Switch Theme:

Ebondrake Warhost  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Confessor Of Sins




WA, USA

So maybe someone can help me out on this ability. It is under Order Serpentis and is the activated ability from the Dreadlord of the formation. The rules read:

"Once per battle, in any of your hero phases, the warhost's Dreadlord can let loose his hatred in a chilling howl. When he does so, every unit in his warhost that is within 8" of him and within 12" of at least one enemy unit can immediately attempt to charge as if it were the charge phase."

Am I missing something or is this ability, as written, pretty useless?

 Ouze wrote:

Afterward, Curran killed a guy in the parking lot with a trident.
 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




if you charged and destroyed the unit you'd get to charge again in the subsequent phase. guess you'd have to plan your charges smart but it seems like it could be useful.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Allows you a maneuver in the hero phase of up to 12"...even if you are already in combat you could charge another unit, say archers, or get more of your guys in then the 3" pile-in could.

Remember you don't have to go model to model on the charge just gotta have one guy within .5" and anyone else can move where the hell they want.

Edit: Never mind says its a charge as if it was the charge phase and you cant charge if you are within 3" already, my bad.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/08/01 23:47:03


 
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins




WA, USA

raoiley wrote:
if you charged and destroyed the unit you'd get to charge again in the subsequent phase. guess you'd have to plan your charges smart but it seems like it could be useful.


But I don't get to fight. I just get to charge. You only fight in the combat phase.


 Ouze wrote:

Afterward, Curran killed a guy in the parking lot with a trident.
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





The only uses for it I could come up with were maybe you could finish off something with a chariot charge so they could charge something else (very doubtful).

Mainly though, the only time it has helped was allowing the dreadlord on the dragon to get as close as possible to a unit before it uses it's breath weapon. This way you don't have that extra 3" between you if you aren't engaged.
   
 
Forum Index » Warhammer: Age of Sigmar
Go to: