IC to affect a unit would progress outward as a result, but only while Shooting.

Apparently, if the rule is detachment-based, the FAQ in rough draft seems to indicate the answer is no.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






 Charistoph wrote:
Difficult to say right now.

Normally, they all fire as one unit, and rules that allow an IC to affect a unit would progress outward as a result, but only while Shooting.

Apparently, if the rule is detachment-based, the FAQ in rough draft seems to indicate the answer is no.


The fireblade's buff isn't detatchment based, but the one that would spread it out across other fire warrior units is.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/05/05 23:46:19


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Er... Can someone still clarify this for me?
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





East Coast, USA

From a RaW standpoint, it works. You pretend that they're all one big unit. Any ability that buffs the unit should work, including the Fireblade's ability. HOWEVER, GW will most likely be putting out an FAQ for Codex: Tau Empire soon. Anything could change.

Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com


https://www.thingiverse.com/KrisWall/about


Completed Trades With: ultraatma 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




First off, repeated applications of a special rule do not generally repeat the effects of the special rule. If you managed to get a list that attached two Cadre Fireblades to a single Strike Team, they get Volley Fire, and one additional shot, not two.

Second, it is not clear based on the text of the rules whether or not all of the squads using Coordinated Firepower get to share special rules between them. However, the feeling of many players is that doing so would be too powerful. Given the widgets available to Tau Commander's, that's probably a good idea. Therefore, you should play that the strategic effect of CF is solely to improve the economy of markerlight hits.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






daveyjones239 wrote:
First off, repeated applications of a special rule do not generally repeat the effects of the special rule. If you managed to get a list that attached two Cadre Fireblades to a single Strike Team, they get Volley Fire, and one additional shot, not two.

Second, it is not clear based on the text of the rules whether or not all of the squads using Coordinated Firepower get to share special rules between them. However, the feeling of many players is that doing so would be too powerful. Given the widgets available to Tau Commander's, that's probably a good idea. Therefore, you should play that the strategic effect of CF is solely to improve the economy of markerlight hits.

Cadre fireblade's ability stacks.

Also, all I heard was "raw works, but general consensus says it'd be OP"
   
Made in us
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot






 Jaxler wrote:

Cadre fireblade's ability stacks.


Not quite.

Volley Fire:
If the Cadre Fire blade, and every model in his unit, remain stationay in the Movement phase, their pulse rifles and pulse carbine each fire an additional shot in the Shooting phase.


A Compendium of Special Rules
Some of the special rules you’ll encounter in this section have already been mentioned in earlier passages of this book, others you’ve yet to encounter at all. We’ve presented them all in a single section to make your life easier when trying to track down the effect of a particular special rule.
Special rules are so important that many of the other rules in this tome (particularly those for weapons and for troop types) are tied into the special rules given here. If you’re new to the game, you can cheerfully ignore this section until you’ve got the basic rules under your belt – you can always dip back in as and when you need to.
Unless specifically stated, a model cannot gain the benefit of a special rule more than once. However, the effects of multiple different special rules are cumulative.


Note the bolded line. Volley Fire does not state it stacks with itself, therefore it doesn't stack with itself. It does not mater if 10 Fireblades participate in a combined fire or are just attached to a squad of fire warriors, all affected models only get 1 extra shot.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Also as a reminder if any units that the fireblade linked to moved, then the whole group wouldn't benefit from his ability by the way people play it now.
   
Made in fi
Longtime Dakkanaut




icefire78 wrote:
Also as a reminder if any units that the fireblade linked to moved, then the whole group wouldn't benefit from his ability by the way people play it now.


I think this is a grey area. You could argue that as the super-unit is formed for the shooting phase the units that joined in the shooting may have moved; those units would not exist for the shooting step. I believe this to be RAW, but I might play it the way you described.

This differs from e.g. heavy weapons where we are told the model cannot shoot if it moved with the unit.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






So I looked into the wording and realized where an argument could be had. The cadre fireblade doesn't actually apply any text to his squad, instead it states "every unit in his squad with appropriate weapons gains an extra shot." This seems to imply to me that the fire warriors aren't gaining any special rules, and thus having two fire blades both making their squad shoot an extra time doesn't actually give something akin to, let's say, giving a squad fearless twice. The only people with any text are the Fireblades. So, volley fire isn't stacking technically, your just gaining an extra fireblade.

This seems worded oddly to me though.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/05/26 15:32:42


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Every model in his unit. It doesn't care what unit you belonged to, while part of "his " unit, if a model moved you cannot use the rule.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






nosferatu1001 wrote:
Every model in his unit. It doesn't care what unit you belonged to, while part of "his " unit, if a model moved you cannot use the rule.


I'm aware of this. My question is if two fireblades will make them shoot two extra times. The rules are very clear about the movement restrictions.
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

 Jaxler wrote:
So I looked into the wording and realized where an argument could be had. The cadre fireblade doesn't actually apply any text to his squad, instead it states "every unit in his squad with appropriate weapons gains an extra shot." This seems to imply to me that the fire warriors aren't gaining any special rules, and thus having two fire blades both making their squad shoot an extra time doesn't actually give something akin to, let's say, giving a squad fearless twice. The only people with any text are the Fireblades. So, volley fire isn't stacking technically, your just gaining an extra fireblade.

This seems worded oddly to me though.

Are the Fire Warriors benefiting from this Special Rule? Yes. So, they cannot benefit from multiple applications of this rule, unless it specifically states that.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: