Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/11/06 18:16:05
Subject: GSC Subterranean Uprising question
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
If I take Goliaths with the acolyte hybrids as a dedicated transport does the cult ambush apply to the goliaths if I stick the acolytes in them as well or will they have to start from my side?
|
4000
5200 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/11/06 19:54:39
Subject: GSC Subterranean Uprising question
|
 |
Auspicious Aspiring Champion of Chaos
|
Cult Ambush only affects units that are not embarked in vehicles, so no.
|
2000 Khorne Bloodbound (Skullfiend Tribe- Aqshy)
1000 Tzeentch Arcanites (Pyrofane Cult - Hysh) in progress
2000 Slaves to Darkness (Ravagers)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/11/07 07:52:47
Subject: GSC Subterranean Uprising question
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
cult ambush specifically states that models in a transport can't cult ambush
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/11/09 17:19:29
Subject: Re:GSC Subterranean Uprising question
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I know it states that but Subterranean states that models must deploy via cult ambush
|
4000
5200 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/11/09 17:37:21
Subject: Re:GSC Subterranean Uprising question
|
 |
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity
|
optrgrow wrote:I know it states that but Subterranean states that models must deploy via cult ambush
Well, if they can't deploy via cult ambush when in a vehicle AND must deploy via cult ambush... then it sounds like you can't deploy in your dedicated transports. Remember that deploying in a dedicated transport is optional. Sometimes you have a rule that prevents it. Deploying the transport on the board and the models via cult ambush separately is always an option.
Full disclosure... I haven't read the rules. Basing this off your comments.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/11/10 20:19:44
Subject: GSC Subterranean Uprising question
|
 |
Audacious Atalan Jackal
UK
|
Are you using Subterranean uprising? Yes it grant all unit in this formations infiltrate. And must infiltrate at start of the game.
Until there are restrict in vehicle then you can. Just like scout sentinels.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/11/11 03:13:06
Subject: GSC Subterranean Uprising question
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
This is the rule I am referencing;
Time to Rise Up: All the units in a Subterranean Uprising must Infiltrate during deployment, and set up using the Cult Ambush special rule.
For one of the units (acolyte hybrids) can take a dedicated transport - the goliath.
Basically RAW is stating that even though a vehicle can never benefit from cult, this formation forces it to benefit from cult? Does a codex override a codex?
|
4000
5200 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/11/11 04:36:25
Subject: GSC Subterranean Uprising question
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
Cult Ambush states, "Units cannot use the Cult Ambush special rule whilst they are embarked in a vehicle."
This means that units in a Subterranean Uprising cannot begin the game embarked in a vehicle.
Interestingly though the Goliaths would be required to, "Infiltrate during deployment, and set up using the Cult Ambush special rule." Even though they do not have the Cult Ambush special rule, similar to Drop Pods deploying via Deep Strike without having the Deep Strike special rule.
optrgrow wrote:Basically RAW is stating that even though a vehicle can never benefit from cult, this formation forces it to benefit from cult? Does a codex override a codex?
The rule is saying that units embarked upon a vehicle may not use the Cult Ambush special rule. The formation is saying all units must, and for all units to do so without breaking the Cult Ambush special rule none of them can be embarked in a vehicle.
Nothing prevents the Goliaths themselves using the rule if required to do so.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/11/11 04:38:57
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/11/11 08:03:11
Subject: GSC Subterranean Uprising question
|
 |
Audacious Atalan Jackal
UK
|
Formations do have infiltrate special rule but there are no Cult ambush special rule.
I would say that transport gain a infiltrate. But no Ambush
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/11/11 13:37:55
Subject: GSC Subterranean Uprising question
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Mr. Shine wrote:Cult Ambush states, "Units cannot use the Cult Ambush special rule whilst they are embarked in a vehicle."
This means that units in a Subterranean Uprising cannot begin the game embarked in a vehicle.
Interestingly though the Goliaths would be required to, "Infiltrate during deployment, and set up using the Cult Ambush special rule." Even though they do not have the Cult Ambush special rule, similar to Drop Pods deploying via Deep Strike without having the Deep Strike special rule.
optrgrow wrote:Basically RAW is stating that even though a vehicle can never benefit from cult, this formation forces it to benefit from cult? Does a codex override a codex?
The rule is saying that units embarked upon a vehicle may not use the Cult Ambush special rule. The formation is saying all units must, and for all units to do so without breaking the Cult Ambush special rule none of them can be embarked in a vehicle.
Nothing prevents the Goliaths themselves using the rule if required to do so.
So you're saying I can take the vehicle as a dedicated transport and as long as I don't put the guys in it and just keep them "as a unit" the models will benefit and the vehicle can be deployed via cult ambush?
My only sticking point is that for the formation it states that all units must deploy with cult ambush so the vehicle itself wouldn't benefit but the models inside would? Sorry this one came up in a game and we're trying to iron out the specifics.
|
4000
5200 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/11/11 14:16:23
Subject: GSC Subterranean Uprising question
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
optrgrow wrote: Mr. Shine wrote:Cult Ambush states, "Units cannot use the Cult Ambush special rule whilst they are embarked in a vehicle."
This means that units in a Subterranean Uprising cannot begin the game embarked in a vehicle.
Interestingly though the Goliaths would be required to, "Infiltrate during deployment, and set up using the Cult Ambush special rule." Even though they do not have the Cult Ambush special rule, similar to Drop Pods deploying via Deep Strike without having the Deep Strike special rule.
optrgrow wrote:Basically RAW is stating that even though a vehicle can never benefit from cult, this formation forces it to benefit from cult? Does a codex override a codex?
The rule is saying that units embarked upon a vehicle may not use the Cult Ambush special rule. The formation is saying all units must, and for all units to do so without breaking the Cult Ambush special rule none of them can be embarked in a vehicle.
Nothing prevents the Goliaths themselves using the rule if required to do so.
So you're saying I can take the vehicle as a dedicated transport and as long as I don't put the guys in it and just keep them "as a unit" the models will benefit and the vehicle can be deployed via cult ambush?
My only sticking point is that for the formation it states that all units must deploy with cult ambush so the vehicle itself wouldn't benefit but the models inside would? Sorry this one came up in a game and we're trying to iron out the specifics.
RAW they can't be deployed in the vehicle.
Personally I would even go so far as to say that units in the formation can't take transports, seeing how the transport don't have cult ambush and as such can't be deployed using cult ambush, but seeing how there is a conflict, it needs to be faq'ed
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/11/11 14:17:05
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/11/11 21:23:55
Subject: GSC Subterranean Uprising question
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
optrgrow wrote:So you're saying I can take the vehicle as a dedicated transport and as long as I don't put the guys in it and just keep them "as a unit" the models will benefit and the vehicle can be deployed via cult ambush?
My only sticking point is that for the formation it states that all units must deploy with cult ambush so the vehicle itself wouldn't benefit but the models inside would? Sorry this one came up in a game and we're trying to iron out the specifics.
Strict RAW, that is my reading of it. Cult Ambush doesn't allow models embarked in a vehicle to benefit, but doesn't say anything about the vehicle itself. Sure, the vehicle doesn't have the rule and ordinarily would not be able to use the rule, but the formation requires all units to deploy using Cult Ambush, in the same way that Drop Pods must be held in Deep Strike Reserve, yet do not have the Deep Strike special rule.
I don't think it's intended, however, and...
terry wrote:Personally I would even go so far as to say that units in the formation can't take transports, seeing how the transport don't have cult ambush and as such can't be deployed using cult ambush, but seeing how there is a conflict, it needs to be faq'ed
I would agree that this was probably what was intended, that the formation not include transports or vehicles. See my point above about Drop Pods and their requirement to be held in Deep Strike Reserve, but not having the Deep Strike special rule.
|
|
 |
 |
|