Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/20 06:09:15
Subject: BloodThirster of Insense Rage Attacking at Initiative
|
 |
Pyromaniac Hellhound Pilot
|
Can he choose not to use the Great Axe of Khorne and strike at initiative 9?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/20 06:24:15
Subject: BloodThirster of Insense Rage Attacking at Initiative
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
No, the Colossal rule is in effect regardless of if he is wielding it or not due to how its worded
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/06/20 06:26:08
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/20 06:39:58
Subject: BloodThirster of Insense Rage Attacking at Initiative
|
 |
Pyromaniac Hellhound Pilot
|
What about for other greater daemons? Can they choose to fight with their hands?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/20 06:52:38
Subject: BloodThirster of Insense Rage Attacking at Initiative
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
No, you have to choose one of the weapons you have to fight with.
But even if you were to give the Blood Thirster a second CCW and had him fight with it, he would still be at i1 because of the way Colossal is worded.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/20 06:56:00
Subject: BloodThirster of Insense Rage Attacking at Initiative
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
CrownAxe wrote:No, you have to choose one of the weapons you have to fight with.
But even if you were to give the Blood Thirster a second CCW and had him fight with it, he would still be at i1 because of the way Colossal is worded.
At least according to the Draft FAQ.
For future reference, OP, if a Weapon's rule only requires it to be "equipped" in order for it to work, it's Weapon does not need to be used in order to have an effect.
We'll see if this sticks when they release the live FAQ later on.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/21 04:59:05
Subject: BloodThirster of Insense Rage Attacking at Initiative
|
 |
Repentia Mistress
|
To answer your question specifically CKO: Yes they can opt to not use the weapon. In your play area you'll find this is true in all the local stores and tournaments. (and the ITC in general) This has been a contentious issue on Dakka since its release and won't be resolved until the daemons FAQ. Until then ask your TO's or just trust me since I play in the same SWG area you do.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/06/21 04:59:35
hey what time is it?
"Try looking on page 12 of the FAQ."
-Ghaz |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/21 11:18:51
Subject: BloodThirster of Insense Rage Attacking at Initiative
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Fighting without a weapon with the mere type isn't permitted, that I can see. Your bare hands don't have that type.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/21 15:13:34
Subject: BloodThirster of Insense Rage Attacking at Initiative
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Fighting without a weapon with the mere type isn't permitted, that I can see. Your bare hands don't have that type.
Did you mean "melee type"? Smash and Stomp both disagree on this. Unless you mean "fighting" to be "using your Attacks in the Fight Sub-Phase".
The Close Combat Weapon rule also disagrees with the last sentence. However, in order to use "both hands", you cannot have another Melee Weapon available to the model.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/21 15:43:30
Subject: BloodThirster of Insense Rage Attacking at Initiative
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Find a rule to support this.
Because the rules state you only make close combat attacks with weapons.
|
"'players must agree how they are going to select their armies, and if any restrictions apply to the number and type of models they can use."
This is an actual rule in the actual rulebook. Quit whining about how you can imagine someone's army touching you in a bad place and play by the actual rules.
Freelance Ontologist
When people ask, "What's the point in understanding everything?" they've just disqualified themselves from using questions and should disappear in a puff of paradox. But they don't understand and just continue existing, which are also their only two strategies for life. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/21 16:17:47
Subject: BloodThirster of Insense Rage Attacking at Initiative
|
 |
Banelord Titan Princeps of Khorne
|
Aijec wrote:To answer your question specifically CKO:
Yes they can opt to not use the weapon. In your play area you'll find this is true in all the local stores and tournaments. (and the ITC in general)
This has been a contentious issue on Dakka since its release and won't be resolved until the daemons FAQ.
Until then ask your TO's or just trust me since I play in the same SWG area you do.
Where does the ITC FAQ state this?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/21 17:16:37
Subject: BloodThirster of Insense Rage Attacking at Initiative
|
 |
Krazed Killa Kan
|
Yup, FAQ does specifically cover this.
Here's a question I saw that interested me, though. Take a chaos lord with a power fist and a lightning claw.
He'll still get an extra attack for 2x specialist weapons, but according to the FAQ, it sounds like he can no longer use lightning claws at I4, due to the power fist.
But if he uses the power fist, does the lightning claw's shred apply?
I mean, if the power fist special rules apply when using the lightning claws, it only seems reasonable that the reverse would be true.
If so, where does this 'all melee weapons rules apply' rule stop?
Could I, for example, give a warboss a 'eadwoppa's killchoppa (6s to wound are ap2 and instant death), and a power klaw, and then the power klaw gets instant death on 6s?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/06/21 17:20:30
"Hope is the first step on the road to disappointment." Words to live by. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/21 17:25:41
Subject: BloodThirster of Insense Rage Attacking at Initiative
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Where does the power fist or lightning claw state that you get their benefit by merely being equipped with them?
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/21 17:29:16
Subject: BloodThirster of Insense Rage Attacking at Initiative
|
 |
Krazed Killa Kan
|
Well, it's the same as the colossal rule. The power fist is unwieldy, and according the FAQ, a weapon's special rules are not ignored if you're not using the weapon. So, if you have a LC/PF, you can't use the LC at initiative, because the power fist is slowing you down, just like the bloodthirster and the D axe.
The rest is just extrapolation, I suppose. I'm honestly asking how that works, based on the draft FAQ, because I'm not sure how it'll work now.
|
"Hope is the first step on the road to disappointment." Words to live by. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/21 17:30:20
Subject: BloodThirster of Insense Rage Attacking at Initiative
|
 |
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity
|
Kap'n Krump wrote:Yup, FAQ does specifically cover this.
Here's a question I saw that interested me, though. Take a chaos lord with a power fist and a lightning claw.
He'll still get an extra attack for 2x specialist weapons, but according to the FAQ, it sounds like he can no longer use lightning claws at I4, due to the power fist.
But if he uses the power fist, does the lightning claw's shred apply?
I mean, if the power fist special rules apply when using the lightning claws, it only seems reasonable that the reverse would be true.
If so, where does this 'all melee weapons rules apply' rule stop?
Could I, for example, give a warboss a 'eadwoppa's killchoppa (6s to wound are ap2 and instant death), and a power klaw, and then the power klaw gets instant death on 6s?
Does the Power Fist say "a model equipped with this weapon..." or "a model making attacks with this weapon..."? Huge difference. Colossal says 'equipped with'. Power Fist doesn't.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/21 17:38:14
Subject: BloodThirster of Insense Rage Attacking at Initiative
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Kap'n Krump wrote:Well, it's the same as the colossal rule. The power fist is unwieldy, and according the FAQ, a weapon's special rules are not ignored if you're not using the weapon. So, if you have a LC/ PF, you can't use the LC at initiative, because the power fist is slowing you down, just like the bloodthirster and the D axe.
The rest is just extrapolation, I suppose. I'm honestly asking how that works, based on the draft FAQ, because I'm not sure how it'll work now.
No. Its absolutely not the same. Please read the FAQ again:
Q: Do weapon special rules that say ‘a model equipped with this weapon’ or ‘this weapon’s bearer’ take effect even when not used as the attacking weapon?
A: Yes.
If it doesn't say you get the bonus by being 'equipped with' the item or 'bearing' it then you only get it when being used.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/21 17:45:11
Subject: BloodThirster of Insense Rage Attacking at Initiative
|
 |
Krazed Killa Kan
|
Thanks! Where exactly is that FAQ? I know I've seen it before, but I can't seem to again. I'll take your word for it, but I don't recall which page it was on.
And, yeah, the unwieldy rule says that a model attacks with an unwieldy weapon, it attacks at I1, and that is different than being equipped with.
So, thanks kris and ghaz. I thought all that sounded a little silly.
So, is a weapon having special rules that are conferred by 'being equipped' pretty rare? I don't know of any other than the D axe, and I think a imperial knight weapon.
|
"Hope is the first step on the road to disappointment." Words to live by. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/21 17:48:33
Subject: BloodThirster of Insense Rage Attacking at Initiative
|
 |
Tzeentch Veteran Marine with Psychic Potential
|
Yeah. It is worded differently than unwieldy on a power fist in precisely the way it needs to be to cause it to be in effect regardless of weapon being actively used.
The faq is not allowing all weapon abilities to be mixed and matched. It's simply saying wargear with effects activated by "having the weapon equipped" are always active as long as the weapon is equipped.
This is for things like the great axe of khorne and the blade of blood. Not for things like lightning claws and powerfists that have completely normal weapon rules and say nothing about being "equipped" with the weapon. They follow the mix and match restriction.
|
7500 pts Chaos Daemons |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/21 17:52:51
Subject: BloodThirster of Insense Rage Attacking at Initiative
|
 |
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity
|
Kap'n Krump wrote:Thanks! Where exactly is that FAQ? I know I've seen it before, but I can't seem to again. I'll take your word for it, but I don't recall which page it was on. And, yeah, the unwieldy rule says that a model attacks with an unwieldy weapon, it attacks at I1, and that is different than being equipped with. So, thanks kris and ghaz. I thought all that sounded a little silly. So, is a weapon having special rules that are conferred by 'being equipped' pretty rare? I don't know of any other than the D axe, and I think a imperial knight weapon. They are fairly rare. The Harlequins have a couple. As do the Skitarii.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/06/21 17:53:00
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/21 20:49:50
Subject: BloodThirster of Insense Rage Attacking at Initiative
|
 |
Pyromaniac Hellhound Pilot
|
Aijec wrote:To answer your question specifically CKO:
Yes they can opt to not use the weapon. In your play area you'll find this is true in all the local stores and tournaments. (and the ITC in general)
This has been a contentious issue on Dakka since its release and won't be resolved until the daemons FAQ.
Until then ask your TO's or just trust me since I play in the same SWG area you do.
Once more who are you? You know me but I don't know you, would you send me a private message with your real name? I want to put a face to your name. Also in our play area we always play by ITC rules and recently the new GW faq. This instance it is quite clear that the Daemon wielding that weapon can not strike at initiative some people may have played it wrong because they just glanced at that ruled but after being directed to the rule its quite clear.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|