Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/10 05:44:34
Subject: escalation c'tan sill legal
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
It's sill legal in official rule
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/10 05:58:08
Subject: escalation c'tan sill legal
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
It's still legal in the same way the 4ed Imperial Guard codex is still legal. GW doesn't have any actual rules on what constitutes legal rules and players are more then free to play with any rules that they want.
But generally speaking players play with the most current rules for units and for the Transcendent C'tan that would be the unit entry in their 7ed codex, not the escalation book.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/10 06:05:05
Subject: Re:escalation c'tan sill legal
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
so escalation c'tan can use in nomal game?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/10 06:24:45
Subject: Re:escalation c'tan sill legal
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
You're the one who said it's still legal. Is this thread to ask if it's still legal, or for you to say it's still legal?
It's still legal if you can find an opponent who is happy to play against it.
Most people are happy playing against current-edition codices and rules which refer and relate to those current-edition codices.
"Games Workshop said it's legal!" Doesn't mean much if your opponent simply says, "But it's not current-edition rules and I don't want to play against it. Bye."
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/10 06:33:32
Subject: Re:escalation c'tan sill legal
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Q: What books/codexes/supplements are the most current?
A: The copyright date (which is usually beneath the contents) will let you know which book is the most recent.
faq in november 2016 so it have to use profile in codex? Automatically Appended Next Post: and faq necrons
Q:Is Transcendent C'Tan in codex necron intended to replace the one in warhammer 40k : Escalation?
A:Yes
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/01/10 06:44:22
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/10 06:45:35
Subject: escalation c'tan sill legal
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
The Escalation Transcendent C'Tan datasheet is not the same as the Codex: Necrons Transcendent C'Tan datasheet.
If you want to use the Escalation datasheet you have to follow the Escalation rules for doing so. That would be legal.
EDIT:
The Codex: Necrons draft FAQ is still a draft. If you and your opponent choose to use the draft FAQs then you would follow those, but they are not "official" as such, because they are still drafts.
If you follow the draft FAQ then you cannot use the Escalation Transcendent C'Tan datasheet.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/01/10 06:47:55
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/10 06:54:26
Subject: escalation c'tan sill legal
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
my friend told me that Games Workshop facebook has stated if a model has two different rules both rule sets are legal. is it true?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/10 06:55:57
Subject: escalation c'tan sill legal
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
sivil wrote:my friend told me that Games Workshop facebook has stated if a model has two different rules both rule sets are legal. is it true?
No that is not true
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/10 07:48:41
Subject: escalation c'tan sill legal
|
 |
Gore-Soaked Lunatic Witchhunter
|
Elaborating on this question:
The Transcendant C'tan profile was originally printed in 6e Apocalypse, and reprinted with rules permitting its use in normal games in the Escalation expansion. The 7e Necron Codex includes a profile for the Transcendant C'tan as a Lord of War, which overwrites and replaces the prior unit profile.
The only time a new profile for a unit doesn't overwrite and replace the existing profile is if the new unit has a different name (which means an argument can be made that the 'Brass Scorpion' in 4e Apocalypse is a distinct entity from the 'Greater Brass Scorpion' in subsequent Apocalypse releases (most current rules in IA13)), or if the unit is being printed for a different Codex (so if there were some change to Rhinos in the Blood Angels book that wouldn't carry over to the eight other books that use Rhinos).
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/10 08:07:39
Subject: escalation c'tan sill legal
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
There are a handful of counter examples, where two identical units are in two different sources, but both are "In print" and valid. Off the top of my head, I think there's a wolf priest thing, and belakor. And a bunch of chaos stuff is in two or more sources, but the rules are identical so it doesn't matter.
But where one book is out of print, and an identical unit with the same name in the same army is in a newer publication, you are always going to be expected to use those rules.
|
DFTT |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/10 09:12:01
Subject: escalation c'tan sill legal
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
AnomanderRake wrote:Elaborating on this question:
The Transcendant C'tan profile was originally printed in 6e Apocalypse, and reprinted with rules permitting its use in normal games in the Escalation expansion. The 7e Necron Codex includes a profile for the Transcendant C'tan as a Lord of War, which overwrites and replaces the prior unit profile.
The only time a new profile for a unit doesn't overwrite and replace the existing profile is if the new unit has a different name (which means an argument can be made that the 'Brass Scorpion' in 4e Apocalypse is a distinct entity from the 'Greater Brass Scorpion' in subsequent Apocalypse releases (most current rules in IA13)), or if the unit is being printed for a different Codex (so if there were some change to Rhinos in the Blood Angels book that wouldn't carry over to the eight other books that use Rhinos).
To be fair, the Transcendent C'Tan in Codex: Necrons is a Heavy Support choice and is substantially cheaper, whereas in Escalation it is a Lord of War choice and is substantially more expensive (and substantially more powerful) with also expensive and powerful options.
If the FAQ had not addressed it, I think it would be a valid question to ask considering the vast differences between the datasheets and their Battlefield Roles.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/10 21:01:15
Subject: escalation c'tan sill legal
|
 |
Sneaky Sniper Drone
Clemson SC
|
To but this to rest:
http://www.belloflostsouls.net/2016/08/breaking-new-40k-necron-faq.html
Q: Is the Transcendent C'Tan in Codex: Necrons intended to replace the one in Warhammer 40,000: Escalation?
A: Yes.
|
3000 pts
>1000 pts
:tyranid: <1500 pts
How do I own these?:
~2000 pts
~1000 pts
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/10 22:49:01
Subject: escalation c'tan sill legal
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
Unless you are not playing using the draft FAQ because it is a draft.
Also worth pointing out the OP mentioned this about 7 replies ago.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/01/11 15:40:58
Subject: escalation c'tan sill legal
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
in the end, It depend on your opponent or tornament that allow or not.
|
|
 |
 |
|