Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/02 20:58:42
Subject: 1st company task force discussion
|
 |
Inquisitorial Keeper of the Xenobanks
|
(this isn't a rule discussion thread, it is to know what players think of the little trick)
So, in a 1st company task force, a single squad of sternguard, arriving by drop pod and splitting, is enough tot trigger the -2LD effect. OK.
But how would you react to it ? Is it "well known and accepted" ? Or is it saw as a naughty trick, reserved only to tournament ? What do you think about it ? Do you speak to your friends about this before the game ?
(the rules: the 1st company task force is a formation of 3-5 units of sternguards, vv,and /or terminators, whith some special rules. The one discussed here is: "enemy units at 12" or less from at least 3 unit of the formation substract -2 to their LD" (rough translation from my French codex).
A unit of 10 veteran, splitting (combat squads) = 2 unit, and the drop pod = 1 more unit = 3.units That's legal and already discussed.
Thanks for your help !
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2016/10/02 21:05:17
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/02 21:05:31
Subject: Re:1st company task force discussion
|
 |
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle
|
I'd tell your opponent about it while you trade lists, if it's a friendly game. Just so it doesn't come as a sucker punch.
|
Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/02 21:58:10
Subject: Re:1st company task force discussion
|
 |
Ultramarine Librarian with Freaky Familiar
|
It feels like it's against the spirit of the rule if not the letter. But it's technically correct which is the best kind of correct.
|
Thought for the day: Hope is the first step on the road to disappointment.
30k Ultramarines: 2000 pts
Bolt Action Germans: ~1200 pts
AOS Stormcast: Just starting.
The Empire : ~60-70 models.
1500 pts
: My Salamanders painting blog 16 Infantry and 2 Vehicles done so far! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/02 22:08:16
Subject: Re:1st company task force discussion
|
 |
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle
|
TheCustomLime wrote:It feels like it's against the spirit of the rule if not the letter. But it's technically correct which is the best kind of correct.
The weird bit is the Drop Pod counting as a unit from that formation. But yeah, I see no issue with that ruling-it's wonky, and if your opponent objects to it I'd offer to just not have the Drop Pod count, but it's legit.
|
Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/03 11:50:31
Subject: 1st company task force discussion
|
 |
!!Goffik Rocker!!
|
For some reason this droppods are much scarier than other exact same droppods. Formations...
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2016/10/03 11:52:45
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/03 11:55:10
Subject: 1st company task force discussion
|
 |
Esteemed Veteran Space Marine
UK
|
Seems very cheesy to me, but as has been said, it's technically correct. I'd love this to be FAQ'd so that the rule only applies to Sternguard, Vanguard and Terminator units from the formation, and not any dedicated transports.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/03 14:16:47
Subject: 1st company task force discussion
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Cheesy? Ld mechanics are some of the weakest gimmicks. I say it is fine and perfectly fair.
Just add a Deathstorm to really simulate that though!
|
CaptainStabby wrote:If Tyberos falls and needs to catch himself it's because the ground needed killing.
jy2 wrote:BTW, I can't wait to run Double-D-thirsters! Man, just thinking about it gets me Khorney.
vipoid wrote:Indeed - what sort of bastard would want to use their codex?
MarsNZ wrote:ITT: SoB players upset that they're receiving the same condescending treatment that they've doled out in every CSM thread ever. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/03 20:51:34
Subject: 1st company task force discussion
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
It's a good trick, but it probably won't last long!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/03 23:01:57
Subject: 1st company task force discussion
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I dont see anything wrong with that. Its clearly written that way in the rules. Its not abusing any mechanics and its not terribly cheesy.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/04 06:14:18
Subject: Re:1st company task force discussion
|
 |
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot
The grim darkness of far Fenland
|
TheCustomLime wrote:It feels like it's against the spirit of the rule if not the letter. But it's technically correct which is the best kind of correct.
^^This.
So often there's discussions of RAW versus RAI. You can only guess RAI, but the 'spirit of the rule' shouldn't be overlooked, and is slightly different from RAI. In this case you can argue fluffy reasons for the drop pod having the same effect (because it's just disgourged a unit of scary vets) and I don't think I'd care either way if someone played it like this. But so often the spirit is ignored for rules lawyering. For example, the wording for relics (can't remember exactly) has something like "...any weapons taken..." as well as saying only one relic can be taken. I've seen people use the plural of weapon in the wording to overrule the 'only one relic' part. This is clearly against the 'spirit' of the rule.
Got a little OT there, but TheCustomLime's comment just raised something I've thought before.
In this case I'd accept what the OP is suggesting (might even try it myself) but it does feel a little like GW haven't thought of it and could do with an FAQ to clear it up (either way). I don't think it's necessarily GW being bad at writing rules, more that they're just not as sneaky and cynical as we all are
|
|
|
 |
 |
|