Switch Theme:

Blasts targetting & hitting Flyers/Flying Creatures  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Longtime Dakkanaut





I've seen some people say that the new FAQ means you can hit Flyers with Skyfiring Blasts and Templates, but I don't think this is the case. I just want to be clear on what the FAQs are saying. Here's what I've found:

Q: Does a template weapon aimed at a unit at ground level but also touching a Swooping Flying Monstrous Creature hit it? Does a blast marker that drifts onto a Swooping Flying Monstrous Creature hit it?
A: No, in both cases. Template and Blast weapons and other attacks that don’t roll To Hit cannot hit Flying Monstrous Creatures that are Swooping.

Q: Do Blast weapons hit Swooping Flying Monstrous Creatures?
A: No.

Q: Can a Swooping Flying Monstrous Creature or Zooming Flyer be targeted by a Blast or Template weapon with the Skyfire special rule?
A: Yes.


So, the way I read this, you CAN target these enemies with such attacks, and resolve the attack by putting down the template and appropriate blasts and scattering, etc, but that since you cannot hit them, you are just doing this in hopes of hitting something else nearby. Is that correct?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/05/06 15:01:17


 Galef wrote:
If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No, it seems to rewrite hard to hit, to at least be consistent, but allow blasts to hit both FMC and Flyers.
   
Made in gb
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu






 Yarium wrote:
I've seen some people say that the new FAQ means you can hit Flyers with Skyfiring Blasts and Templates, but I don't think this is the case. I just want to be clear on what the FAQs are saying. Here's what I've found:

Q: Does a template weapon aimed at a unit at ground level but also touching a Swooping Flying Monstrous Creature hit it? Does a blast marker that drifts onto a Swooping Flying Monstrous Creature hit it?
A: No, in both cases. Template and Blast weapons and other attacks that don’t roll To Hit cannot hit Flying Monstrous Creatures that are Swooping.

Q: Do Blast weapons hit Swooping Flying Monstrous Creatures?
A: No.

Q: Can a Swooping Flying Monstrous Creature or Zooming Flyer be targeted by a Blast or Template weapon with the Skyfire special rule?
A: Yes.


So, the way I read this, you CAN target these enemies with such attacks, and resolve the attack by putting down the template and appropriate blasts and scattering, etc, but that since you cannot hit them, you are just doing this in hopes of hitting something else nearby. Is that correct?



That is the way that the FAQ seems to read to me. But the last one you quoted doesn't seem to make much sense when compared to the other two. Perhaps they will reword these for the final version to clarify matters.
   
Made in gb
Foolproof Falcon Pilot





Livingston, United Kingdom

Looks like the intent is that blasts won't hit fliers unless you specifically target them with a Skyfire blast, in which case they can.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 Charles Rampant wrote:
Looks like the intent is that blasts won't hit fliers unless you specifically target them with a Skyfire blast, in which case they can.


What this guy said
   
Made in us
Hooded Inquisitorial Interrogator





 Charles Rampant wrote:
Looks like the intent is that blasts won't hit fliers unless you specifically target them with a Skyfire blast, in which case they can.


My only question is if you target a flyer with a skyfire blast and it scatters to a ground unit are they hit? What if it scatters over another flyer, can it hit the other flyer then?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/05/06 16:52:23


There is no such thing as a plea of innocence in my court. A plea of innocence is guilty of wasting my time. Guilty. - Lord Inquisitor Fyodor Karamazov

In an Imperium of a million worlds, what is the death of one world in the cause of purity?~Inquisition credo

He who allows the alien to live, shares its crime of existence. ~Inquisitor Apollyon
 
   
Made in gb
Foolproof Falcon Pilot





Livingston, United Kingdom

The first question is quite tricky, but it would seem that Skyfire probably means 'no'; the second seems like a 'yes'. But that treats the situation as Skyfire allowing you to place the blasts on the 'sky' level, where Swooping FMCs and Fliers live, as distinct from the 'ground' level where everything else lives, and that would seem both reasonable and unsupported by the rules.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/05/06 17:14:07


 
   
Made in gb
Towering Hierophant Bio-Titan





Fareham

I'd assume the only blasts that can hit a FMC are from a weapon using skyfire.
Going by that anyway.

However, reversing the wording I see that if it scatters onto ground based units it won't hit them.

So blasts would essentially be fired at ground or sky level, depending on the initial target model.

   
Made in us
Hooded Inquisitorial Interrogator





 Charles Rampant wrote:
The first question is quite tricky, but it would seem that Skyfire probably means 'no'; the second seems like a 'yes'. But that treats the situation as Skyfire allowing you to place the blasts on the 'sky' level, where Swooping FMCs and Fliers live, as distinct from the 'ground' level where everything else lives, and that would seem both reasonable and unsupported by the rules.


Seems reasonable and its probably how I'll play. I appreciate your quick response

There is no such thing as a plea of innocence in my court. A plea of innocence is guilty of wasting my time. Guilty. - Lord Inquisitor Fyodor Karamazov

In an Imperium of a million worlds, what is the death of one world in the cause of purity?~Inquisition credo

He who allows the alien to live, shares its crime of existence. ~Inquisitor Apollyon
 
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut





So does that mean you could Phlegm Bombardment with a soulgrinder versus a flyer and then snapshoot the skyfire three shot autocannon?
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Phlegm doesn't have sky fire, does it?
   
Made in us
Nurgle Chosen Marine on a Palanquin






nosferatu1001 wrote:
Phlegm doesn't have sky fire, does it?


No, but the Blight drone has both a flame template, and a large blast, and is a flyer. It would be able to fire one or the other (same weapon, 2 profiles) at a flyer now. Which is pretty nice, considering its only other weapon is a BS2 auto cannon.

   
Made in us
Crazed Spirit of the Defiler





If the resultant ruling allows that then Doomscythes will be the bane of psychic flying daemon princes everywhere!
   
Made in au
Brainy Zoanthrope





Newcastle, Australia

Remember the Hard to Hit rule for flyers and FMC are different, By the rule FMC can be hit by blasts and templates so long as they have skyfire, whereas flyers explicitly say cannot be hit by blasts and templates (or is it cannot be hit by shots that dont roll to hit?) that may be what the FAQ is referring to?

6000 - Hive Fleet Limax
4000 - Sons of Horus
5500 - Ultramarine's
1000 - Blood Raven's
3000 - Skaven 
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut





nosferatu1001 wrote:
Phlegm doesn't have sky fire, does it?


You are right, it does not have in innately. However, if I'm not mistaken, if you fire with a weapon with the skyfire special rule it gives that rule to any other weapon you are also firing for the SoulGrinder. I believe it would also work with the flamer or the S10 eyebeam lasers.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 flukezor wrote:
Remember the Hard to Hit rule for flyers and FMC are different, By the rule FMC can be hit by blasts and templates so long as they have skyfire, whereas flyers explicitly say cannot be hit by blasts and templates (or is it cannot be hit by shots that dont roll to hit?) that may be what the FAQ is referring to?


Per the BRB, Flyers cannot be targeted nor hit by templates/blasts where as FMCs can b as long as the shot has the Skyfire special rule. The FAQ changes this so that both are immune unless the attack has the skyfire special rule (effectively changing Flyer Hard to Hit).

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





 Vache Glace wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
Phlegm doesn't have sky fire, does it?


You are right, it does not have in innately. However, if I'm not mistaken, if you fire with a weapon with the skyfire special rule it gives that rule to any other weapon you are also firing for the SoulGrinder. I believe it would also work with the flamer or the S10 eyebeam lasers.
The soul grinder doesn't have skyfire. The harvestor has two weapon profiles, one of which has the skyfire rule
   
Made in jp
Regular Dakkanaut





What happens when you clip a flyer with a skyfire blast but also land over a bunch of ground units?
   
Made in us
Lesser Daemon of Chaos




New England

So my Heldrakes can now flame flyers and FMC s ?
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yes and no. It depends on whether they keep the FAQ answer - as it really should be an errata.
   
Made in us
World-Weary Pathfinder




This is also something where the writer of the FAQ probably was reading DFtS. Since ONLY fighters have native Skyfire.

The Helldrake is an attack flyer...so it doesn't get Skyfire. Thus cannot flame flyers or FMCs. (At least if you are using DFtS which seems to be a strong intention. . .but that's a different can of worms)

The Stormfang Gunship is a fighter with a blast, units controlling a skyfire nexus could have blasts (Yay Earshaker AAA :-p), but they are uncommon for sure.
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

Lendys wrote:
This is also something where the writer of the FAQ probably was reading DFtS. Since ONLY fighters have native Skyfire.

The Helldrake is an attack flyer...so it doesn't get Skyfire. Thus cannot flame flyers or FMCs. (At least if you are using DFtS which seems to be a strong intention. . .but that's a different can of worms)

The Stormfang Gunship is a fighter with a blast, units controlling a skyfire nexus could have blasts (Yay Earshaker AAA :-p), but they are uncommon for sure.

Assuming you are using the DftS rules, of course.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
World-Weary Pathfinder




 Charistoph wrote:
Lendys wrote:
This is also something where the writer of the FAQ probably was reading DFtS. Since ONLY fighters have native Skyfire.

The Helldrake is an attack flyer...so it doesn't get Skyfire. Thus cannot flame flyers or FMCs. (At least if you are using DFtS which seems to be a strong intention. . .but that's a different can of worms)

The Stormfang Gunship is a fighter with a blast, units controlling a skyfire nexus could have blasts (Yay Earshaker AAA :-p), but they are uncommon for sure.

Assuming you are using the DftS rules, of course.


Exactly, but as I said, I suspect the FAQ writer had access to, or was reading DftS, assuming they ever really read the books and consider them that carefully.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: