Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/25 00:07:19
Subject: Skarbrand Rules Question
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
My friend and I were discussing the way Skarbrand's rules are worded on his warscroll. Or I suppose it's more a discussion of how to read a damage table.
Are the ax profiles dependent on wounds suffered or on his Rage level? This is only an issue because there is some confusion about his ability "Skarbrand's Rage". It changes his rage level to incandescent if he has not been in combat previously. Initially I thought this meant that Slaughter was doing 8 attacks and Total Carnage was on a 1+, but then I got to thinking that Slaughter and Carnage are still based on his wounds suffered, not on his rage level.
Another way of looking at it: On his first combat of the game, when he is presumably Incandescent, does carnage do it's Total Carnage on a 1+?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/10/25 00:13:35
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/25 05:36:23
Subject: Skarbrand Rules Question
|
 |
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle
|
"...is always incandescent, regardless of the wounds he has remaining..."
Emphasis mine. So it's total carnage on a 1+ along with all the other goodies if he hasn't fought. The real question is if he starts the game incandescent since the wording is rather ambiguous. Thankfully the RAI is rather clear, afaik he is generally assumed to be incandescent turn 1.
|
Road to Renown! It's like classic Path to Glory, but repaired, remastered, expanded! https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/778170.page
I chose an avatar I feel best represents the quality of my post history.
I try to view Warhammer as more of a toolbox with examples than fully complete games. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/25 06:27:16
Subject: Re:Skarbrand Rules Question
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
OK, so his rage level ala Incandescent is what you check when looking at the axes?
I read that to mean "In his first combat, he can use 5/6 of the abilities listed in his "rage" special rule like re-rolling to-hits for his axes, but he is still only getting 4 attacks with Slaughter and a 6+ on his Total Carnage." No where does it indicate that you look at the rage level to determine the attacks on Slaughter.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/10/25 06:30:17
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/25 09:10:51
Subject: Skarbrand Rules Question
|
 |
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle
|
It's right there on the damage table. The way his rule works says that rage level overrides number of wounds suffered. It's all of it or none of it.
|
Road to Renown! It's like classic Path to Glory, but repaired, remastered, expanded! https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/778170.page
I chose an avatar I feel best represents the quality of my post history.
I try to view Warhammer as more of a toolbox with examples than fully complete games. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/25 16:26:08
Subject: Re:Skarbrand Rules Question
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
But that's just it, it doesn't say anywhere that it overrides the wound requirement for Slaughter or Total Carnage. The only one it mentions it for is his Rage level, which it says doesn't always depend on the wounds. No "this includes Slaughter and Total Carnage".
OK, let's assume that his rage level is what determines the ax profiles. It also says in his rules that his rage only changes during your (his owner's) hero phase. This would mean that if he was angry during a fight on his turn and during the fight he was dealt 8 wounds, he would still just be "angry" on my following turn, since he hasn't had a hero phase to change his rage level.
[Edit] OK, I think I convinced myself. It was the phrase "...as shown on his damage table above." that I wasn't noticing, but it definitely implies that the table is basically a Rage Table. Seems kinda lame that he can just run up and delete any single unit if he has a bloodsecrator or two with him before he's taken some wounds
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/10/25 17:36:54
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/25 19:45:55
Subject: Skarbrand Rules Question
|
 |
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle
|
The problem isn't what he does its how cheap he is to bring. And Skarbrand is far from the only model like that.
|
Road to Renown! It's like classic Path to Glory, but repaired, remastered, expanded! https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/778170.page
I chose an avatar I feel best represents the quality of my post history.
I try to view Warhammer as more of a toolbox with examples than fully complete games. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/26 03:52:09
Subject: Skarbrand Rules Question
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
NinthMusketeer wrote:"...is always incandescent, regardless of the wounds he has remaining..."
Emphasis mine. So it's total carnage on a 1+ along with all the other goodies if he hasn't fought. The real question is if he starts the game incandescent since the wording is rather ambiguous. Thankfully the RAI is rather clear, afaik he is generally assumed to be incandescent turn 1.
no i don't think so. if you read skarbrand's rage, it is written that "skarbrand starts the battle angry..."
the one that i wonder about is his ability. it's said that "skarbrand can use his rage to fuel one or more of the following abilities. each can only be used once per battle round..." so if i use his ability to either re-roll failed hits for slaughter/carnage, failed wounds for slaughter, or re roll inflicts total rage, i can only use once in that battle round? example in this battle round, in my combat phase i use either one of that ability, but the opponent still alive and this continues to my opponent's combat phase ( still in the same battle round) i can't use them anymore?
|
around 3000 pts
AoS 2000 pts
I:OS starter
malifaux kirai box |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/26 04:49:11
Subject: Skarbrand Rules Question
|
 |
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle
|
Huh, somehow I haven't noticed that until now. Derp.
At any rate, in the third paragraph about the abilities it says they last until your next hero phase.
|
Road to Renown! It's like classic Path to Glory, but repaired, remastered, expanded! https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/778170.page
I chose an avatar I feel best represents the quality of my post history.
I try to view Warhammer as more of a toolbox with examples than fully complete games. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/26 05:15:54
Subject: Skarbrand Rules Question
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
NinthMusketeer wrote:Huh, somehow I haven't noticed that until now. Derp.
At any rate, in the third paragraph about the abilities it says they last until your next hero phase.
so? it's a yes or a no?
|
around 3000 pts
AoS 2000 pts
I:OS starter
malifaux kirai box |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/26 06:25:36
Subject: Skarbrand Rules Question
|
 |
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle
|
It depends on how the initiative works out. He will get the benefit until it is your turn again, so if you get a double-turn that may be only one combat phase while if your opponent gets a double-turn after you go it could even be three combat phases. So:
You are going second in the round...
Your Hero Phase: Skarbrand says 'I get rerolls!'
Your Combat Phase: Skarbrand gets rerolls.
Initiative is rolled, you win.
Your Hero Phase: The reroll benefit ends (though Skarbrand could use it again).
Or:
You are going second in the round...
Your Hero Phase: Skarbrand says 'I get rerolls!'
Your Combat Phase: Skarbrand gets rerolls.
Initiative is rolled, your opponent wins.
Opponents Combat Phase: Skarbrand gets rerolls.
Your Hero Phase: The reroll benefit ends.
Or:
You are going first in the round...
Your Hero Phase: Skarbrand says 'I get rerolls!'
Your Combat Phase: Skarbrand gets rerolls.
Opponents Combat Phase: Skarbrand gets rerolls.
Initiative is rolled, your opponent wins.
Opponents Combat Phase: Skarbrand still gets rerolls.
Your Hero Phase: The reroll benefit ends.
|
Road to Renown! It's like classic Path to Glory, but repaired, remastered, expanded! https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/778170.page
I chose an avatar I feel best represents the quality of my post history.
I try to view Warhammer as more of a toolbox with examples than fully complete games. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/26 10:30:54
Subject: Skarbrand Rules Question
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
NinthMusketeer wrote:It depends on how the initiative works out. He will get the benefit until it is your turn again, so if you get a double-turn that may be only one combat phase while if your opponent gets a double-turn after you go it could even be three combat phases. So:
You are going second in the round...
Your Hero Phase: Skarbrand says 'I get rerolls!'
Your Combat Phase: Skarbrand gets rerolls.
Initiative is rolled, you win.
Your Hero Phase: The reroll benefit ends (though Skarbrand could use it again).
Or:
You are going second in the round...
Your Hero Phase: Skarbrand says 'I get rerolls!'
Your Combat Phase: Skarbrand gets rerolls.
Initiative is rolled, your opponent wins.
Opponents Combat Phase: Skarbrand gets rerolls.
Your Hero Phase: The reroll benefit ends.
Or:
You are going first in the round...
Your Hero Phase: Skarbrand says 'I get rerolls!'
Your Combat Phase: Skarbrand gets rerolls.
Opponents Combat Phase: Skarbrand gets rerolls.
Initiative is rolled, your opponent wins.
Opponents Combat Phase: Skarbrand still gets rerolls.
Your Hero Phase: The reroll benefit ends.
thanks that clears it
|
around 3000 pts
AoS 2000 pts
I:OS starter
malifaux kirai box |
|
 |
 |
|