Switch Theme:

Two rules questions  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu




Southern California

Karanak can auto summon 5 flesh hounds if he gets within 8" of his target character:

Call of the Hunt: Once per game, if Karanak is within 8" of his quarry during your hero phase, you can set up a unit of Flesh Hounds anywhere within 8" of Karanak. This unit is added to your army but cannot move in the following movement phase.

Do these points need to be set aside like normal summoning?

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Next is a question about the Skull Cannon.

Grind their Bones, Seize their Skulls:
Enemies seized by a Skull Cannon’s jaws are used to power the infernal machine, their skulls taken and used as fiery munitions. If the Skull Cannon’s Gnashing Maw causes any wounds in the combat phase, at the end of that phase you can make a Burning Skull attack as though it were the shooting phase.

So does the Skull Cannon have to cause an UNsaved wound on model to get the bonus shooting attack? or simply cause a wound..regardless of whether the target makes or fails his save? This could be a question of.. at what point does a model cause a wound

Thanks for the help!

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2016/09/27 18:49:19


 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

 Sal4m4nd3r wrote:
Karanak can auto summon 5 flesh hounds if he gets within 8" of his target character:

Call of the Hunt: Once per game, if Karanak is within 8" of his quarry during your hero phase, you can set up a unit of Flesh Hounds anywhere within 8" of Karanak. This unit is added to your army but cannot move in the following movement phase.

Do these points need to be set aside like normal summoning?

In Matched Play, *any* spell or ability that adds models to your army costs reinforcement points.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu




Southern California

Thanks for the reply. I was assuming that's how it worked. *Free* models would be unfair.

Hoping someone can answer the more elusive questions about the skull cannon wording.

Thanks!
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





East Coast, USA

I'm guessing the intent is that the thing has to cause an UNSAVED wound. The fluff idea is that it ate a soul (or skull, or whatever) and powered the cannon. That wouldn't happen with a saved wound.


Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com


https://www.thingiverse.com/KrisWall/about


Completed Trades With: ultraatma 
   
Made in us
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu




Southern California

Then why wouldn't it say kill a model? How would the skull cannon be able to shoot a skull of a multi wound model it just attacked.. if the model is not dead. That's why I wouldn't base rules decisions off fluff reasons. Thanks for the reply though!
   
Made in ca
Been Around the Block




the inflicting damage rules I think answers the 2nd question.

"once the number of wounds suffered by a model during the battle equals its wound characteristic, the model is slain"

So the way I read it is wounds being saved will not be considered an actual wound inflicted.

The rule for the scull cannons states it has to "cause" a wound.

The save roll rule states "if the result is equal to or beats the save characteristic of the models in the target unit, the wound is saved and sequence ends" Which basically states the actual wound was not caused.

Hope this helps
   
Made in gb
Arch Magos w/ 4 Meg of RAM





Yep causing a wound and successfully rolling to wound are two different things as outlined in the rules. The sequence is as follows:

Roll to hit> Roll to wound> Roll saves> Determine Damage> Allocate wounds> Roll any ability saves against wounds inflicted> Allocate wounds to the model.

Only if a wound is allocated to a model does it receive the bonus, not if merely a to wound roll is successfully made.

Hope this helps. :-)

Bye bye Dakkadakka, happy hobbying! I really enjoyed my time on here. Opinions were always my own :-) 
   
Made in us
Member of a Lodge? I Can't Say




'Murica! (again)

Yup, plus many models have more than one wound. But it's still a cool ability for the skull cannon to do

co-host weekly wargaming podcast Combat Phase
on iTunes or www.combatphase.com
 
   
Made in nl
Regular Dakkanaut




I think you need to set them aside.. but it's still a very powerful ability if there is NO minimum distance you need to set them up from the enemy. Place them within 3" of any enemy (the quarry) and his options are very limited.
   
 
Forum Index » Warhammer: Age of Sigmar
Go to: