Switch Theme:

Tyranid Venomthrope, Spore Cloud rule interpretation.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Pulsating Possessed Chaos Marine





Vero Beach, Florida

For the Tyranid Venomthrope, there exists a rule called Spore Cloud in which any "model" from friendly codex Tyranids receives the shrouded special rule when within 6 inches of a Venomthrope.. Some people look up the shrouded special rule and insist that any unit within 6 inches gets the special rule because only one model needs it. However, I was always under the belief that codex rules are completely separate from the rule book, and they do not relate in any way and it clearly states that only models in range receive the rule. I'm pretty sure if the writers meant the entire unit then they would have just said unit, not model. But I digress, what do you guys take of it?

"Glory to the Iron father!"


 
   
Made in ca
Enigmatic Chaos Sorcerer





British Columbia

Each unit within 6" gets the rule due to the way the rule itself is written in the rulebook. As long as one model has it they all do.

 BlaxicanX wrote:
A young business man named Tom Kirby, who was a pupil of mine until he turned greedy, helped the capitalists hunt down and destroy the wargamers. He betrayed and murdered Games Workshop.


 
   
Made in us
Pulsating Possessed Chaos Marine





Vero Beach, Florida

The codex trumps the rulebook though. It specifically says any model, not any unit. Why bother stating it the way they did? Why not just say any unit? It just makes zero sense to me.

"Glory to the Iron father!"


 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





 Lord Tarkin wrote:
The codex trumps the rulebook though. It specifically says any model, not any unit. Why bother stating it the way they did? Why not just say any unit? It just makes zero sense to me.

"Codex trumps Rulebook" only matters if their is a direct conflict (like one rule hitting on a 2+ and another hitting on 6+, you can't do both so there is a conflict).

The rules interaction is clear. Shrouded affects the entire unit regardless of how many models have in in the unit.
   
Made in gb
Lethal Lhamean




Birmingham

Spore Cloud is a way to grant the USR Shrouded, there is nothing in the Spore Cloud special rule that prevents Shrouded from working the way it always does, so no conflict here at all.
   
Made in ca
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord






A lot of rules state models, which is why a lot of the special rules then go on to state that "Any unit with at least one model with this rule". As for why, this is because of independent characters; they often have rules different from normal models so when they join up they need some way of allowing his rules to be conferred to the unit when they want to and when they don't want to.

The Venomthrope is simply a byproduct of this; they already had shrouded go "any unit with a model" so might as well just go with "model".

Gwar! wrote:Huh, I had no idea Graham McNeillm Dav Torpe and Pete Haines posted on Dakka. Hi Graham McNeillm Dav Torpe and Pete Haines!!!!!!!!!!!!! Can I have an Autograph!


Kanluwen wrote:
Hell, I'm not that bothered by the Stormraven. Why? Because, as it stands right now, it's "limited use".When it's shoehorned in to the Codex: Space Marines, then yeah. I'll be irked.


When I'm editing alot, you know I have a gakload of homework to (not) do. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: