Switch Theme:

Land Raider Helios  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Adolescent Youth with Potential




Merseyside UK

I have a Land Raider Helios (the one with 2 T/L Lascannons and a Whirlwind Missile Launcher) I'm not sure on how to resolve the following situation.

Vehicle has not moved in the movement phase.
I fire both Lascannons at a target.
I use Power of the Machine Spirit to fire the whirlwind launcher at a different target.

Because the Whirlwind Laucher is an Ordnance weapon, am i unable to fire it because of firing the lascannons first?
Can i fire it using Power of the Machine Spirit to override the restriction?

I cant quite figure out which rules have precedent. When firing you must fire all weapons of the same type at the same time. If i fire the whirlwind first then my lascannons must snap fire unless i use PotMS on one of them, thats quite clear, i guess the crux of the matter is can i fire the whirlwind launcher after the other weapons using PotMS or not?

Deathwing 3000 pts, Ravenwing 2800 pts, Greenwing 9000 pts.
Black Legion 1500 pts
CWE Ulthwé 3500 pts 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yes, because you have not fired other weapons as snapshots, as required.

You can fire one weapon at full BS, using PotMS, and using the normal vehicle allowance to fire the whirlwind.

As the Whirlwind is NOT required to fire as snapshots it cannot use the PotMS rule.
   
Made in gb
Adolescent Youth with Potential




Merseyside UK

I'm not convinced by your last sentence. PotMS is not ONLY usable to negate snap firing an additional weapon. It is used to fire an additional weapon at full BS at a different target so there is no requirement to have to snapshoot to use it.

Deathwing 3000 pts, Ravenwing 2800 pts, Greenwing 9000 pts.
Black Legion 1500 pts
CWE Ulthwé 3500 pts 
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





East Coast, USA

 Benedict wrote:
I'm not convinced by your last sentence. PotMS is not ONLY usable to negate snap firing an additional weapon. It is used to fire an additional weapon at full BS at a different target so there is no requirement to have to snapshoot to use it.


It is usable to fire one more weapon that normal at full BS. If you're able to fire the Whirlwind at full BS normally, than it wouldn't qualify for one more than normal.

ALTHOUGH... everyone I know just plays it as allowing you to pick a weapon you haven't already fired and fire it at another target at full BS. That's not actually what the rule says though, but I think it's the intent.

Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com


https://www.thingiverse.com/KrisWall/about


Completed Trades With: ultraatma 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 Benedict wrote:
I'm not convinced by your last sentence. PotMS is not ONLY usable to negate snap firing an additional weapon. It is used to fire an additional weapon at full BS at a different target so there is no requirement to have to snapshoot to use it.

Reread the actual rule. It only requires "this" weapon to fire at anothe rtarget. And "this" weapon is the one more weapon that fires at full BS.

If you already fire at Full BS, you cannot be the other weapon

Regardless, you cannot fire the whirlwind AT ALL if you do not fire all other weapons as snapshots.
   
Made in gb
Adolescent Youth with Potential




Merseyside UK

So by what you say i could fire the Whirlwind first, then PotMS one lascannon at full BS and a different target?

The end result is the same as what i want to do, i just HAVE to fire the Whirlwind first.

Deathwing 3000 pts, Ravenwing 2800 pts, Greenwing 9000 pts.
Black Legion 1500 pts
CWE Ulthwé 3500 pts 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No, you can fire the lascannon first - just as snapshots (without PotMS) IF you want to fire the whirlwind at all.

As you are firing at snapshots (due to ordnance) one of the lascannon can then fire at full BS.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: