Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/07/21 09:06:22
Subject: Shroud of Kurnous
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
UK
|
If i take the Shroud of Kurnous formation from the death from the skies book with one hemlock wraithfighter and two crimsonhunters can i upgrade both the crimson hunters to exarchs?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/07/21 09:14:14
Subject: Shroud of Kurnous
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yes, the ALE doesnt change and the reference is to the ALE
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/07/21 09:29:46
Subject: Shroud of Kurnous
|
 |
Swift Swooping Hawk
|
I have my doubts the Codex states only 1 Crimson hunter per detachment can be upgraded to Exarch, and unless i'm mistaken the Formation Shroud of Kurnous counts as a single Detachment for such.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/07/21 09:30:49
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/07/21 10:07:27
Subject: Shroud of Kurnous
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
What's the formation requirement? Is it 2-3 Crimson Hunters or a wing of 2-3 Crimson Hunters?
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/07/21 13:23:25
Subject: Shroud of Kurnous
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
The Formation itself is a wing.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/07/21 13:56:02
Subject: Shroud of Kurnous
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Here's another fun question: Can you take the Shroud of Kurnous formation WITHOUT playing all that Death from the Skies "flyers are crap and overly complicated" nonsense?
i.e., can you use "just" the Formation datasheet, but otherwise use the "true" Flyer rules as they are in the BRB?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/07/21 14:20:36
Subject: Shroud of Kurnous
|
 |
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity
|
Galef wrote:Here's another fun question: Can you take the Shroud of Kurnous formation WITHOUT playing all that Death from the Skies "flyers are crap and overly complicated" nonsense?
i.e., can you use "just" the Formation datasheet, but otherwise use the "true" Flyer rules as they are in the BRB?
Generally speaking, most people I know go with an all or nothing. You either use the book or you don't. Cherry picking the parts you want would need to be run past your opponents. If they agree, awesome. I wouldn't expect random people to agree though. People generally aren't ok when you want to cherry pick the rules you like and then ignore the rest from a given rule book.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/07/21 15:29:54
Subject: Shroud of Kurnous
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Yes, I agree cherry-picking is not cool. I haven't read the DftS book yet, and am unlikely to ever get it. From what I've read, the DftS rules are way too clunky and really change how certain flyers work For example, the draft FAQ says blasts with skyfire can hit other Flyers. Yeah for the Hemlock. But then DftS changes it to an attack fighter and takes away it's natural Skyfire. WTF, GW? I'm actually not to upset by this, but the combination of that and the Dogfight phase it just too much. Shroud of Kurnous seems like a fun formation, but not worth it if the rest of the DftS rules have to be included. Side note, slightly back on topic. If you take a Crimson Death Formation in non-DftS games, nothing stops you from upgrading all the Hunters to be Exarchs. The restriction says one must be upgraded, not that "only" one must be. I's imagine the Shroud of Kurnous formation to be similar --
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2016/07/21 15:31:14
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/07/21 15:51:00
Subject: Shroud of Kurnous
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
Galef wrote:Side note, slightly back on topic. If you take a Crimson Death Formation in non-DftS games, nothing stops you from upgrading all the Hunters to be Exarchs. The restriction says one must be upgraded, not that "only" one must be. I's imagine the Shroud of Kurnous formation to be similar
The Crimson Hunter entry restricts the Exarch to one per Detachment - a Formation is a Detachment, and the Formation rules don't override the Army List Entry.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/07/21 18:34:31
Subject: Shroud of Kurnous
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Quanar wrote: Galef wrote:Side note, slightly back on topic. If you take a Crimson Death Formation in non-DftS games, nothing stops you from upgrading all the Hunters to be Exarchs. The restriction says one must be upgraded, not that "only" one must be. I's imagine the Shroud of Kurnous formation to be similar
The Crimson Hunter entry restricts the Exarch to one per Detachment - a Formation is a Detachment, and the Formation rules don't override the Army List Entry.
Really? I must have missed that. I'll have to check when I get home. If so that pretty much kills my plans to get 2 more Flyers
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/07/26 17:42:02
Subject: Re:Shroud of Kurnous
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
UK
|
So is the general consensus yes or no?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/07/26 17:50:24
Subject: Shroud of Kurnous
|
 |
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity
|
The firm answer is no. There is a one Exarch per detachment restriction and formations are detachments. Ergo, only one Exarch per formation.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|