Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/23 15:34:21
Subject: Necron destroyer Lords and Flayed ones
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Can a Necron destroyer lord who has the deep strike rule from its jet pack, join and deep strike in with a unit of flayed ones?
I ask because flayed ones also have the infiltrate rule, but I would think it wouldn't apply when they are deep striking.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/23 15:55:54
Subject: Necron destroyer Lords and Flayed ones
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
As long as every model has Deep Strike, they can Deep Strike.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/23 16:35:51
Subject: Necron destroyer Lords and Flayed ones
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
The problem is that ICs without Infiltrate are not allowed to join a unit of Infiltrators.
That probably means "when they are setting up using Infiltrate or Outflank", but what it says is "an IC cannot join a unit with Infiltrate".
|
"'players must agree how they are going to select their armies, and if any restrictions apply to the number and type of models they can use."
This is an actual rule in the actual rulebook. Quit whining about how you can imagine someone's army touching you in a bad place and play by the actual rules.
Freelance Ontologist
When people ask, "What's the point in understanding everything?" they've just disqualified themselves from using questions and should disappear in a puff of paradox. But they don't understand and just continue existing, which are also their only two strategies for life. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/23 16:39:57
Subject: Necron destroyer Lords and Flayed ones
|
 |
Krazed Killa Kan
|
DarknessEternal wrote:The problem is that ICs without Infiltrate are not allowed to join a unit of Infiltrators.
That probably means "when they are setting up using Infiltrate or Outflank", but what it says is "an IC cannot join a unit with Infiltrate".
I believe the counterargument is that the rule actually says "An Independent Character without the Infiltrate special rule cannot join a unit of Infiltrators during deployment." When you put stuff in deep strike reserve, you're not actually deploying it - therefore there's no reason you can't attach the IC to a group of flayed ones in deep strike reserve.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/06/23 16:40:19
"Hope is the first step on the road to disappointment." Words to live by. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/23 16:53:04
Subject: Necron destroyer Lords and Flayed ones
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
The FAQ Draft does answer the original question. "Infiltrator" is meant to mean a unit with the Infiltrate Special Rule, and so an IC without Infiltrate cannot join a unit with Infiltrate during deployment.
Kap'n Krump wrote: DarknessEternal wrote:The problem is that ICs without Infiltrate are not allowed to join a unit of Infiltrators.
That probably means "when they are setting up using Infiltrate or Outflank", but what it says is "an IC cannot join a unit with Infiltrate".
I believe the counterargument is that the rule actually says "An Independent Character without the Infiltrate special rule cannot join a unit of Infiltrators during deployment." When you put stuff in deep strike reserve, you're not actually deploying it - therefore there's no reason you can't attach the IC to a group of flayed ones in deep strike reserve.
"Deployment" is a phase of game setup, it is not a case of being put on the table, but when models are normally first put on the table. Being placed in Reserves is a part of deployment, and there are several rules which support this fact. The FAQ Draft also addresses this as well.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/23 19:27:17
Subject: Re:Necron destroyer Lords and Flayed ones
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Also, to be clear, units with the infiltrate rule can't setup with the rest of the army in normal deployment - - they have to actually infiltrate, correct?
So Flayed Ones could only deep strike OR infiltrate? They have no other option?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/23 19:40:49
Subject: Re:Necron destroyer Lords and Flayed ones
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
Sautek Supreme wrote:Also, to be clear, units with the infiltrate rule can't setup with the rest of the army in normal deployment - - they have to actually infiltrate, correct?
So Flayed Ones could only deep strike OR infiltrate? They have no other option?
According to how their rules are written, yes. However, the Draft FAQ states that this is an optional setup. So, they can deploy "normally" along with everyone else, wait and Infiltrate, or be put in Reserves.
But even then, the Destroyer Lord can no more join them during "normal" deploying than during Infiltrate or in Reserves.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/23 19:46:10
Subject: Necron destroyer Lords and Flayed ones
|
 |
Krazed Killa Kan
|
Huh, my mistake, that is addressed in the FAQ. A little surprising, honestly, but there it is.
|
"Hope is the first step on the road to disappointment." Words to live by. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/23 20:24:48
Subject: Re:Necron destroyer Lords and Flayed ones
|
 |
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity
|
Charistoph wrote: Sautek Supreme wrote:Also, to be clear, units with the infiltrate rule can't setup with the rest of the army in normal deployment - - they have to actually infiltrate, correct?
So Flayed Ones could only deep strike OR infiltrate? They have no other option?
According to how their rules are written, yes. However, the Draft FAQ states that this is an optional setup. So, they can deploy "normally" along with everyone else, wait and Infiltrate, or be put in Reserves.
But even then, the Destroyer Lord can no more join them during "normal" deploying than during Infiltrate or in Reserves.
Another example of the FAQs changing the rules without actually changing the rules. Should have been an Errata.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/23 20:38:46
Subject: Re:Necron destroyer Lords and Flayed ones
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Q: Are models with the Infiltrate special rule allowed to not use the rule to deploy and then charge normally in the first turn?
A: Yes
I'm almost (almost!) of the opinion that they meant to say that you don't have to use the second paragraph of the Infiltrate rules (the paragraph starting with "Infiltrators can be set up anywhere...") and if they deploy where the normal deployment rules would allow they can then charge normally in the first turn. Of course I have no way to support that, and instead we're left with another head scratcher in the FAQs.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
|